We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bentham Lodge Guest House
Ranked #8 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Just a short midweek break but it was absolutely lovely
Nice clean room
Lovey hostess
And great breakfast marvellous
Just a short 10 minute bus ride from the city center lots to do and see, just York minster was a let down and expensive for what it is

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2017

What a wonderful place to stay. And Niki was great! Thanks so much for everything and especially all the tips that helped us avoid a lot of hassle in our travels! We took her advice and did some more siteseeing up north and got to see some amazing things that we would have never known about had she not shared all those little hidden nuggets with us.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 201colin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

Exceeded expectations for bed and breakfast, very helpful Landlady with lots of great valuable local knowledge, nothing too much trouble. Nice comfortable rooms, plenty of choices for a very extensive breakfast - fantastic poached eggs!

Room Tip: Excellent modern finished rooms
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank W12EDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

We stayed at Bentham Lodge last week for 2 nights. Party of 2 adults 1 child. Nikki the owner is the most lovely funny knowledgable lady, best b&b owner we have met. She was great with our little girl, Grace loved her and is still talking about her a week later, thinks she was great. Nikki even dropped us into York the 1st day recommending us places to visit & exactly how to find them, the 2nd day we got the bus which is just outside the b&b. We walked back both nights, took about 40mins from the centre, was a nice pleasant walk.
Our room was immaculate, great ensuite, huge shower. Very comfortable beds.
Breakfasts were delicious both mornings. Fresh fruit prepared that morning then cereals, toast then full english, well the 2nd morning Nikki got Grace & I some lovely smoked salmon to go with the divine scrambled eggs. Nothing is too much trouble.
Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

We only stayed one night, and wish it had been longer!
The house is lovely and has lots of character. We had the family suite in the top of the house and it was perfect for our needs.
Nikki is a hoot and can talk for England, and genuinely couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming.
Great breakfast, clean room, somewhere to park the car - everything you need!

Stayed: June 2017
Thank StoneStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

Very helpful and friendly landlady. We had a well equipped and nicely decorated double room with a very comfortable and good size bed. Very good breakfast in the morning. Thoroughly enjoyed our short stay in York.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank C6747PRjohnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Cannot express how much we loved our stay at Bentham Lodge Guest House. Nikki was the perfect hostess and nothing was too much trouble. The double deluxe room was so perfect, the bed was honestly the most comfortable I've ever slept in and Nikki even gave us a £50 off voucher to buy one of the dreamy mattresses.
The guest house itself is right on the main bus route into the city and the bus cost us £4 each into town for a day ticket.
What a beautiful guest house and the cost was better than most we looked at.
Breakfast was SO delicious, I had the biggest bowl of freshly cut fruit, all the loveliest bread for toast and then the full English breakfast was wonderful.
If you are going to visit York please take a look at this gem of a place, we will never choose anywhere else in future.
Thank you Nikki,
Di and Martin, Wolverhampton

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank di_jamesd7159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 km away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#14 of 194 in York
370 reviews
3.1 km away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#10 of 194 in York
891 reviews
3.7 km away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 194 in York
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#6 of 194 in York
1,486 reviews
3.1 km away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#9 of 194 in York
278 reviews
3.2 km away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#22 of 194 in York
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentham Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentham Lodge Guest House

Address: 92 Tadcaster Road | Dringhouses, York YO24 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $102 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bentham Lodge Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run guest house offering modern facilities and great breakfasts within easy walking distance of York Racecourse and York College. 30 Minute walk into the City of York. Regular buses. Free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bentham Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing