We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
164
62
21
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
164
62
21
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedchurch streetlittle touchesprivate courtyardbalcony overlookingground coffeebeautiful roombottle openercobbled streetssmallest roomwine glassesthree roomslittle gemtwo nightsperfect locationbirthday weekendthe ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 265 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2016

Stayed here for the April 2016 Goth Weekend. We had two rooms booked numbers 3 & 5.
Turned up and check in was painless, no problems even though we were early.
Walked into the rooms and was so pleased as to how clean they were.

Lots of little touches to make the room even tidier.

Bang in the centre of the old town so we were right in the middle of all the action but as down a side alley we were not disturbed by any noise (other than the blooming seagulls - they start at 4.30am)

Loved this place and will most certainly be back.

Only small issue is the bathroom in room 3 is a little compact and the shower wouldn't stay the same temperature

Room Tip: Try to book room 5 with the Jacuzzi
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Madrid_Hatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2016 via mobile

We have just got home from a lovely 2 day stay at the Shepherds Purse, we got married on Saturday and wanted to get away for a few days before our proper honeymoon later in the year and we are so glad that we decided to stay here.

We stayed in room 5 with a lovely four poster bed, jacuzzi bath and private balcony.

Upon arriving we were greeted by a young lady who was pleasant and offered to take our bags to the room, we were told that she would be leaving shortly but to call her if we needed anything. The next day I spoke to a young man that worked there who was nice and polite.

Our room was cleaned and restocked with tea and coffee on the second day.

When we went to check out the young man in the office asked if we needed any help with our bags and congratulated us on our wedding.

Some of the reviews mention that the Shepherds Purse is dated, however we feel that if it was modern and bang up to date it would not suit the building at all. If thats what you are after go to a premier inn, if you want something quirky, clean and rustic this is the place for you!

If you do stay in room 5 with the jacuzzi bath, please do not put bubble bath in it! We found this out on the first day and didnt try it again the second haha.

Thank you for a lovely stay and we will be back soon.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2016

Stayed here before in room 5 and it's a lovely pieceful place that's set back from all the hustle and bustle of the market square..hope to visit again soon..the girls who own it are lovely...so accommodating...

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank julie02111972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, not the best weather for Whitby we have ever had, but still pleasant. This place is very tastefully decorated and the bed in room 2 we were in was the best bed we have ever slept in, we miss it now compared to our own. The room was alway warm and comfy even if it is small and neat. We will be going back but in another room next time. Staff are friendly and helpful, nothing is too much. Just wish we could have sat outside but alas was too cold. Not suitable for disabled or elderly or anyone not steady on feet, as it's set back off the main road next to square, but alley is pitch black at night and it's easy to stumble, apart from this it's quiet and secluded.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Malcolmtoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2016

The shepherds purse was advertised as having lots of on street parking available, INCORRECT. we arrived after a long journey on a very hot day to find that the guest house was up a narrow cobbled street where you could not drive, there was no parking. we telephoned the owners to be told to park in the car park in the town however it was packed solid, was told it may be better to get a space in the evening, SO we drove around in circles for 3 hours (no exaggeration) desperate just to book in and have a cuppa, finally 1 space became available in town carpark. The owner did kindly come to our aid and help carry the cases to the B&B it was very tiny, noisy but did have tea and coffee making facilities and was very clean

Room Tip: we stayed at the front of building and would not recommend as main door kept slamming every time someone left or entered
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank helen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews