We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Credit where credit's due” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Anchorage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #29 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Credit where credit's due”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed here 2 nights at the end of January. It's totally changed since last time we came, it was good before, but now it's something else. The effort that has been made in all rooms puts most small hotels and B&B's to shame - excellent. As luck would have it we had room 2, huge, boutique, bay window, sea view, roll top bath - fit for a king. We saw three of their rooms in total and although room 2 is the best, all had the 'wow' factor and were different. We enjoyed having our breakfast brought to our room and agree it's a good idea. Parking right outside, easy walk into town centre, but at the same time just far enough away to be quiet. Superb value for money, I even over paid it was so good. We wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank pattyleescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    26
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
225
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Having stopped in numerous Hotels and Guest Houses in Whitby over many years this one is a Gem. Being sceptical about reviews from other travellers ive got to say that nothing dissapionted. Everything about our 2 night stay was fantastic from the cleanliness of the room to the friendliness of the owners. Stayed in the Penthouse and what can i say other than you would be hard pressed to get a better view anywhere.
The owners have chosen to do away with the breakfast room and serve breakfast in your rooms which has to be in my opinion the best desision they could have made and other Hotels would do well to follow suit.
Why sit in a breakfast room when you have fantastic views from your room.
Breakfast was spot on.
Hotel was spot on.
What more can i say,If your in Whitby its a must.

Room Tip: Any sea view room will not dissapoint
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julmo1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Enjoyed our stay very much, room very clean ,spacious and very well furnished. Everything we could possible need and delicious breakfasts. We would prefer use of a dining room as I always find other guests interesting! but cant think of any other faults and would certainly recommend this to others. Thankyou Mick and Debbie for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hollybank235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Great service from Mick. Breakfast in rooms was lovely. Great views from the front. Very clean and modern room and bathroom.
Could do with wifi and digital TV for the short time spent in the room. Also bigger bath towels would be good.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishNick1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We only stayed one night here, but we will definitely return for more!
We had a room with a sea view, which cost £10 more but was well worth it. Beautiful view overlooking the sea front.
The room was lovely. Well thought out, and little extras which make all the difference.
Breakfast was great, and is served in the room, which suited us as it meant longer in bed!
We really enjoyed our stay, and the owners made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilybeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Loved the service, particularly breakfast in your room, which was different each day depending on your own personal choice. Mike and Debbie are great natural relaxed hosts, well organised and customer friendly. Always available for a chat and any help you need. Stayed before at other more expensive hotels in Whitby but this was the best value for money so far with fantastic views and a great location with no parking problems. Stayed in room 11, the penthouse, which is on the v quiet top floor, and perhaps a long way up for the less mobile guest but the other rooms on the lower floors are very accessible with the front rooms also having great views. Saying that we loved the exercise, so climbing stairs were not a problem and the views are just magic even in winter.
Good to see such high standards in smaller Whitby hotels.

Room Tip: front rooms have great views but all rooms have a good individual style and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitbyregulars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Nice location and host. Rooms were big an airey only problem there was a musty smell which seemed to be masked by air freshners. Unfortunately this made us feel a bit sickly.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank therankster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 km away
Crescent Garden House
Crescent Garden House
#14 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.0 km away
The Sandbeck
The Sandbeck
#37 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.0 km away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Melrose Guest House
Melrose Guest House
#8 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.5 km away
Abbotsleigh
Abbotsleigh
#3 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.7 km away
Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Anchorage Hotel

Property: New Anchorage Hotel
Address: 3 Crescent Terrace | West Cliffe, Whitby YO21 3EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your New Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing