We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,168)
Filter reviews
2,168 results
Traveller rating
445
801
535
229
158
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
445
801
535
229
158
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station extra pillows free parking would stay again york centre min walk walk in shower bed was very comfortable short stay car parking couple of nights within easy walking distance tea and coffee full english yogurt leanne micklegate
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 2,168 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Stayed here last weekend after booking online. We didn't check in until late and both check in and check out were completed swiftly and in a friendly manner.

I suspect we were given a disabled room but that wasn't a problem, in fact it was quite large for obvious reasons.

Despite being on the ground floor we heard no noise at all even though it was Easter Saturday.

We had one small problem with the TV but this was sorted in minutes.

All members of staff we encountered were friendly and the atmosphere in the hotel seemed inviting.

We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel opting instead for Wetherspoons just along the road.

I would recommend this hotel for a short stay as it's location is within easy walking distance from the centre.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Brufsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Holroyd, General Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Dear Guest

Thank You so much for your kind review of ibis York Centre, We are all pleased you had a good stay with us. Please do try our hearty breakfast buffet next time and if you book on arrival for £6.95 the value is very good as you can eat and drink as much as you like! We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind Regards

John Holroyd

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Clean but spartan rooms, 2 person room but with one hard plastic chair to sit on! Tiny single bed for a big bloke. Empty breakfast buffet at 08:45. Not impressed.
Worried about booking for France in June,

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Holroyd, General Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Dear Guest

Thank You for your recent review of ibis York Centre, I am sorry you found the beds to be small and the chair hard. I have spoken with the kitchen team to ensure supplies are plentiful although we do like to cook fresh and often and I apologise if there was a delay on food coming out of the kitchen.

We do hope to welcome you back soon for a much improved experience.

Kind Regards

John Holroyd

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights over Easter break not bad room clean & warm
I asked for a quiet room as the road at the front seemed busy .
The shower in the room was great lovely power shower plenty of hot water .
The staff were very friendly & helpful
& the location of the hotel was good
We walked into centre & from train station is only 10 mins walk .
All in all bit bad place to stay for a short break.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank missyc1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Holroyd, General Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Dear Guest

Thank You so much for your very kind review of ibis York Centre, The team and I are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

John Holroyd

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018

Breakfast buffet good, breakfast room good. Staff friendly. Rabbit warren of corridors and stairs to reach rear rooms. Hotel in poor condition. It seriously needs a refurbishment in public areas - paint dirty and peeling, carpets grubby and worn. Carpet step treads missing on third floor stairs down to rear rooms. Prices on high side for Ibis, especially given the state of the hotel.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jonnyboyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Holroyd, General Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Dear Guest

Thank You for your review of ibis York Centre, We are sorry you did not find the hotel to your satisfaction and have addressed the points you have raised with the team. We are currently planning a refurbishment later in the year and we do hope to welcome you back in future for a much improved experience. We do look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

John Holroyd

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018

We stayed at the York Ibis Central for 1 night. The room was clean and was the usual Ibis feel of ", everything you need, nothing you dont". The building is quite old but it currently being renovated and the room was modern.

The location is ideal for exploring York without being in the midst of it. It is a short 10 min walk from the main train station and there is plenty of buses to the centre. There is a shop and some restaurants and pubs nearby and the 'Shambles' with a myriad of pubs is only 10 min walk

The staff were very friendly. Easy check-in and we were allowed to stay 2h past check-out as we did not feel too well on that day. That saved us from waiting in the cold train station. Thanks!

The only downside is that the place is (currently) quite noisy despite being away from the 'main drag' of pubs and restaurants. The room doors are very heavy so they make a really loud noise everytime someone enters/exits their room. That can become quite loud at night but earplus will mostly fix it. The renovation also meant that there was a bit of pain smell and construction noise in the late morning.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Evelyne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Holroyd, General Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2018

Dear Guest

Thank You so much for your kind review of ibis York Centre, We are really pleased on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us and take your comments on board regarding noise and the painting. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

John Holroyd

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews