We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon tea Civil Partnership celebration”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Rosa Hotel & Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea Civil Partnership celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We booked the front room at La Rosa Hotel for pink champagne afternoon tea after our civil partnership at Whitby registry office (which is a couple of minutes walk up the road) in May and we could't have hoped for a lovelier venue and reception! The staff were attentive, but not overbearing. The cakes were moist and tasty, the champagne was pink and bubbly, and the decor suitably vintage! The mixed sets of teacups and saucers and the incredible items of interest around the room kept everyone talking. And the staff were only too happy to bring coffee instead of tea for my mum! They were also happy for us to spend as long as we wanted in the room, which was lovely as we didn't feel rushed at all. And at £15 per person, it was cracking value for money too.

A couple of days after we were at La Rosa, one of the women who worked there sent us a lovely email, which we were so grateful for. It was so nice for us that she had taken the time to share with us how much they had also enjoyed our celebration, and such a small gesture meant a lot to us. In short, I would recommend the tea rooms every day of the week!

Room Tip: Pink champagne afternoon tea is lovely for a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marthapants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    47
    18
    17
    8
See reviews for
35
194
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester, england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

I stayed here with 5 friends for a surprise weekend away for a celebration – we spent 2 nights sharing the Crow’s Nest which was perfect for us, and had three double bedrooms (one with en suite), a shower room and a separate toilet. It also had a living room area with plenty of room for us all as well as a bar area. It also has lots of different china tea sets you can use for cocktails etc (or tea!)

The hotel is quirky and full of Victoriana and nice pieces like taxidermy, old postcards, photographs, and etchings etc. It’s sensory overload trying to take everything in at first, and I don’t think I took in even a third of what was on display. I’m amazed they manage to keep it so clean and spotless with so much there – someone’s obviously very good with a duster!

The beds were some of the most comfortable I’ve slept in and the eiderdowns were a lovely touch; the en suite bathroom was very good with large rainfall showerheads. The other shower room also has a bath.

I’m a bit bemused by the negative reviews complaining for example that there aren’t telephones in the room, when for me part of the charm is that this isn’t a bland and anonymous B&B or the Four Seasons. If you’re considering staying here then take a look at their website first or the pictures on here and you can see if its for you. If its not, then why bother going so that you can just complain about it?!

Breakfast was fantastic; much better than a greasy fry up – we had freshly baked, still warm, scones and croissants each day, fresh orange juice, yoghurts, boiled eggs, fruit cake and a big cafetiere of coffee. All of this was delivered to our door in a picnic hamper, which was a lovely touch and much nicer than having to traipse downstairs to a communal dining area and sit in awkward silence with other guests like other B&Bs in the area (of which I have stayed in many). Saying that though we also really liked sitting in the library area and being able to have tea (which is all provided free of charge) and relax outside of the room.

The staff were all really friendly and went out of their way to make us welcome and help us – for example by chilling some cava for us, and getting breakfast to us earlier then they’re supposed to start serving it as we had to leave early on one of the days.

By the end of it we didn’t want to leave – I can’t wait to go back here!

Room Tip: If there's a group of you, or you're going as a family then the Crow's Nest is brilliant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vidabt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heckmondwike, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the Stoker room.The room was spotlessly clean and the bed was heavenly.We were provided with luxurious towels and nice toiletries.In the mornings we were presented with a lovely picnic basket containing warm fresh cheese scones mmmmmmm,croissants,eggs,fruit,cheese,tea loaf,preserves and a cafetiere of fresh coffee.The stay was really relaxing and whilst the staff were more than helpfull we were left in peace.We had a balcony room which had a lovely view of the sea.The hotel contains some wonderful curios to look at .All in all a delightful experience and one we shall no doubt repeat.
Hilary and Keith Mee,Heckmondwike ,West Yorks

Room Tip: The balcony rooms have a perfect view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 268hmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

we booked in for 2 nights in the Sacre Coeur room just before the bank holiday week end and it's so full of character. a lot of time and effort has gone into the decor and collecting all the items they have around the place must have taken ages. The staff were helpful and friendly and the room was lovely with great views of the town & harbour. leaving the curtains open meant having a great view of the sunrise over the bay. breakfast was lovely and being served in a basket makes it a bit of an event, much better than sitting down at a table and being served a plate.
the place was spotlessley clean and I cannot fault anything about the hotel. If you're looking for something different and a window into the past then you can't beat this hotel.

I will certainly be back.

Room Tip: try to book one with a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LH58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed at La Rosa campsite in the swallow barn, which was what I would call glamping! The barn itself had loads of character and was like entering moulin rouge explaining it won't do it justice seeing is believing. Swallow barn has got electricity, two log burners and there was also a separate bathroom with a big roll top bath and loads of hot water both day and night!
I will say the toilet is an experience one I have never had before!

If your looking for total peace and quiet for a few nights and an experience which is very different then its defiantly worth a visit and you are surrounded by beautiful countryside especially Goathland which is a bonus.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DaveP75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed at La Rosa for 2 nights, on one of their 'Town Mouse/Country Mouse' offers. The campsite is a great idea let down by poor housekeeping and lack of suitable amenities. The van we stayed in, 'La Rosa', was gorgeous when you first arrived but on close inspection it was all a bit worse for wear. The log burner gave off little heat, and the wood we were left in the van was damp, this made it difficult to keep the fire going. The van itself seemed very precariously balanced and rocked whenever either of us moved! Several of the windows were missing fasteners - letting in draughts all night. Also the 'extractor' above the cooker was a hole - which we had to cover with a carrier bag and hairband. The bed was small and the hardest thing I have ever 'slept' on.
On the plus side the site is a great idea and full of quirky and interesting decorations. It was raining when we were there so I'm sure it all looks much better in the sunshine. As it was the bad weather made the basic facilities a real pain, trudging through mud to get to the compost loo in the dark was not a great experience. By the next morning the site was very waterlogged and a muddy mess, some proper paths would really help. We trekked in the rain to see the big top, across stepping stones and sunken wooden decking squares, slipping and sliding all the way, but I wanted to see it before we left. We finally got there and were disappointed to find a bedraggled green algae covered tent that was a bit past its best. You could clearly see it had been put together well to be inviting and homely but had not matured well in the weather and was a little sad.
We left the campsite looking forward to a much more comfortable stay in the hotel. Our room, 'Caravan', on first impression was gorgeous, with loads of vintage decorations and nice touches. On spending time in their it became clear that the hotel has neglected the basic needs of customers to focus on its themes. The room was far to small to have a four-poster bed in it. There was nowhere to sit. no wardrobe, no hairdrier, no milk (though it did say in the welcome pack we had to ask for that milk was supplied on request). The bed was too high to comfortably sit on and we later discovered it made loud creaking noises upon the slightest movement - very romantic and not exactly helpful when you need a good night's sleep.
The rest of the hotel, however was great. The staff are lovely and friendly and the tea room and library are stunning. Bar prices are reasonable and the view from the hotel is amazing. The location is perfect for reaching everything Whitby has to offer.
We were really looking forward to our stay as it had been recommended by a friend. We did enjoy most of it and would consider staying again but in a bigger room (I dont think we would go to the campsite again as it was a bit to much like roughing it and expensive) The Hotel could add a few basic things (like the hairdrier and seating) to its rooms and it would make for a much more comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Choose your room, and avoid the teeny tiny caravan room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jono C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

We have stayed at the campsite with my 2 children and I went to the hotel with my Mum. Both La Rosa experiences were absolutlely fantastic fun. The attention to detail is superb and their ecccentric approach and quirky decor really appeals. My children said it was their best weekend ever, and after we left we missed it terribly. Book ahead - we were lucky to get cancellations.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPBM65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.9 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
0.5 km away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 km away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
#14 of 20 in Whitby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.4 km away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rosa Hotel & Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rosa Hotel & Campsite

Property: La Rosa Hotel & Campsite
Address: 5 East Terrace | Murk Esk Cottage, Whitby YO21 3HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Whitby
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Rosa Hotel and Campsite aim to offer our guests something a little bit out of the ordinary. Whitbys history is full of fairytales and folklore, and at La Rosa we to embrace it's magical nature. With views over to the Abbey you can almost picture Lewis Carol sitting at the window and brainstorming on one of his many trips to the building all those years ago.... The hotel offers 8 double rooms and a three bedroomed apartment. All themed differently. You can stay in the Wild West or Arabia. Depending on your sensibilities! The campsite offers 10 caravans and a barn decorated splendiferously. Not quite glamping more like camping. There is no electricity in the caravans, leaving candle light and fires to light your way at night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Rosa Hotel And Campsite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing