We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fathers 80th birthday party”

Restaurant at Dunsley Hall
Ranked #60 of 226 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$52
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed October 18, 2018

Dunsley hall suited all our needs for my fathers 80th birthday bash , the food is fresh ,hot an cooked to a high standard, the rooms are to a good standard ,warm, clean an comfortable what else do you need. The bar is great ,a good selection of beer an wine also comfortable seating to chill. Breakfast isnt to shabby either a great selection . Really enjoyed our stay all 30 of us not one mourn ,well thats credit to the all the staff. Thank you

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Graeme G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 123 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2018

We were staying in the hotel and ate here three nights in a row. One assembles in the bar, from where you order your dinner and, when it is ready, you are escorted to the restaurant. Very civilised. Every evening there is a standard three course menu and a few specials that change every night. Everything we had was very good except that we found the desserts too large and impossibly sugary. The cheese tray, however, was excellent. Of the starters, I found the pigeon with black pudding excellent and for a man course the lamb rack. Our table neighbours raved about the cod, but I didn't find it particularly special. The restaurant is bright with a quite modern decor. There is a good selection of wines by the bottle - not so many by the glass. But if you are staying in the hotel they will keep the bottle for you for the next day. Breakfast was mostly very good, but an establishment like this should offer something more than just supermarket sliced bread for toasting. Fresh orange juice would also have been appreciated.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank What
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2018

The restaurant is nice, clean and airy. All staff were very attentive without being overeager. Food was very reasonably priced charging £40 per couple for 3 couses. supplements did apply.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 980Bernie1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2018

Arrived at Dunsley Hall for the first time and was impressed by the building and grounds from there on it went down hill.
The reception was just a normal table by the entrance door. There wasn’t a bell to ring. We looked about for someone to speak to but there wasn’t anyone. If we weren’t for the fact we were there to meet my publisher for the first time we would have left. There were hoovers left lying around. My husband and I wandering around until we heard voices but instead of members of staff it was the people we were meeting.
The publishers said that they had booked a high tea for our meeting but on arrival they were told that there was no record of their booking. The table hadn’t been cleaned. While we were talking another couple wandered in and asked us where reception was and they couldn’t find anyone to speak to. Dunsley Hall needs to look closely at the staffing and services as they could be missing out. On the way out the receptionist undercharged the publisher and he had to correct her to what we had had.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2018

You will be spoilt for choice, the steak was probably the best I've ever had. The extra touch of waiting in the bar whilst your table is prepared is not unusual but felt different. Great staff

Date of visit: August 2018
3  Thank pwhodgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant at Dunsley Hall also viewed

 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Restaurant at Dunsley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing