We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Accomodation”
Review of Sanders Yard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sanders Yard
Ranked #50 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 February 2012

From the moment one arrives (and is offered a complementary Tea/Coffee) you are made to feel extremely welcome. They go the extra mile to make sure your stay is as pleasant and relaxing as can be. The rooms are well appointed, very clean and little extra touches everywhere, from the chocolates on the very fluffy towels on the bed, large cups to make a drink in your room (with plenty of choices) to the rubber ducks for the bath!! Breakfasts can be as simple or as filling as you want them to be, the Full Monty is certainly that and fortifies you for all the walking up and down you'll do exploring the town. All in all a wonderful stay, one which is reflected by the similar comments in the visitor book..

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mogmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for Sanders Yard
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

The staff in the morning at breakfast are amazing couldn't do enough what a great team.overhaul the place was fantastic, the staff leave you to get on with your stay at Whitby and the service is fantastic if needed.
Only issue is parking there is none
you have to pay £6 for 24hrs for the car parks that are about 50 yards away so add that to the fee of your stay but once you have stayed you say to yourself, Ye it's worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomo760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

we visited sanders yard for a two night stay, on our arrival we were told we were given an upgrade. to our surprise we were given the keys to dove cottage.
what a wonderful place, so welcoming and homely.
staff are wonderful nothing is too much trouble.
breakfasts are the best we have tasted and the cakes and coffee lush.
we will be definitely visiting again.

Room Tip: well worth a visit, dove cottage is fantastic
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We've stayed at Sanders yard many times, always in the main accommodation, but this time due to me messing around with dates (and Ian being v good about it) we were put in the little cottage 'the old dispensary' which has warranted its own special review. The magic begins when you are handed the most enormous iron key to let yourself in to a cottage built in the 17th C. The kitchen is warm and cozy with all the facilities you could ask for and a lovely old tiled floor and Yorkshire range for good measure.We brought some puddings back from the restaurant and hunkered down at the kitchen table with a big pile of books from The Whitby Bookshop to watch the cold blowing the seagulls around outside. The first floor is another snug room with a big comfy sofa (which is also a bed), flat screen telly and old stone walls. I have to stress here this trip was in December and the cottage was fantastically warm, no mean feat in a building of that age. The upstairs bedroom is really in the eaves, with a big comfy bed to lie in and look up at the beamed roof and round window above the bed. I can't avoid mentioning that the shower/toilet is tiny, but the shower is powerful, they've done the best possible in the space the building affords.
In short, I adored this little cottage and am dreaming of returning for longer in the new year. Its something really special - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KES23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

This is the second year we have stayed at Sanders Yard and once again we thoroughly enyoyed our stay.
It is not a typical B&B it is more of a restaurant / cafe with rooms but doesn't suffer from that in any respect.
We stayed in room 1 which was spacious, very clean with a confortable sleigh bed and big en suite bathroom with a double ended bath tub.
The best feature of Sanders Yard is the location as it's on Church Street so right in the centre of "old whitby".
No car park but near to pay and display so my advice is to contact Tourism office and get a discounted prepaid ticket if your staying more than one night.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyTripperLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I found this hotel online after searching for a one night stay for my partner's birthday. We have just returned this weekend. The booking process was simple and the staff member friendly. He offered us a room called the "Jade Attic". When we arrived in Whitby we found a car park a two minute walk away. £6 for 24 hour parking. Sanders Yard is right on the main Church Street - a nice cobbled street. You go up a little yard and you arrive at Sanders Yard. You enter via a cute little tea room which was very busy full of locals. We were immediately asked if we would like a drink and said they would bring up to the room for us. We were shown to the room by a lovely lady. The Jade Attic is right in the - well attic! It was a gorgeous narrow room with old beams - apparently the building is a couple of hundred years old. We had a separate bathroom next door to our room and that was just out of this world!! very modern with large free standing bath and large sink. Very spacious. Guests get their own key and different door to come and go as you please. Very good night's sleep, nice cosy bed which was lit up with fairy lights for us. Breakfast the next day was served between 9am-10am with a selection of juices, cereals etc followed by a full english which set us up for the day. You could however choose something else from the menu like fresh salmon and eggs. I love Whitby and when I next visit Whitby I will definately stay here. GEM OF A PLACE!!!

Room Tip: Request the Jade Attic
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonaandDeanHudds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Thank you sanders yard. Brilliant night. Brilliant service. Great vegetarian full english breakfast.

What can I say, you made my birthday weekend.

Your number is stored in my phone :-)

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acrr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.0 km away
White Horse and Griffin
0.2 km away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
441 reviews
0.5 km away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#52 of 152 in Whitby
117 reviews
0.1 km away
The Endeavour
The Endeavour
#71 of 152 in Whitby
47 reviews
5.5 km away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 5 in Sleights
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanders Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanders Yard

Address: 95 Church St, Whitby YO22 4BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $137 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanders Yard 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sanders Yard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanders Yard Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing