We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ibis York Centre
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$197
US$177
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$94
US$90
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$228
US$171
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn York(York)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$194
US$186
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$298
US$288
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
US$119
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,042)
Filter reviews
2,044 results
Traveller rating
420
763
504
211
146
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
420
763
504
211
146
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationfree parkingwould stay againyork centrebed was very comfortablemin walkwalk in showercar parkingcouple of nightsstayed for one nightshort breakwithin easy walking distancetea and coffeefull englishyogurtleannemicklegate
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 2,044 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here last weekend after booking online. We didn't check in until late and both check in and check out were completed swiftly and in a friendly manner.

I suspect we were given a disabled room but that wasn't a problem, in fact it was quite large for obvious reasons.

Despite being on the ground floor we heard no noise at all even though it was Easter Saturday.

We had one small problem with the TV but this was sorted in minutes.

All members of staff we encountered were friendly and the atmosphere in the hotel seemed inviting.

We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel opting instead for Wetherspoons just along the road.

I would recommend this hotel for a short stay as it's location is within easy walking distance from the centre.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Brufsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Holroyd, General Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank You so much for your kind review of ibis York Centre, We are all pleased you had a good stay with us. Please do try our hearty breakfast buffet next time and if you book on arrival for £6.95 the value is very good as you can eat and drink as much as you like! We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind Regards

John Holroyd

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Clean but spartan rooms, 2 person room but with one hard plastic chair to sit on! Tiny single bed for a big bloke. Empty breakfast buffet at 08:45. Not impressed.
Worried about booking for France in June,

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
2  Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Holroyd, General Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank You for your recent review of ibis York Centre, I am sorry you found the beds to be small and the chair hard. I have spoken with the kitchen team to ensure supplies are plentiful although we do like to cook fresh and often and I apologise if there was a delay on food coming out of the kitchen.

We do hope to welcome you back soon for a much improved experience.

Kind Regards

John Holroyd

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights over Easter break not bad room clean & warm
I asked for a quiet room as the road at the front seemed busy .
The shower in the room was great lovely power shower plenty of hot water .
The staff were very friendly & helpful
& the location of the hotel was good
We walked into centre & from train station is only 10 mins walk .
All in all bit bad place to stay for a short break.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank missyc1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Holroyd, General Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank You so much for your very kind review of ibis York Centre, The team and I are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

John Holroyd

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Breakfast buffet good, breakfast room good. Staff friendly. Rabbit warren of corridors and stairs to reach rear rooms. Hotel in poor condition. It seriously needs a refurbishment in public areas - paint dirty and peeling, carpets grubby and worn. Carpet step treads missing on third floor stairs down to rear rooms. Prices on high side for Ibis, especially given the state of the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jonnyboyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Holroyd, General Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank You for your review of ibis York Centre, We are sorry you did not find the hotel to your satisfaction and have addressed the points you have raised with the team. We are currently planning a refurbishment later in the year and we do hope to welcome you back in future for a much improved experience. We do look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

John Holroyd

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the York Ibis Central for 1 night. The room was clean and was the usual Ibis feel of ", everything you need, nothing you dont". The building is quite old but it currently being renovated and the room was modern.

The location is ideal for exploring York without being in the midst of it. It is a short 10 min walk from the main train station and there is plenty of buses to the centre. There is a shop and some restaurants and pubs nearby and the 'Shambles' with a myriad of pubs is only 10 min walk

The staff were very friendly. Easy check-in and we were allowed to stay 2h past check-out as we did not feel too well on that day. That saved us from waiting in the cold train station. Thanks!


The only downside is that the place is (currently) quite noisy despite being away from the 'main drag' of pubs and restaurants. The room doors are very heavy so they make a really loud noise everytime someone enters/exits their room. That can become quite loud at night but earplus will mostly fix it. The renovation also meant that there was a bit of pain smell and construction noise in the late morning.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Evelyne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Holroyd, General Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank You so much for your kind review of ibis York Centre, We are really pleased on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us and take your comments on board regarding noise and the painting. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

John Holroyd

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews