We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,724)
Filter reviews
4,724 results
Traveller rating
3,382
792
318
143
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,382
792
318
143
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cedar court molton brown toiletries turn down service rise restaurant star hotel door staff classic room executive room underfloor heating on arrival original features amazing hotel steam room beautiful building separate toilet train station birthday treat
Filter
Updating list...
1,312 - 1,317 of 4,724 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2016

Wow, what a great hotel, we love York and have stayed at other hotels/B&B's but on this occasion we thought we'd treat ourselves to a bit of 5* luxury.

This beautiful hotel is located a very short walk from the train station and with local parking plus a valet service arriving is totally hassle free.
We received a very warm professional welcome from both the doorman and the reception staff and although it has been very tastefully refurbished the hotel has kept a lot of the original features.

The rooms are lovely, very very clean and with all the usual amenities and although we had a standard double it was very large with a small reception area and two bathrooms.

The Spa is fantastic and quiet well priced for the treatments available, careful though you might find yourself lazing your time away instead of sightseeing in this lovely historic city.

My favorite part of the hotel was the Whisky room, beautiful decor and fittings which evoked emotions of a Victorian gentleman's club during a London "pea-souper"!
An extensively stocked bar attended by a very skilled barman, and a whisky menu full of quality whiskies for all palates and depth of wallets.

As well as all the usual sights to see, The Minster, National Railway museum, York Dungeon, Jorvik center and the cobbled streets with all the quaint shops, we also enjoyed a late night Ghost bus tour, it was loads of fun, packed full with gruesome local history and folklore and a great way to see York at night, just one question though...were the tour guides real or ghostly apparitions?!

I have only three regrets about staying at The Grand Hotel York,
1, We have not stayed there before.
2, We had to leave to go home and..
3, We didn't take any photo's of this beautiful, welcoming, luxurious hotel.

Very highly recommended.

Room tip: Speak directly to the staff for any room requirements, they're very friendly and professional.
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank johnlightfoot68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2016

Dear johnlightfoot68,

Many thanks for such a stellar review of The Grand Hotel & Spa.

Your review was a real pleasure to read and I particularly enjoyed the level of detail you went into whilst describing our facilities. It is clear that you had a great appreciation for our beautiful historic building and it seems as though we share a mutual favourite part of the hotel!

Upon your next visit to The Grand, I would be only too happy to make myself available so that I could perhaps show you around some of the areas you did not see. I have a feeling, for example, that you would really appreciate our stunning Grand Boardroom.

Until we see you again, please feel free to contact me directly if you would like any information regarding future bookings and thank you once again for your most valuable feedback.

Warm regards,

Daniel Swain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2016

The Grand Hotel & Spa is next to York’s Roman city walls, and across the road from the Memorial Gardens and the River Ouse. It will only take you 5 minutes to walk from York Train Station, and 15 minutes to walk to York Castle Museum and the medieval street, The Shambles. From the Roman walls outside the hotel, you have a great view of York Minster.

The hotel itself is stunning as soon as you step into the foyer. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the beds are extremely comfortable. The staff were helpful and very amiable. I would go back again in a heartbeat!

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sadaf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2016

Dear Sadaf K,

Thank you for such a great review of The Grand Hotel & Spa.

As you pointed out in your review, The Grand is very conveniently located and is within walking distance of many of York's most popular attractions.

I agree with you that the entrance to our hotel is one of The Grand's most impressive features. You may be interested to learn that our building dates back to 1906 and was originally the Headquarters for the North Eastern Railway Company. Additionally, many of the building's original features are still intact, such as the Belgian marble floor in our lobby and the original office numbers above our guest rooms.

Your comments regarding our customer service and the general quality and comfort of your room are also much appreciated. In fact, our beds receive lots of compliments on how comfortable they are!

Thank you once again for your fantastic feedback and we look forward very much to welcoming you back to The Grand.

Warm regards,

Daniel Swain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2016

The Grand Hotel and Spa is a splendid hotel and York's only 5 star accommodation. The staff are extremely helpful and professional, the rooms are well furnished, large and presented. Originally the headquarters for the railway, the currently owners have been able to keep the charm of the building and turn it into a functional and luxurious hotel. It is not cheap, but you get what you pay for.

Room tip: Room 424 is well positioned, large and has a view to the city
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2016

Dear Phillip S,

Thank you for a great review of your recent stay with us at The Grand Hotel & Spa.

I am very pleased to hear that you had such an appreciation for our beautiful Grade II listed building. You may be interested to hear that we are currently in the process of expanding our facilities to include at least another one hundred guest rooms along with a brand new restaurant and bar area.

Your feedback is much appreciated and I hope that you will choose The Grand for your next visit to York.

Sincerely,

Daniel Swain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2016

Arrived for the weekend to be greeted by the doorman with a happy birthday, how did he know. Everyone was very professional and extremely polite(everyone knew it was my birthday. Room was excellent including birthday card from all staff & free glass of champagne. Spa was included but we didn't have much time to enjoy it. Bar area was very comfortable & welcoming. Buffet breakfast was the best ever. All the little extras were amazing. Well worth the extra money as a special treat.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank silifesaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2016

Dear silifesaver,

Thank you for your great review of The Grand Hotel & Spa.

Here at The Grand, we are always keen to know if our guests are celebrating something whilst staying with us as we love to do our bit to help make the occasion that bit more special.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast so much; I will be sure to pass your comments on to our Restaurant Manager.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and I hope that we will see you again soon at The Grand Hotel & Spa.

Warm regards,

Daniel Swain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

Have just spent two nights at the Grand Hotel and Spa with my 13 year old son. The service offered here is exceptional - we were made to feel very special. All of the porters were extremely helpful and attentive. The reception staff were very welcoming and efficient. The room was beautifully prepared for bedtime when we arrived in from dinner each evening. Thank you so much for making our short break so special.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank cassandcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2016

Dear cassandcharlie,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Grand.

I am delighted to hear that you and your son enjoyed your stay with us so much and I hope that you will choose the Grand again for your next break, however brief!

Warm regards,

Daniel Swain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews