We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of The Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We chose this hotel for 2 nights away with friends after reading the recent reviews on Tripadvisor and they were exactly right. The location is great. We had rooms 1 and 2 which are lovely with fantastic views. The food at the hotel is high quality, both breakfast and dinner. The comments about the friendly staff are spot on - all the staff are smashing, very helpful, sociable, professional. They make the stay a pleasure. Music also very good and we'd recommend a visit to the Moon and Sixpence also. We'd recommend this hotel and will stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 &2 have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toms14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    90
    9
    9
    5
See reviews for
29
363
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night and was very pleased to find a large and well appointed room that was clean and comfortable. Excellent bed and nice and quiet. Breakfast was spot on. Great dining experience. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 66coronation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We booked the Marine for our friends and ourselves as part of my husband's 50th birthday trip. I made the booking despite my reservations about previous reviews which mentioned the 'no bathroom door' gripes!

The Marine is a lovely place to stay. The staff were helpful, friendly and courteous. The room itself was comfortable (very warm!) and clean. The views from the room across the harbour were stunning (we actually had views towards the harbour itself, and across to the abbey). The rooms don't have coffee making facilities, however, if you fancy a cup, you just call downstairs and a member of staff will bring one up.

The breakfasts were pretty amazing. 3 out of 4 of us had the full English breakfast and it was just lovely - really good quality and well cooked. Our vegetarian was spoilt for choice and was quite delighted with her eggs florentine. We were all well stuffed and didn't have to eat again until the evening!

We were in room 4 and our friends were in room 3. Both rooms were beautifully decorated, although we were slightly coveting our friends' room as it acually had a bathroom door. Personally, I didn't think the open plan nature of the room was either quirky or clever, as the layout of the room meant you were in full view of anyone else in the room when you were actually sitting on the pan!... Having said that (and having stayed in several hotels and B&Bs in Whitby) the Marine is the one that I'd choose to go back to the next time.

This was good value for money, and a great base whilst staying in Whitby.

Room Tip: Go for room 3 if you like privacy when you go to the loo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edinburgh_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Me and my husband had a lovely sunday lunch here. We both had fish and chips, there were two portoin sizes average and large so we had one of each! We were seated in the restaurant by a window overlooking the harbour,what a treat! Fish and chips,mushy peas and home made tarar sauce,yummy. Would definately go there again. Oh and top marks for very clean loos!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayyay_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed here for one night on the 6th April and can honestly say we have not stayed in a room with such a fantastic view .This was room one ,and for all those who were concerned about the lack of toilet door you need worry no longer as it now has one. a real bubbly place with great young friendly staff who made you feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The room ,food and service were all first class many thanks we will return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hibaldstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My husband booked two rooms at the Marine and two at the Moon and Sixpence for us and our family to celebrate my 60th birthday. We had previously had lunch at both places and loved the atmosphere in both. We stayed in room 2 at the Marine which is on two levels and absolutely lovely. Even has a small balcony with views of the abbey. Our grown up kids stayed at the Moon and Sixpence and loved their rooms. The breakfast at the Marine was amazing. So much to choose from and all served by the young energetic staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they do a fantastic job. We loved the buzz in the bar during the evening, with the live entertainment (pianist) and I especially liked that both places have Prosecco on tap! We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malb20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We booked for one night as newbies to Whitby and had a lovely time. We booked room 2 which was everything it said on the website and on trip advisor. Super facilities and tea, coffee etc all delivered immediately when we called the bar. We had a lovely lunch with champagne and cocktails and then made the mistake of accepting a recommendation of other diners to have dinner at Greens, which they described as the best seafood restaurant in Whitby. Based on what we now know, we should have stayed at the Marine. Great nights sleep and a super breakfast. We will be delighted to resturn.

Room Tip: Room 2 is set over 2 floors and had a lovely balcony on the ground floor. No bath, but a great walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chloe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
3.0 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
0.2 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
0.2 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
4.1 km away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.0 km away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#9 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: 13 Marine Parade, Whitby YO21 3PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Whitby
The Marine Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing