We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hilton York
Ranked #38 of 46 Hotels in York
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stayed for two nights recently and the first room we were allocated looked really quite tired (not a 4 star) and also noisy. We spoke to the lady in reception and she was quick to sort something out for us. I can't remember her name but she was really professional and efficient. The second room overlooked the castle and was much better. The beds were comfy, the room was clean, breakfast was super and the location was great! We would certainly book again but I'd really want to know which room I was being given. This would probably mean paying more than we'd expect/want to but overall I think it was worth it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieM455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    835
    610
    296
    140
See reviews for
528
1,168
69
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Our family (two adults and two teenagers) had a very nice three night stay in a perfectly adequate two double bedded room. The room was very clean and nicely furnished. We only had towels for two people but a quick note to the housekeeping lady solved that little issue the next day.

The hotel Wifi is expensive, however certain UK mobile networks will allow free access to 'auto BT Wifi'.

I used to live in York so I knew how just how convenient this hotel is to all the tourist hot spots and the lovely bars and restaurants.

I would certainly recommend paying that little extra for the buffet breakfast, especially if you have hungry teenagers like us!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gooobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on this website.

I was pleased to read that you had a very nice stay and found the room to be very clean and nicely furnished and that you all enjoyed the breakfast buffet.

I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton York in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nick Taylor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We have just returned as a party of 7 who visited York for half term and stayed two nights at the York Hilton. The hotel is in a super location just in front of Clifford's Tower so fantastic for the three boys in our party (ages 10, 7 and 6) . The staff at the hotel were outstanding. The breakfast was great and the waiting staff at breakfast even noticed that we were celebrating the 10 year old's birthday. They prepared some lovely pancakes (with absolutely no request or prompting) and they had added a birthday message and 10 candles. They sang happy birthday with us and the 10 year old was really thrilled. What kind and thoughtful staff. The hotel should be proud! We had two double-double rooms. The rooms are absolutely fine. Nicely decorated and very clean. Not much space but you don't need it for a couple of nights. The only niggle we had was that that room was very hot and we could not turn down the heating. We have stayed here previously and will definately stay again for the location, great staff and great breakfast :-)

Room Tip: We had a super meal at Delrio's up at Micklegate :-) Also, there were so many lovely activities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CotswoldMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on this website.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that you received excellent customer service from my team and that your stay was made extra special with my team acknowledging your son’s birthday. I am indeed very proud of my team and I will be passing on your comments to them.

I hope we the opportunity to welcome you all back to the Hilton York in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Nick Taylor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed here for one night. As a family with 2 adults and 2 children we had a double/double room. The room had 2 double beds. Room was not very big for 4 people but was all that we needed as hardly spent any time in there. The room was very clean with tea/coffee. Reception staff were very pleasant. The breakfast buffett was very good with lots of choice: hot english breakfast, cold meats, fruit, cereal and pastries. There is only one thing I could say as a negative and that is outside the hotel doors there was a horrible smell of dirty sewers. All in all a nice hotel to stay in very close to the city centre.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophie13_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on this website.

I appreciate your kind comments and am pleased that you found the breakfast to have lots of variety and the Reception team to be most pleasant. I will be passing on your comments to them as they serve as a great motivator.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton York in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nick Taylor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

The Hilton Hotel York is an excellent choice for location, quality and service. Sited about 300 metres away from Clifford's Tower (the keep of York Castle, with this as the view from the dining room) you immediately feel in the heart of wonderful medieval York. The decor, room furnishing and courtesy of the staff are all first rate and breakfast surpasses the Yorkshire reputation for filling you up for the rest of the day! The quality of the both the traditional English and the continental breakfasts left nothing to be desired. We were more than happy with the quality of both our room and the bathroom.
Parking was fairly expensive but on site and under cover. York is a compact city and everything is within very easy walking distance of the hotel.
Despite being in the city the hotel was very quiet and restful. My only criticism was the lack of air conditioning. Although the weather was below freezing and we turned off the the heating in the room it was too warm overnight and would benefit from better temperature control.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank probinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments on this website.

I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and found my team to be most friendly and that you also enjoyed the Hilton breakfast. My team work hard to ensure we deliver the highest standards of customer service at all times and I am pleased that on this occasion it was no exception.

Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton York in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nick Taylor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

It was nice with friendly staff but the bathroom was very small and outdated which made it disappointing. The tv was set at a volume which made it inaudible

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianne1byrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Well located within easy walk of all city attractions and train station. Room dated, bog standard decor and in desparate need of a makeover. Perfectly clean and staff very obliging. Arrived late at night, mid-week and charming receptionist did me a great deal to include parking. At Travelodge rates it is just fine, at advertised rates I would avoid as doesnt represent value. Car parking rates exorbitant and it really should not be necessary to charge for Wifi in this day and age.

Room Tip: View over Cliffords tower has to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marran25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments on this website.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the location fantastic for exploring York, and my team to be most obliging.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton York in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Nick Taylor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 km away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.7 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.4 km away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton York

Property: Hilton York
Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing