We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good basic guest house” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Captains Lodge Guest House

The Captains Lodge Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Captains Lodge Guest House
Ranked #118 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good basic guest house”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Came to Whitby for a few days with family, not bad although did feel that £70 per night for familly room for 1 adult and 2 kids both under 5 was a bit steep, as on the brochure it did say under 5's were free, but non the less still a comfortable stay with very friendly hosts.

Room was of a good size, and generally clean, with plenty of room for kids to play. Only things that really bothered us a bit was that shower attachment was a bit leaky but did the job with a lot of wiggling about and the smell of breakfast lingering in room when we arrived but found that keeping bathroom window slightly open sorted that out. Breakfast was very very nice, and Whitby kippers on menu were lovely.

It has been a long time since I have stayed in a B&B as we tend to use hotels, but would stay in a B&B again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsL1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    16
    19
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
29
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hetton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed at this guest house for three nights sharing the family room. The room was cleaned daily to a excellent standard. The breakfast was very good and plenty of choice which was served hot. Carol and Tony were really friendly and made our stay really enjoyable and chilled out, nothing was any trouble. The Guest House was at the west cliffe in easy reach for all of the attractions of Whitby.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank walter000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

I had the pleasure of staying here for 2 nights recently and thoroughly enjoyed it. A warm welcome from Carole and Tony and a comfortable room with everything you would expect. Very reasonable rates, a good choice of breakfast menu and situated in a very convenient location for the sea front at West Cliff. It's on my list of places to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welshcandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

Whitby is hands down the best English beach town you'll find so needless to say on a bank holiday weekend it was bursting at the seams and we had to take whatever the tourist info office could find us when we arrived in town with only a vague idea of wanting to linger longer.

The Captain's Lodge is in the Georgian 'new town' on top of the west side of town which involves a steep walk from the quayside. It's a quiet residential neighbourhood, not far from the shops, a pub or the seafront.

Our hostess was polite and helpful. Our room was bright and welcoming, if simply furnished and decorated, up in eaves on the top floor. There is a church across the street, but I don't recall hearing any bells. There is a primary school around the corner so there was noise and traffic in the morning, but not too early.

The bed was fairly firm. Reception on the telly was a bit iffy. We had plenty of biscuits, tea, coffee etc to choose from when wanting a cuppa in the room. There was no shower, just a tub which narrowed in the middle so it was not entirely comfortable lying in it for a soak. The loo got a bit whiffy, maybe there was a leak under the floorboards, but we kept the windows open anyway (not too wide though, apparently gulls like popping in for a visit if you let them).

There was a full breakfast menu, everything made to order from just beans on toast, eggs most any way you liked plus locally smoked kippers. We tried something different each morning.

The place was immaculately clean and was a peaceful retreat to stumble back to of an evening after a night out on the town.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Redbeard_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.3 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.1 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#122 of 152 in Whitby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.1 km away
Grantley House
Grantley House
#125 of 152 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Endeavour
The Endeavour
#87 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.1 km away
Wentworth Guest House
Wentworth Guest House
#113 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.1 km away
Beaches Guest House
Beaches Guest House
#93 of 152 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captains Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captains Lodge Guest House

Property: The Captains Lodge Guest House
Address: 3 Crescent Avenue, Whitby YO21 3EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Captains Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing