We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (535)
Filter reviews
535 results
Traveller rating
400
105
14
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
400
105
14
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood linguine kedgeree mezzanine floor no tea coffee facilities sister hotel sun room harbour front working harbour fishing boats eggs benedict balcony overlooking the harbour small hotel hot drinks beautiful room booked a table full english bathroom door
Filter
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 535 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2015

This hotel is lovely, great location, beautiful rooms and free parking which in this day and age is a treat even though it was a little distance away. The staff were all welcoming and very friendly. Breakfast was refreshingly different as there was things like, delicious halloumi patties with poached eggs, kedgeree and many others along with the 'Great British'. The main problem we faced was the lack of light, the subtle lighting was good for relaxing but not good in the bathroom for shaving or at the dressing table for putting on makeup. The views along the harbour front and across to the famous Abbey more than made up for the moments of frustration.

Room Tip: Room 4 has good views on two sides but be prepared to climb lots of steps to go to bed
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2015 via mobile

We loved our stay here. Bit more than we'd normally spend on accommodation but we decided to splash out and it was well worth it. Staff were very friendly and helpful, food was amazing - good choice at breakfast and we have an awesome seafood platter in the restaurant on our second night. The room was fantastic.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LouFoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2015 via mobile

Lovely corner spot with great harbour views....stay in their rooms or just call in to eat...which we did several times....enjoyed a breakfast and thoroughly recommend the farmers salad....superb evening meal, nicest piece of battered fish I'd ever had.....jazz on Wednesdays brilliant idea....

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2015

From the moment we arrived the staff were attentive and polite, we stayed in room 4 which had fantastic views overlooking the harbour and onto abbey. Evening dinner was fantastic. If you wanted a tea/coffee in your room you just ring down and they bring them straight up. Nothing was too much trouble. We found breakfast had everything we desired, plenty of variety for fussy eaters as there's something for everyone. The cooked breakfast was great too. Just want to say a big thanks to the staff and we hope to return. Would definitely recommen!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bexy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2015

This was the second time we stayed here and it was well worth the trip.
Especially the food. I had Lobster Thermidor which was of a good size and very tasty. With salad and fries for £25 I had no complaints. Gill had a large bowl of Pappardelle with 'spring vegetables! which was average. The veggie options were a disappointment. Drinks were fine and the staff were excellent. Polite, attentive and smiling. The position overlooking the harbour would be hard to beat in any seaside town. Room 4 is spacious and has the most stunning views of the harbour. You can see the Abbey from the bath! Breakfast is in my top 5. My only complaint....too much of it. However a fantastic choice from Steak and Eggs to Whitby Kippers. Free parking close by. If you fancy a quality weekend in Whitby, this is the place. Thank you to all the staff who never stopped smiling and made our stay so enjoyable. Your boss should be very proud of you...and him/herself.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank adpbuildSkipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews