We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place, great position we loved it.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Whitby Retreats

The stunning harbour view...at dusk
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The stunning harbour view...at dusk
The property is a stunning, grade 2 listed building
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
85 reviews
The stunning harbour view...at dusk
The property is a stunning, grade 2 listed building
Fine dining...
The master bedroom - with ensuite and harbour view
Original features include feature fireplaces in both bedrooms
Open the door, enjoy the view...
17a peeks out from the yard of the Captain Cook Museum (middle of picture)
The tiny study
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 85 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joanie564
Nottingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place, great position we loved it.”
Reviewed May 11, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stayed in April 2016 for a long weekend, really enjoyed our stay, beautiful place we could have stayed longer and my husband wanted to live here.

My only suggestion was that secondary double glazing in the second bedroom would be helpful as there is a bit of street noise but nothing that spoilt our stay . Would definatly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H
2 reviews
“Ms”
Reviewed May 4, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I love this place! The location is really convenient, the apartment is clean and comfortable. This was our second visit and we plan to return!
Although parking is a few minutes away its easy to drop your things outside the door and then leave your car in town. Nearby you have the White Horse and Griffin and lots of breakfast places if you are feeling lazy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karinhast...
Florida Panhandle, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
“Fabulous Home!”
Reviewed March 17, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

17a Grape Lane - A perfect home away from home! Beautiful and very comfortably furnished! Easy to get to. Convenient to all of Whitby. Excellent rental staffing. Heat and water excellent! Furnishings are nice (and normal!) and comfortable but not so perfect that you don't want to use them! We feel very much at home here. I LOVE the little computer alcove! Best of 3 holiday rentals we've experienced in Whitby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The roominess. The Shower! The comfort!
Liked least: 3 keyed entryways.... The lane door, the gate, the front door... (very minor inconvenience overall)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare C
1 review
“A beautiful apartment in a fantastic location.”
Reviewed February 20, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We have stayed in a wide variety of cottages and apartments in Whitby but this one is definitely the best. The apartment is furnished and decorated to an excellent standard. The location is very central for the heart of the old town.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walker399...
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
Reviewed November 9, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stay at 17a, Grape Lane at least once a year (often twice).

The location is superb, the views wonderful and the standard of the accommodation excellent (and constantly maintained - a new en-suite bathroom this time :-)).

Perfect for a couple or family.

Thank you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: No drawbacks
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol w
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Whitby”
Reviewed October 2, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our previous stay at Grape Lane was 3 years ago so we knew what to expect and was not
disappointed this time. Still very high standard so clean with nice fresh white sheets and fluffy white towels perfect location. Will be booking again next year for a special celebration.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“relaxing, amazing property to stay in Whitby,very relaxing stay”
Reviewed July 15, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 3 night,17 A Grape Lane is beautiful.Home from home.Views amazing.Close to fantastic walks, pubs,places to eat.The propery is beautiful. Relaxing,we will definitely be staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location,views,everything you need is here for a perfect stay.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing