We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$97
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Park Inn by Radisson York(York)(Great Value!)
US$175
US$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

B+B York(York)(Great Value!)
US$180
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$99
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$140
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Holiday Inn York City Centre(York)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$97
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,438)
Filter reviews
4,438 results
Traveller rating
3,222
740
279
126
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,222
740
279
126
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscedar courtmolton brown toiletriesturn down servicestar hotellip balmrise restaurantdoor staffclassic roomexecutive roomunderfloor heatingon arrivaloriginal featuresamazing hotelsteam roomcontinental breakfastbeautiful buildingseparate toilet
Filter
Updating list...
1,667 - 1,672 of 4,438 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2015 via mobile

Just returned after a one night stay at this special hotel.
At check in we were informed that we'd been upgraded from a classic to an executive room. There were treats and a card waiting in our room congratulating us on our anniversary. What a lovely surprise.
The location is ideal. The breakfast was delicious and the cocktails in the bar were divine (hence the slight headache today)!!
My husband and I have promised ourselves another stay in the future.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank MrsNBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2015

Dear MrsNBB,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our hotel.


We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it’s great to know that the team were able to look after you so well on your anniversary.


It is a very exciting time for us here at The Grand and hearing such positive feedback from our guests really does make us extremely proud and motivates us to go above and beyond all expectations. Over the next 2 years we are undergoing a major renovation with the addition of 107 new bedrooms, a new restaurant and bar, an extension to our spa and total refurbishment of all our existing bedrooms.


It will be our absolute pleasure to welcome you back here to The Grand in the not too distant future.


Kind Regards,

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2015

We only stayed here for one night whilst visiting my niece and a friends son at university. I don't think I could really fault the place. It's appearance is grand and beautifully decorated , the service was excellent. Had an excellent nights sleep and a delicious breakfast in the morning. You couldn't ask for any more really. Search long and hard for deals though, most of the usual websites were offering this place for £200 per person per night we eventually got it for half that. York is absolutely gorgeous and well worth a visit, and this is from a bloke who normally gets a nosebleed when he goes any further north than Aylesbury.

Stayed: September 2015
Thank Stuart E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2015

Dear Stuart E,


Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our hotel.


We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it’s great to know that the team were able to look after you so well. We are currently looking forward to a complete redesign of the hotel decor including the restaurant and an extension which will create another 107 bedrooms – so be sure to keep an eye out on our progression over the next couple of years.


I’m very pleased to hear that the wonderful North didn’t incur a nose bleed on this occasion!


It will be our absolute pleasure to welcome you back here to The Grand in the not too distant future


Kind Regards,

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2015

My partner and I stayed at the hotel for two night. Staff were really welcoming and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel has a lovely calm atmosphere. Would definitely stay again. Breakfast was delicious as was the cream tea we had one afternoon. We also sampled cocktails at the bar.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winnibagoyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2015

Dear Winnibagoyh,


Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our hotel.


We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were able to make the most of our hotel’s facilities –particularly enjoying the bar’s famous cocktails and cream teas. Being Yorkshire’s only 5* hotel we believe that going the extra mile and providing an intimate service is what truly makes us stand out so it is wonderful to hear such positive feedback.



It will be our absolute pleasure to welcome you back here to The Grand in the not too distant future.


Kind Regards,

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2015 via mobile

Booked two nights but given a box room and nothing but a wall to look at outside.
Booking said Classic Room and breakfast, upon arrival was informed Continental breakfast only.
Photos of room show just how tiny it is.
Asked to upgrade because of the box room but nothing available - maybe available next night.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Barney012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2015

Dear Barney012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us at the Grand Hotel and Spa.

I am sorry to hear that the room you booked was not to your taste, each of our rooms are individual and therefore have their own unique style and feel.

We hope that you are able to return and sample other rooms.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2015

Lovely hotel! Located close to both the station and city it's ideally situated for a short city break. The room was beautiful and breakfast delicious but the best bit was certainly the spa - which was amazing and never too busy whatever time of day we headed down. The spa was also open from 6:30 - 10 so great if you wanted to get out and about exploring whilst still enjoying some down time!

Stayed: October 2015
Thank Abigail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2015

Dear Abigail H,


Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our hotel.


We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were able to make the most of the hotel’s facilities – particularly our relaxing spa. It’s great to hear that you were able to see the sights of this beautiful and historic city whilst also utilizing the spa for some down time – the perfect way to explore York!


It will be our absolute pleasure to welcome you back here to The Grand in the not too distant future.


Kind Regards,

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews