We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very Disappointed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duke of York

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Duke of York
Ranked #82 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
sheffield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

We always make a pilgrimage to eat at the Duke of York when we visit North Yorkshire and were really looking forward to lunch there over the bank holiday weekend. We have eaten there at least in the 20 times and sometimes at very busy times and always loved it. On the Sunday of the bank holiday we went in for lunch and were very disappointed. The crab in the crab salad was very cold and tasted odd and old. The salad wasn't fresh. The scampi was just as if it had come out of the freezer, the chips were cold and stale. Our granddaughter had the children's chicken nuggets which were awful as were her chips. How can such a previously exceptional restaurant have lost its way so much.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SheffieldGrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    69
    22
    8
    14
See reviews for
24
116
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2010

A fantastic location and place to stay. So close to everything in Whitby and on the right side of the harbour. We were in room 2 this time, this is the second visit to "the Duke" The room was great, very clean, very well looked after and so close to the harbour it's breathtaking. The owner can not do enough for you and al the staff are the same. The food was good and well worth the money. The beer is great, as is the atmosphere. We will be back as soon as possible. If you like the personal touch with a romantic setting, then this is the place.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boski007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds, West Yorkshire.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

Have eaten on this place a few times, & would agree the food isn't that great, & I remember the fish & chips used to be excellent, so a sandwich is all I'd have there now - & to enjoy the view which is fantastic! Also, good real ale & decent chlice of wines.
Booked to stay, for the first time, & a bit apprehensive due to some of the reviews, but my (picky) dad has stayed & didn't fault it, so risked it! When I rang to book, the locations of the rooms was explained to me, & I was advised to take room 2 as has it's own entrance at the back (& under) the pub (as does room 1). The lady was friendly on booking too which helps! On arrival we were shown to our room & very pleasently surprized. The location is great - you are about 15 feet from the sea! At night it looks fantastic! So twinkly & romantic. Our room had a normal double bed, 2 seater sofa, chairs to put outside (in warmer weather) hairdryer, kettle, etc & a large bathroom with bigh shower cubicle. The shower was pretty powerful & able to get very hot. The flooring is tiled thru' out & was all very clean. Two pillows each on the bed & very clean, crisp white cotton sheets. We encountered no problems with noise. We could hear footsteps of the person in the room above us, but these are old buildings & creaks are to be expected. There are benches(public) near to the rooms & a pier you can stroll on before bed - romantic again! The locks are good on the doors to the room & there are curtains across the doors for privacy, but in the daytime worth keeping open to see the boats pass by. We loved it & will definately stay again. There are tons of places to eat in Whitby, so choice isn't a problem, & all close by too. This place is on the 'old' cobbly side of whitby. To access the rooms I mentioned there is a steep ish cobbled bit to walk down, & then a few steps. It may be difficult for someone with walking difficulties.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitby
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2009

What has happened to the food? We used to eat here and always had good food. We visited again tonight for the first time in a year and did not have a very good meal at all. The fish and chips used to be lovely. They were just dumped on the plate and the chips were tastless frozen skinny things. The fish was overcooked and served with tinned garden peas. My husbands lamb shank was overcooked, shrunken and minute. It was served with powdered mash, tinned peas and carrots, and not much of any of it. If it had been a £4.99 meal it would not have been so bad but he paid £8.50 for a small portion of rubbish food. Such a disappointment. Great locatioin, but avoid the food as it is not worth spending money on - lots of better places to eat in Whitby. No wonder only one other group were eating there (and they left a lot of their food!) Cheap food at high prices and very limited choice on menu

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank prettypeacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
205 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

We'd had a bar meal here in the past, and were hoping for a nice Sunday lunch. There was no traditional Sunday lunch menu, and the food we had was horrible. My husband's chilli was served with nan bread and turmeric rice (obviously designed for curry), and my fish pie had hardly any fish in it. When we came in, a couple were leaving, having left their meals virtually untouched, so it wasn't only us who were unhappy with it. What a shame, as it's a nice pub, in a great location. There were't many other people eating, and it's a great place to sit and have a drink. Come on though, buck up! Just because people don't usually come more than once, doesn't mean you should get away with ripping them off like this.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

our room was not the biggest but your only in to get dressed or sleep.
staff were very pleasant & helpful.
the food was also a winner(esp if you like sea food)
i would def go back for the weekend, me and my husband loved the time we spent there.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

When a fellow diner, a young girl, found a large insect in the meat pie and reported it to the bar staff, not only was no apology offered or any concern shown but the incident was ignored apart from, I have never seen table cleared and its contents disposed of so quickly.
I would actively dissuade people to dine here if only for the managers belligerant attitude.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shellfish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.2 km away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.3 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
0.1 km away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#20 of 20 in Whitby
3.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.5 km away
Blencathra Guest House
Blencathra Guest House
#72 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.2 km away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#67 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of York

Property: Duke of York
Address: 124 Church Street, Whitby YO22 4DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Duke Of York Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing