We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one not to miss”
Review of Raithwaite Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raithwaite Estate
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Walking along the coast road in Sandsend when an oasis of a sign saying 'non residents welcome' led us to this stunningly brave venture called Raithwaite Hall Hotel. It could sit in the country,seaside or Eton Square in London. We were only dressed for the beach but were made sooooo welcome.Will be rushing back!! Great food excellently served with a good mix of overseas/local staff.Once on the terrace at the rear you would not think that you were near the seaside (400yards away) Top class and yet so welcoming.Do not miss the chance to visit.

Room Tip: sadly did not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tommykite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjman499, General Manager at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

tommykite,
Glad you found us! We appreciate
you stopping by and hope you get chance to
visit us for longer next time.

Warm Regards
Richard Mansell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,950 - 1,956 of 2,120 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at the Raithwaite Hall as the last stop on a tour that took us from North Wales to Whitby and this was the most expensive of all hotels. It was obviously new and modern. Our room was clean and nicely appointed and had a balcony overlooking the immaculate gardens that contained a stream and beautiful flower beds. As a touch of grandeur there was a Rolls Royce available the take you into Whitby for a 25 pound fee. Another positive was the easy drive into Whitby and it's various attractions. However, the experience was greatly diminished by the poor service. At all other hotels at which we had stayed we had been served a freshly cooked breakfast each day and not the buffet style breakfast served at the Raithwaite - albeit with a freshly cooked egg. Also, the dinner experience here was shamed by our other experiences. In other hotels the experience was to have a pre-dinner drink in the lounge where a menu and wine list would be brought, we would then order in the lounge while our table would be set up with the wine and water and we would be invited through when everything was ready, we would be served an ammuse-bouche and then our meal. Not at the Raithwaite! On our first night the waiter in the lounge ignored us until I went up to order, I also had to request the menu and wine list and no one came to take our order, so like many other patrons we had to walk with out menus to our table and the order. Also no ammuse-bouche. The meal was OK but there was a very long wait, over a half hour between our main course plates being removed and the dessert being delivered, and this was the most expensive meal we had encountered. There was a similar wait for the bill to be delivered after requesting it, in fact we had to demand it be brought in the end. We went again for a second time on our last night. This time we didn't try to get a pre-dinner drink but went directly to be seated and had to wait at least 5 minutes before being acknowledged and seated. This time part of one of my wife's dishes was so undercooked as to be inedible. A complaint to the waitress did result in the offer of a free desert. After the meal we tried the lounge again to have a post dinner drink - again we were ignored until I approached the bartender. As a consquence what had the promise of a pleasant stay in a very nice location was ruined by service that could not rise the the hotel's promise.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjman499, General Manager at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

david42,
Thank you for your recent review and feedback,
Since our recent opening we have received very positive
and supportive feedback regarding the unique and
individual amenities of the hotel and surrounding environment within the resort.
However I am disappointed to read that we were unable to meet your expectations and that you did not enjoy the distinctive outlets within the resort.
We truly appreciate your comments and will strive to continuously to make improvements.


Regards
Richard Mansell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Been around the world but never felt the need to write on this site before. Just reurned from an amazing surprise two nights away with my husband. The weather was perfect but so was the service and setting.The staff were exceptional and nothing was too much trouble in this amazing retreat. We love this part of Yorkshire and are desperately thinking of how we can bring our grown up children and grandchild here. Julie and Michael Cooper

Room Tip: room was very light and airy but possibly should have spent a little more to have a view out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjman499, General Manager at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Juliec,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with the Tripadvisor family
The team were thrilled to read you had the perfect stay.
It has certainly been an amazing week in this special part
of Yorkshire and we are so pleased had chance to experience it.

We have a number of family style rooms, that are prefect for the grandchildren.
We look forward to seeing you again

Warm Regards
Richard Mansell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

My husband and I have just returned from an unforgettable two night stay at Raithwaite Hall. I booked the hotel back in February as a surprise for my husband's 30th birthday, and whilst I only requested that the hotel didn't post any hotel stamped correspondance to our home address, his birthday was duly noted. Upon arrival at reception a very friendly and polite member of staff wished my husband a happy birthday. I thought this was a lovely touch, but it wasn't all! - the hotel had also kindly iced a bottle of prosecco with two champagnes glasses in our room, with a note to wish him a happy birthday. It's the small details like this that set a hotel apart from the rest and I'd like to say thank you for that!

We stayed in an Executive Double room which was lovely, we had a balcony and great views of the garden, which is absolutely gorgeous! The room itself, although slightly smaller than I'd expected, was spotlessly clean and lovely. I forgot to ask before I left where the pillows were from because I had two of the best night's sleep ever, the bed is so comfortable!

The staff and service are second to none. Every member of staff we met was friendly, polite and attentive to our every need. Nothing was a bother to them at all, they're always smiling and seem to have a good atmosphere between them.

Breakfast was amazing! The attention to detail here was brilliant - the little jars of cereal and yoghurt were great, and the poached eggs were the best I've ever had. There was so much to choose from, and I love that there are many locally sourced products. It's great to see a hotel of this high standard staying true to it's Yorkshire roots!

This hotel is definitely worth each and every one of it's 5 stars - we couldn't fault a thing. We will be recommending a stay here to anyone we know who visits Whitby - it was fantastic. Thank you for making a special birthday extra special!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjman499, General Manager at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

emmab,
Your review was an marvellous honour to receive and certainly
was well received by the team. We are striving to create
just a unique, distinctive experience and to read we created such
memories for your birthday is truly amazing.
Thank you for appreciating all the little touches that keeps us
loyal to our roots........


Come back and visit us again at the retreat
Warm Regards

Richard Mansell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This was a superb hotel in every way. My wife booked this hotel through a Groupon offer but spoke to the hotel first and they booked us in over the phone. Apart from the weather being glorious this was a first class stay in a hotel that prides itself on friendly staff, fantastic grounds and gardens and lovely accomodation. We were celebrating my birthday and when we came back from our afternoon tea on the terrace and use of the pool and spa facilities, we found to our surprise a bottle of wine, 2 glasses and a ice bucket waiting for us in the room, a superb touch i thought.We stayed in room 207 which was large, comfortable and just a pleasure to stay in. Breakfast was help yourself buffet style and was very filling and tasty. I would recommend this hotel 100% to anyone looking to stay in the area and thank everyone at Raithwaite Hall for making our stay a very very satisfying experience. Keep up the good work. We wll be back.

Room Tip: 207 spacious clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Just returned from a one night break which we found on the groupon website.We got a fantastic deal which included afternoon tea and bed and breakfast in a deluxe room. The afternoon tea was delicious and what made it even better was eating it outside overlooking the beautiful gardens of the hotel in the beautiful sunshine.Even though we had booked this deal we were treated like any other guest by the very pleasant staff. The room was fantastic very large with a lovely bathroom. Also which we were not expecting when we returned from using the spa facilities(which by the way were also fantastic) we were left a bottle of sparkling wine for my husbands birthday. I can not say enough how nice this hotel is,the setting is just stunning.We did not eat on the night in the hotel as we went into nearby Whitby but breakfast was extremely good with a great selection.Can not wait to stay here again.

Room Tip: the rooms at the back of the hotel have better views and the rooms facing the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank treacle5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

Had a wonderful meal in the restaurant, the service could only be beaten by the amazing food. Excellent. Oh and the gardens well ........

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lostlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjman499, General Manager at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

lostlady1,
I was so pleased to read you enjoyed your meal.
As I have said before on TA, we are striving to develop
our own unique style whilst remaining firmly rooted in the traditions
and seasonal produce of the local area. So its truly
inspiring to recieve such great feedback.

And the gardens...what more can I say....except wow!

Stop by and see us again soon
Regards
Richard Mansell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.2 km away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
870 reviews
2.9 km away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
646 reviews
3.1 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 20 in Whitby
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
460 reviews
2.9 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,178 reviews
2.1 km away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#18 of 20 in Whitby
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raithwaite Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raithwaite Estate

Address: Sandsend Road, Whitby YO21 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#1 Family Hotel in Whitby
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: $151 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raithwaite Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 80-acre Raithwaite Estate with its landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, 2 restaurants and 2 bars. With luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and an en suite bathroom, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estate's restaurants, located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby's famous fresh produce from both land and sea.The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrival. The local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Raithwaite Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raithwaite Hall Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing