We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”
Review of Cross Butts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cross Butts Hotel
Ranked #66 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Hadn't planned to eat here, having been recommended a visit elsewhere but due to that place being closed (unexpectedly) this turned out to be a real find. Had an extensive choice of food, much of which was sourced locally. Offered something a bit different from the norm as well as traditional favourites. Can recommend the ox tail and roast wood pigeon, which we had for starters, followed by tender rack-of-lamb and fish which came with a delicious creamy risotto. Great venue, not in central Whitby but only a short taxi ride away or walkable if you're feeling energetic!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2011

We needed a quick break, decided Whitby and had Cross Butts recommended. Stayed one evening and it did not faulter. Unlike may other places it allows you to stay one evening during the weekend.

Stayed in Stable 2- Clean, tidy and well presented room maybe slightly on the small side but it did not matter.

Even though we had booked a restaurant within Whitby prior to the visit, the food and popularity of the restaurant suggests a recommendtion.

Very accomodating staff.

Room Tip: Simply read the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdies_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

My Husband, daughter and I were at a loose end one day so had a drive out to Sandsend. The beach was absolutely packed and there was no parking. It was a scorching summer day and we knew that Whitby would be much the same so we decided to call at The Stables for some lunch. We sat outside as it was such a lovely day. The service was speedy and the food was amazing. Good sized portions and value for money. The outside area is fantastic; there is the pond, animals and play area. Brilliant for kids. Suprisingly quiet when the centre of Whitby was so busy.
We also attended The Stables for a family Wedding in 2010 and had a brilliant day. This is a fab location for an outside summer wedding.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly86_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Stayed here for the 5th time ! We couldn't fault it excellent in every aspect . We ate at the hotel on Saturday night and the food was fantastic! Breakfast was very goodtoo. Enjoyed stay and we have already booked again for next year. I don't know what people have to moan about because the standard of the hotel and food are second to none !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We found this restaurant while we were on holiday in Whitby.I noticed the car park was full on the sunday lunch time and decided to have a look inside.The carvery looked beautiful so i booked a table for 8 of us at 5.30.We had an age range of 8-77.We all loved the food and we were happy with the service here.My daughter even had a waiter help her with putting the carvery on her plate.We later found out after chatting to him that he was the owner and a very nice man he is aswell.The surrounding gardens and everything are superb.The kids would of ate here every day.We had three meals here altogether.The fillet steak was superb and you could not fault any meal for taste or presentation.We will be back again and again.This is a must to visit.Like everything else you get what you pay for and this is well worth it

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 507alleycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

On the last night of our holiday we decided to try here as we had passed it several times throughout the week i am so glad we did. The service was very friendly the presentation of the food was 1st class, and the food was amazing ! Stunning location and atmosphere. Will highly recommend and will definitely return when in the area again !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We decided to try Stable restaurant after driving past it for the past 3 years, we were not disappointed.

The staff were very welcoming and sorted out a table for us very quickly considering it was a busy Saturday night and they were also hosting a wedding.

The food was quick to arrive and there was plently of it, the main course came on one plate then there was a terrocota plant pot of chips and three different types of vegatables in another serving dish. The main courses are about £10 - £15 per head but it was definately worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophAndSven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.6 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,118 reviews
2.2 km away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
646 reviews
2.1 km away
The Forge
The Forge
#60 of 152 in Whitby
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Sneaton Castle Centre
Sneaton Castle Centre
#88 of 152 in Whitby
78 reviews
1.7 km away
The White House
The White House
#44 of 152 in Whitby
367 reviews
3.4 km away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 5 in Sleights
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Butts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Butts Hotel

Address: Guisborough Road, Whitby YO21 1TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $156 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cross Butts Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its high emphasis on sourcing local produce, to Courtyard rooms, to a unique Stag suite with private Hot Tub and Sauna (perfect for that ultimate romantic getaway), award winning Cross Butts offers 4-star dining and accommodation just 2 miles from the seaside town of Whitby. The family-run restaurant serves a varied seasonal menu in a rustic setting, with exposed beams and flagstone floors. The views of the Esk Valley can be enjoyed from the garden room complete with its own log burner. Guests can relax in the bar area complete with a traditional working cast iron range or by the garden pond which has its own thatched pagoda island. On the edge of Whitby, Cross Butts is where town really meets country. A perfect base for exploring nearby Sandsend, Robin Hood’s Bay and the beautiful North York Moors National Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cross Butts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Butts Hotel And Stable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing