We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Haven in a cold, busy York city centre”
Review of Lendal Cellars

Lendal Cellars
Ranked #236 of 945 Restaurants in York
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Gem hidden away in the city centre when every other eating establishment was turning customers away. Huge portions - cheese nachos to die for!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank janeY5571XF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanLendalCellars, Guest Relations Manager at Lendal Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jane,

Thanks ever so much for your lovely review, really hope to see you again soon, the nachos will always be here.

Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Been on many occasions and the food was lovely as always. My steak was cooked to perfection and my other half had a tasty chicken pie.....

Thank clairegreen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanLendalCellars, Guest Relations Manager at Lendal Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Claire,

Thanks so much for your review, really glad you enjoyed your steak and will pass onto the kitchen team the perfection it was and glad the other half loved the chicken pie. See you again soon Claire

Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

During a recent trip to York we decided to call here for a spot of lunch and drinks (we had previously been here for a drink at Christmas and loved it) There was six of us, this included two small children. We ordered at the bar and after waiting nearly an hour a bowl of cold chips was served on there own!! Twenty minutes later, half of the food arrived, the bloomer sandwich (which was ordered with the chips) was only what I could describe as a bit of tuna thrown in a lightly toasted stale piece of thick bread. To my knowledge, I thought a bloomer sandwich was two slices of thick soft bread, with a filling inside. After another twenty minutes, the rest of the order arrived, again with two of the terrible toasted sandwiches and a below average burnt steak & ale pie. As I observed around the bar I noticed other people were receiving fragments of there order. All in all, we will not be eating here again!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joanne7236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanLendalCellars, Guest Relations Manager at Lendal Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Joanne,

Can’t apologise enough for the experience you received from us on your visit. I really do hope you can call in again and I will personally make sure you receive the top service as we always try to give. It will be passed on to the team to ensure in the future it won’t happen again.

Many apologise again and really hope to see you again to make up for your bad time with us

Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Called in for a final drink before heading off to catch the train. Nice atmosphere, surroundings a little different. Quite a big place so plenty of space inside. Beers were ok. Would call again for sure.

Thank Owls1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanLendalCellars, Guest Relations Manager at Lendal Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you for your lovely review, glad you enjoyed the atmosphere, hope to see you again soon.

Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

During a family trip to York my wife spotted a sign outside for Mango cider. Yes, Mango cider!
So with a chance to rest weary feet we popped in to find an unusual pub which I could have stayed in for hours, but we didn't.
The mango cider is worth a shot if you like fruit ciders

    • Value
    • Service
Thank fameboy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanLendalCellars, Guest Relations Manager at Lendal Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thanks for the great review, and really pleased our juicy unique mango cider caught your eye. Hope to see you again soon, our Mango cider is always on as a permanent cask, so it’s always there. Thanks again

Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lendal Cellars also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Lendal Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing