We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,899)
Filter reviews
1,899 results
Traveller rating
1,258
447
131
35
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,258
447
131
35
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews york minster taxi rank kedgeree dch restaurant valet parking is minster bells lovely hotel perfect location eggs benedict no air conditioning breakfast was excellent visiting york small room booked this hotel family room train station within easy walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
416 - 421 of 1,899 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2017

Visiting York for the day part of which was to do a check on this hotel for future accomadation. It's brilliantly situated next to the Minster. We enjoyed out time there especially the people watching from the bar area. We were particularly impressed by the hotel staff who were extremely warm & friendly, a proper Yorkshire welcome. We will definitely return but next time it will be to stay.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank PhilB505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanCourt, Manager at Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2017

Dear philB505

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on your visit, I am pleased to hear that what you saw impressed you and you are now considering making a booking with us, we will wherever possible show bedrooms to potential guests if they wish to offer more insight into what a stay at the Deancourt Hotel could be. As with any hotel book direct with them to get the best room tips and little nuggets of information that only the staff will know and the price will never be beaten by going direct.
As well as our ideal location our staff ensure a great stay and we look forward to the opportunity of impressing you further on your next visit.

Kind regards
Steve Bailey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2017

Just returned from a nights stay with a group of girl friends for a 30th birthday. What a great hotel choice. We opted for a Family Room as there were 5 of us and we thought being together in 1 room would work well. The suite had been recently refurbished to a very high standard. It had 1 double, 1 single and a bunk bed. The space was great, the bedding and facilities were impeccable and we couldn't have wanted for a better place to stay. Staff couldn't do enough for us and everyone we spoke to was friendly, helpful and welcoming. Would highly recommend. Thanks for such a lovely stay.

Room tip: Family Suite is great for both families and groups of friends
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EES1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanCourt, Manager at Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2017

Dear EES1979

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent visit to the Dean Court Hotel. Its great to hear that you all had a great time and in one of our newly refurbished rooms as well.
I bumped into you all during your stay and you were all in good spirits and I'm pleased to hear the Canadian lady who's birthday it was had such a good time with her friends.
We hope to get the opportunity to impress you once again in the future.

Kind regards
Steve Bailey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2017

Stayed here last night with my partner in room 31 for my birthday. Gorgeous hotel room was immaculate staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, when I told them it was my birthday I went back in my room to find a birthday card and box of sweets for me. Hotel is in a great location and breakfast at the restaurant was gorgeous. Thank you dean court hotel for making my birthday one I'll never forget.

Date of stay: February 2017
2  Thank amy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanCourt, Manager at Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2017

Dear amy h

Thank you for your review and we are all pleased to hear you had a great birthday at our hotel.
The little touches that our staff add when they can always go down well and to hear great comments such as yours is so rewarding for all the staff to read.
I hope we see you again before your next birthday where we aim to make another great memory for you.

Kind regards

Steve Bailey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2017

Normally stay on outskirts of city but decided to pay considerably more to be in the centre. On arrival were greeted and told our room was ready, helped in with our luggage and piles of gifts, as was in York for a special birthday. Thought our room very dated but very clean. Light in bathroom completely inadequate for makeup etc. Would def request a refurbished room another time. Sat and had snack in lobby/lounge, view spoilt by homeless person using war memorial as toilet!!! Realise this nothing to do with hotel but what a shame.
Breakfast really nice, cooked freshly. Had table with view of Minster, could of sat there all morning people watching. Really loved atmosphere and would return again hoping to get a better deal.

Date of stay: February 2017
1  Thank swhite917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanCourt, Manager at Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2017

Dear swhite917

Thank you for reviewing your first stay at the Dean Court hotel, it is nice to hear that you are looking to return, If so call the Dean Court Hotel directly as only the reservation staff at this hotel will know what rooms have been refurbished and will request you are allocated one of these. its also good to hear that you enjoyed our freshly cooked breakfast and the views that this offers.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Steve Bailey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 9, 2017

Ten minutes amble from the railway station and only five minutes away from York Art Gallery and the Yorkshire Museum and absolutely opposite York Minster, this hotel has an unrivalled situation for any culture vulture visiting York. It is also very close to several outstanding restaurants and only half an hour from Walmgate where other restaurants are located. For that reason alone, I recommend Dean Court to you, but the hotel is also staffed by some of the nicest people I have met in a hotel. Their welcome was warm and generous and sustained over our three day stay.

Our room (37) was opposite the West elevation of the Minster and gave us a view of the church that was unique. That made another reason to recommend Dean Court.

Breakfast were really good with a wide menu choice and quick and attentive service. Excellent!

Our room was well equipped and comfortable, but did have one oddity, which was a safe that was put, not fixed, in the wardrobe and whose door could not be opened because of the wardrobe frame. A minor issue and not one to spoil our stay and hopefully, not one to spoil yours.

Room tip: Ask for room 37 to get the view of the Minster
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanCourt, General Manager at Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2017

Dear Colin T,

Thank you for your very nice review. As you have quite rightly written we do have the best location of any hotel in the City, on the door step of "everything" York has to offer and of course we overlook the Minster! Not sure if you made a typo with half and hour to Walmgate- its 5 minutes away by foot. So pleased my staff made you feel so welcome. I will investigate the safe situation today and resolve the issue. Room 37 does have a great view of the Minster as do 23 off out front facing bedrooms. If your could lean out room 17 you could just about touch the Minster. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Simon Murphy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews