We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
166
64
21
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
166
64
21
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sanders yard four poster bed and jacuzzi bath private courtyard wooden staircase church st little touches beautiful room romantic getaway fairy lights balcony overlooking ground coffee bottle opener smallest room wine glasses three rooms two nights little gem
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 269 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2015

Wonderful stay at this little gem of place hidden away on the back streets of old Whitby. We stayed in room 3, with the brass bed, which was beautiful, clean, romantic and had some lovely touches like fresh coffee and dried infusions. Although quite small, it was cosy and had everything we needed so that didn't matter in the slightest. The staff were equally amazing, allowing us to check in early and offered to change their plans so we could go off and enjoy our last day taking the train to Goathland. Can't wait to come back to Whitby and would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 24, 2015 via mobile

6 of us stayed for a 50th birthday we stayed in rooms 2 3 and 5 rooms were excellent four poster beds in all three, room 7 came with a whirlpool bath. Ample tea flavoured teas and fresh and instant coffee with your own little teapot. All had own veranda to sit out on liking over the lovely courtyard rooms were very clean and cosy

Date of stay: May 2015
Thank 660deedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2015 via mobile

Stayed in room 3 for one night. Wish we could have stayed longer. The room was beautiful, clean and romantic with a vintage feel.
The room was quite small and the bed was very high but comfortable which added to the quirkiness. I loved it.
Our room was ready early and the staff were really friendly and helpful.
The Shepherd Purse is in the perfect location, and we will definitely visit again.
The only negative is that I booked through late-rooms thinking I was getting a deal but booking directly would have been better.

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank mosip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2015 via mobile

I booked this last minute and there wasn't many hotels available, I'm pretty happy things turned out this way as it was a stroke of luck. It's tucked away in a secret courtyard just off Church street, perfect location, close to the abbey. Rooms were clean and attractive, total value for your hard earned coin. Kim was incredibly helpful during my stay and always happy to give useful advice about where to visit. Will be back to beautiful Whitby in the autumn, you can be sure it will be at the Shepherds purse too.

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 11, 2015 via mobile

Was whisked away to this beautiful little hotel for a birthday present! It's situated just behind the main row of shops and bars and is really peaceful and lovely! Would recommended this hotel 1000 times over to anybody it's just lovely!! Would definitely return, as I keep hinting!

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hmaria97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews