We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,466)
Filter reviews
1,466 results
Traveller rating
707
443
192
89
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
707
443
192
89
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ivy restaurant premier room morning room car park lovely hotel drawing room city centre the ground floor fresh milk in the fridge four poster wedding party yorkshire breakfast eggs benedict small room booked this hotel york minster ten minute walk
Filter
Updating list...
441 - 446 of 1,466 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2016

We recenty held a special celebration dinner at the Grange for a party of circa 20 people. Throughout the planning process the staff were very friendly, accommodating and helpful. On the evening of the event the arrangement of the Drawing Room (as a reception area) and the Library (for the meal) was ideal for the environment we wished to create.
The food was excellent and our guests - some of whom are experts on food quality - commented on it. subsewquiently we have recieved letters and comments about how much they had enjoyed the occasion, the ambience and facilities offered by the Hotel.
We stayed overnight and the room we had was very comfortable, spacious and quiet. Located on the ground floor it was very convenient for the breakfast area lounge and reception. Breakfast was waiter served and the choices were varied and extensive. Our only concern was that the breakfast area was very warm and would have benefitted from some air conditioning.
All the staff we came into contact with were very friendly but we would specifically mention Suzzanne and Rebecca for their support and helping to make our special event memorable.

Room Tip: We had a room 5 on the ground floor to the rear of the hotel
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank anita230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded September 23, 2016

Dear Anita230

Many thanks for your kind review - it was our pleasure! And thank you also for being so organised, it does make a difference.

We have since addressed the air conditioning in the Brasserie and the system is now up and running.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2016

Very pleasant hotel rooms very nice only had standard stayed for 6 nights the food was absolutely excellent great variety on set menu and quality was very high would recommend in a flash car park fills up quickly but plenty of local parking available

Room Tip: Try a suite may be more but worth it
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank malefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded September 20, 2016

Dear Malefamily

Many thanks for your kind review - very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Come back soon!

Regards

Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2016

We stayed two nights. Our room was on the ground floor,at the front. Road noise very bad. It was hot but we had to keep the window shut, which helped, but not a lot. We asked to be moved on the first night but but the hotel was full. They offered to move us on the second, but we were at a wedding all day, and not back until midnight, so not convenient. Lovely meal on first night (though expensive, and we are used to London prices) and good breakfasts. Excellent location. However, not a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Choose one on the side, not ground floor.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne-Dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded September 28, 2016

Dear Lynnedwarreh7

Thank you for your comments.

We do everything possible to keep noise to a minimum. Our front facing rooms all benefit from double glazing and extra thick curtains. We are after all, city centre.

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed dinner and our excellent breakfasts!

Regards

Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile

We were staying in the local Hotel Noir, just 5mins up the road but arrived after 9pm and so they had stopped serving food. A short wander and we happened upon this venue. The hotel upstairs looked lovely and the menu on display on the wrought iron railings, attractive to travel worn diners.
We descended to the basement and made enquiries to the waitress as it was already 9:40. Initially she offered sandwiches but seeing our faces fall had a word with the chef and seated us immediately.
Despite the late hour we were not rushed to order and enjoyed a delicious appetiser of crisps, olives and warm bread whilst we perused the menu. All three diners opted for steak which was served with the traditional trimmings. I enjoyed mine with a glass of very smooth Merlot.
A delicious, well cooked, impeccably presented meal. Great service from delightful, attentive staff. I would thoroughly recommend this brasserie.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded September 18, 2016

Dear Heidi H

Many thanks for your comments - very pleased to hear both the Brasserie and kitchen team responded so well to the situation.

I trust you enjoyed your stay in our wonderful city!

Regards

Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights no issue with parking.stayed in room 6 and it was lovely think it was one of the new refurbished rooms but if they are doing all rooms to this standard will be an excellent place to stay.building work was ongoing but no noise or disturbance.quick walk into York lovely hotel and friendly staff. Only gripe was when booked stated breakfast included but upon checking in discovered it wasn't not sure if this is hotel or bookings.com fault but plenty of places to eat in York. 5 star will definitely be returning

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded September 13, 2016

Dear Nicola H

Many thanks for your comments - very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Room 6 has indeed been recently redecorated and we're very pleased with the results. We plan to refurbish 10 more bathrooms this side of Christmas.

I trust you enjoyed your stay in York and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews