We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
322
29
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
29
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade flapjacksvictorian roomafrican themed roomyork hospitalhosts peterflap jackskedgereefresh milkexcellent hostshighly recommend this guesthouseminute walkcooked breakfastlittle touchesvisit yorkfull englishlovely guesthouselovely couple
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 356 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2016

We stayed for 4 nights and wish it had been longer! Very hospitable hosts,Peter and Jane maintain very high standards but combine it with a lovely friendly atmosphere. The whole house is spotlessly clean,breakfast excellent particularly the scrambled egg and smoked salmon.Of particular note the beds are really comfortable,and there was no noise at night. A great place to stay when visiting York.

Room Tip: Room 5 limited views but very quiet and comfortable, on 2nd floor no traffic noise.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ann04R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2016

We stayed here for two nights. Very clean, comfortable and friendly. So much better than staying at a chain hotel. Rooms are all individually decorated and the breakfast is cooked to order. Hosts are great and give good tips for visiting York which is a 10/15 minute walk away. Not a moan at all but one point would be that Room No. 2 is very light first thing in the morning and perhaps a black out blind might assist (?) - a great place and we would thoroughly recommend it to all

Room Tip: Take a face mask as the curtains will not block out the light
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2016 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here on a recent short break to York with my husband. We had a lovely room.. It was the deluxe King and it was of a very high standard. Nice extras like brownies and flapjacks next to tea and coffee as well as biscuits. Our room was at the side of the building so there was no traffic noise. Adequate breakfast with plenty of tea and toast if you want more. Fresh flowers on the dining table was a nice finishing touch.
We were told we were able to bring or order takeaways as long as they were not consumed in the bedroom. A separate room was allocated for this and they would even provide the crockery and cutlery. Wine glasses also supplied with access to a fridge.
We didn't take advantage of this however, as there are plenty of good restaurants within walking distance. Highly recommended is Coconut Lagoon which is a Southern Indian restaurant. Curry but not as we know it.!
Highly recommend this guesthouse as Peter and Jane really make an effort to ensure the comfort of their guests.
Hope to visit again.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bernadette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights. We love this guest house so much that whenever we want a few nights away from home we always come here for some rest and relaxation. This visit was our 8th stay in 11 years.
As always, Peter and Jane were perfect hosts. The rooms were impeccably clean and breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice with options other than a full English breakfast.
Although the guest house is situated on a busy road, you are unaware of any noise from the traffic.
The guest house is situated about 15 minutes walk from the Minster, however there is a bus that can be caught from just outside which takes you right into the centre of York.
A perfect place to stay.....we will be going back again for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2016 via mobile

Lovely B&B, warmly welcomed by Jane & Peter, the room was lovely and comfortable and the little touches such as fresh flapjacks in the room and our little Easter gift at breakfast ( see picture )

This brings me to breakfast it self this was very very nice indeed I recommend the kedgeree :-) I had it twice and it was amazing there are other specials to choose from as well as well as your usual full English and cereals.

Every little detail was lovely and also really good value I would defiantly stay here again if required :-)

5 Stars *****

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_and_Jane_York, Owner at Feversham Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2016

Very many thanks for your lovely review. I am so glad that everything was to your liking. I am glad that you found your room comfortable. We are aiming to achieve a high standard of comfort for our guests and we are in fact getting an even better mattress for that room tomorrow. So please come again and try it out for us! I love cooking different dishes for our guests so I am delighted that you enjoyed the kedgeree.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews