We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wicked B&B and Kev is a champion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bats and Broomsticks
Ranked #37 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wicked B&B and Kev is a champion”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Just had two nights away here and it was brilliant. The veggie breakfast was superb complete with veggie sausages. Not many B&B's provide veggie sausages! Of course I could go on about how fun the decor is but I really wanted to mention that Kev offered to pick us up from the bus station. We were so grateful as we'd been walking round in the rain for 2 days and then had a 2 hour bus journey from York in wet clothes. Also, on our last day, we were leaving on the steam train at 2pm and wanted to wander round the town for a few more hours. Kev offered to drive our luggage into town and meet us at 1.30pm. Again, we were extremely grateful that we didn't have to drag our bags round with us or drag ourselves up that big hill again. And it gave us more time to enjoy Whitby. He even offered to drive us to Goathland. I really felt that Kev did go above and beyond what was expected of him. I had a great stay and will definitely be back.
Only one minor niggle. There didn't seem to be a DVD remote in our room so we were limited with what we could watch. Nothing that involved selecting a language as there only seemed to be 'play' on the DVD player itself.

Room Tip: None - I'm sure all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatP1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    23
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
172
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We only stayed for one night and wished it had been longer. This is the only B & B where you'll want to spend time in your room.
The room was a gothic dream, comfortable, clean and interesting to the last detail.
Breakfast was fantastic for both me as the veggie and my carnivore partner. The breakfast music and every detail was perfect. Thanks for a wonderful break.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachoolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

A trip to Whitby was a last minute decision and finding this B&B was by accident via the Whitby Tourist Website.
The place itself is located just as you drive into Whitby itself. (10minute walk down the hill into the bay) Cant miss it as Dracula is standing outside! The place is themed to within an inch of it's (undead) life in gothic/dracula stying. Coffins on landings, bats hanging from beds, stakes in cupboards.

The place is quirky and fun and the landlord is very friendly and helpful in a goth style!
The rooms are clean and well presented. Ours was the "Greenman" with a great view of the Abbey from the bedroom window. Each room has it's own bathroom, though you have to get to this via a corridor across the landing...bit scary in the wee small hours!

Breakfast is served in the cellar (where else!) and was very good, lots of choice, cooked, cereal, veggie etc. We only ate toast and fruit, but the cooked beakfasts of other guests looked nice.

Each room has a VCR and DVD and there are an abundance of spooky films to watch, should you choose.

It was our first time in a B&B, much rather a place with quirky character like this, than a chintzy place!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leighmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presron, England
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Now, I am starting by saying I really found this place hard to score out of 5. It is so different from anywhere else I have ever booked, that there was nothing to compare it to.

Now, the key word here IS quirky. as always, I will post the good and the bad

1)Quirky. I can't use this word enough, but in a world of bland box-hotels, stoping somewhere that is different and fun is a treat. and it IS different. touched by the goth stick would be an understatement. full of vampire and goth touches everywhere. lots of little details that all add up to make it memorable

2)The breakfast. neither my partner nor I like a big breakfast, but people who HAD big breakfasts all had mountains. also, the buffet of cerials and the like is a better choice than most big chain places - two different oat-crunch type cerials was a prime example. and cocoa pops. how many hotels have cocoa pops in their buffett?

3)Kev. The owner - Kev. possibly one of the nicest people I have ever met in a hotel.

4)The Beds - possibly the comfyest sleep ever

Now, the two very minor bad points (and, they ARE very minor)

1)Heat! - the rooms were quite hot at night. also, the layout could possibly improve the light, as on the left side of the bed it was hard to read in bed at night

2)The Bathrooms - although great bathrooms, the one for our room wasn't one you could have a stand-up shower in without soaking the floor

in all, two VERY minor negative poins in a great little bit of quirkyness. I should also add that, on leaving we realised while driving home that Kev knocked a tenner off our bill. I can only guess that's because we only had a small breakfast. now, how many chain hotels would do THAT?

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loztastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Stayed Monday to Thursday (three nights) and was completely satisfied with the experience at this B&B. Only met Kev (owner) during our stay and he was very helpful along with quick service in the candle lit breakfast room. Everything about this B&B is based around the Goth/Dracula experience and it is set up quite well. Rooms are clean and set out in the theme that the B&B signifies. The breakfast is first class and we can recommend this B&B to anyone (followers or not of the Dracula/Goth experiences). We personally are church members (who are not supposed to believe in Dracula etc.) but still enjoyed the stay. The only thing I wasn't too keen on was the walk in the mornings to the private bathroom which was located on the same floor but not adjacent to the room we stayed in (each room has its own bathroom).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerickE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This was a spur of the moment birthday treat for a Whitby loving closet Goth and was a huge hit! The decor is fun, the four poster beds and gothic furniture built by Kev the owner are marvelous although waking up being surveyed by the bats hanging from the bed rail was a little disconcerting.
An absolute must for Goths, vampire lovers and anyone with a sense of fun. The gothic theme aside (and it's difficult to leave aside as it is everywhere down to the skulls on the toast!!) this is a spotlessly clean and comfortable B&B with friendly, hospitable and obliging owners, superb breakfasts and very reasonably priced. I can't recommend it highly enough. Thanks for a wonderful couple of daysI

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hardlyableson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

: What an amazing B&B!!! Just regretably thinking about packing my bags to go home from this well loved hotel. The breakfast is cooked beautifully with generous portions that is served in a quirky candlelit dining room. The host Kev is really helpful from beginning to end, showing you around the hotel & amazingly decorated rooms. There are complimentary dvd's & videos to view if you wish and Kev even gave us advice on what side of the hill to walk up after a hearty meal out in Whitby. Loved Whitby for years but after finding this little gem, there's nowhere else I'd stay here. Many thanks from Faye & Peter :}

Room Tip: book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSprout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.9 km away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
416 reviews
0.9 km away
Sanders Yard
Sanders Yard
#39 of 151 in Whitby
203 reviews
0.9 km away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#6 of 151 in Whitby
344 reviews
1.0 km away
Riftswood B&B
Riftswood B&B
#12 of 151 in Whitby
295 reviews
1.0 km away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 151 in Whitby
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bats and Broomsticks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bats and Broomsticks

Property: Bats and Broomsticks
Address: 11 Prospect Hill, Whitby YO21 1QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bats and Broomsticks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bats And Broomsticks Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing