We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveller rating
377
53
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
377
53
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews york racecourse excellent breakfast english breakfast a lovely stay race course enjoyed our stay fresh fruit a great place to stay comfy bed visit york family room nikki landlady accommodation pub
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 433 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2017

What a wonderful place to stay. And Niki was great! Thanks so much for everything and especially all the tips that helped us avoid a lot of hassle in our travels! We took her advice and did some more siteseeing up north and got to see some amazing things that we would have never known about had she not shared all those little hidden nuggets with us.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 201colin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2017

Exceeded expectations for bed and breakfast, very helpful Landlady with lots of great valuable local knowledge, nothing too much trouble. Nice comfortable rooms, plenty of choices for a very extensive breakfast - fantastic poached eggs!

Room tip: Excellent modern finished rooms
Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank W12EDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2017

We stayed at Bentham Lodge last week for 2 nights. Party of 2 adults 1 child. Nikki the owner is the most lovely funny knowledgable lady, best b&b owner we have met. She was great with our little girl, Grace loved her and is still talking about her a week later, thinks she was great. Nikki even dropped us into York the 1st day recommending us places to visit & exactly how to find them, the 2nd day we got the bus which is just outside the b&b. We walked back both nights, took about 40mins from the centre, was a nice pleasant walk.
Our room was immaculate, great ensuite, huge shower. Very comfortable beds.
Breakfasts were delicious both mornings. Fresh fruit prepared that morning then cereals, toast then full english, well the 2nd morning Nikki got Grace & I some lovely smoked salmon to go with the divine scrambled eggs. Nothing is too much trouble.
Would definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2017 via mobile

We only stayed one night, and wish it had been longer!
The house is lovely and has lots of character. We had the family suite in the top of the house and it was perfect for our needs.
Nikki is a hoot and can talk for England, and genuinely couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming.
Great breakfast, clean room, somewhere to park the car - everything you need!

Date of stay: June 2017
Thank StoneStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2017

Very helpful and friendly landlady. We had a well equipped and nicely decorated double room with a very comfortable and good size bed. Very good breakfast in the morning. Thoroughly enjoyed our short stay in York.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank C6747PRjohnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews