We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Feversham Lodge Guest House
Ranked #9 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2017

Easy to find and with decent on site car park. Ten minutes walk from York's city walls (via Gillygate). My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights for a city break and found Feversham Lodge to be pretty much exceptional in all aspects. Our hosts, Peter and Jane, made us feel very welcome and we appreciated both their overview of York and recommendations of local places to eat/drink. Our room was cosy and comfortable and spotlessly clean, with all of the facilities you'd expect. Breakfast choice was good, well presented and very tasty. Our stay at Feversham Lodge made what would ordinarily have been a good trip to York an outstanding one. We would recommend this guesthouse without hesitation.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a fridge outside for guest usage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

This is a fantastic place to stay just a short walk away from the city centre - our room was fantastic and the breakfast was exceptional with great choices. Excellent value and great hosts who are more than willing to assist with questions and make recommendations.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank NTB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

It's difficult to add to the superlatives that have been used in previous reviews. Peter and Jane are excellent hosts who offer spotlessly clean and comfortable accommodation and go that extra mile to ensure guests needs (and whims) are met.
The wide choice of breakfasts is excellent and are cooked to perfection.
Can't wait to stay again !

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mainman_1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_and_Jane_York, Owner at Feversham Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thanks for your lovely review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Lots of our guests have "whims" and we are very delighted to provide for them! It makes life interesting.
We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights and have just returned home. We had the Chinese room on the top floor and it was very clean and comfortable. Peter and Jane were very helpful and friendly, with plenty of information about sightseeing and places of interest. The freshly cooked breakfast was very tasty too. We have had a lovely weekend so thank you both.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murtles55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

A new base for us in York. Lovely welcome, delightful themed and spotless room with all the usual amenities, but just that little bit better and superb breakfasts. (Don't miss the Taste - T - Toast!) We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LeFarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

I have just returned home from spending the weekend in York - a trip made even lovelier by my stay at Feversham Lodge. Peter and Jane are impeccable hosts who couldn't do enough to provide first class customer service.

I stayed in room 2 on the first floor and it was perfect. A well-appointed, spotlessly clean, spacious room with a settee, television and ample tea and coffee making facilities. There were even homemade flapjacks to enjoy with my tea. The bathroom was perfect for my needs and the hosts provide toiletries and towels. The shower was powerful which I appreciated.

When I arrived I was given a menu to choose from for breakfast the following day. I can't fault the breakfasts in the slightest. Peter kindly gave me a cafetiere each morning, remembering my preference from the previous day. The traditional cooked breakfast is delicious with the food locally sourced. On my final day I opted for scrambled eggs and smoked salmon and this was just the ticket to set me up for some more sightseeing.

Faversham Lodge is about a 25 minute walk from the train station and it's easy to find so if you don't have a lot of luggage with you why not stroll there at your leisure, along the walls. Pop into the tourist office and pick up a few leaflets on the way if you haven't already decided where to visit. It's approx a 12 minute brisk walk to High Petergate, next to York Minster. For good cafes and shops try Gillygate and for a special afternoon tea head to Betty's Tea Rooms but be sure to book if you'd like to sit in or expect to wait in line for a while. It's very popular.

I hope to stay at Peter and Jane's again in the future. A lovely couple whose exceptional attention to detail is second to none. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_and_Jane_York, Owner at Feversham Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Hi Laura
Thank you for your review. It was a delight for us to look after you and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for all the advice you have provided for intending guests.
Best wishes
Jane and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

A lovely warm welcome by Tony the proprietor at the Tower Guest House, the room was spotless with four poster bed (comfortable) on suite with spa bath and shower decorated very nicely . breakfast was ordered the night before and cooked for you at the stated time so it was hot and very tasty using local produce. The breakfast room could be used throughout the day it was equipped coffee machine and microwave , all the guides and brochures you needed and Tony provided a shuttle service to the city centre if needed although it was a short walk away for us. If we ever return to York this is where we will be staying, forgot to say it is also very quiet even though it is by a busy road we couldn't here traffic so a good nights sleep was had.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_and_Jane_York, Owner at Feversham Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thanks Christine, however we are not the Tower Guest House. I am pleased to say that much of our service is comparable to the Tower but we do not provide a shuttle service as we are only a 12 minute walk to the centre. I think you can remove your review and re-post it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1 km away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 194 in York
891 reviews
1.1 km away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#10 of 194 in York
881 reviews
2.3 km away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#6 of 194 in York
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#11 of 194 in York
269 reviews
2.3 km away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#17 of 194 in York
366 reviews
0 km away
Tower Guest House
Tower Guest House
#5 of 194 in York
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feversham Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feversham Lodge Guest House

Address: 1 Feversham Crescent, York YO31 8HQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $114 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feversham Lodge is a typical Victorian house situated just a short walk from the historic city wall, York Minster, other tourist attractions and the city centre. There are five comfortable double, king or twin en-suite bedrooms offering exceptional value for money. Bookings can be made direct keeping our prices very competitive with no add on charges. Feversham Lodge is rated 4-star silver by visitEngland. We offer a full English or continental breakfast and speciality breakfast dishes. Free WIFI. On site parking for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Feversham Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing