We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,036)
Filter reviews
1,036 results
Traveller rating
474
327
144
59
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
474
327
144
59
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews middleton hotel lady anne lovely hotel city centre car park per night triple room main building buffet style quiet location stayed for two nights a lovely stay no lift few minutes walk tea coffee cooked breakfast family room
Filter
Updating list...
575 - 580 of 1,036 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2015

Four of us stayed here, in 3 rooms (2 singles and a twin), this week to attend a York St John graduation ceremony, and we couldn't have found a better hotel to stay in. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the train station, and has a good sized car park so is well suited for whichever way you travel to York. It took us 20 minutes to walk to the Minster, where the ceremony was being held, but probably only a 10 minute walk into the main city centre

The hotel is made up of a number of different Georgian buildings, which surround a beautiful outdoor space, and have been modernised, whilst keeping the historic exteriors.

The hotel employees are fantastic, with the customer service being probably one of the best I've ever experienced. Wherever we were they were helpful without being over the top and were more than happy to spend time talking to us as well.

We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant - both meals were very good, with excellent service. The breakfast menu is not on the website, but there's a good choice of continental and cooked breakfasts.

The rooms were a good size, in all cases, and well appointed. The two single rooms had good sized beds, the twin room had two standard single beds.

The hotel also has a gym and swimming pool, but none of us used this facility so I can't comment, other than to say they were being used.

Finally, their lounge space is very comfortable and appears to be used by all guests and some locals as well. Very good WiFi signals - the teenager with us would definitely rate that!

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2015

Hi there Alex,

Wow, thank you for such a brilliant review! It is great to hear everything, especially the customer service, was great for you!

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Middletons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 20, 2015

We came to the Middletons to Celebrate our friends wedding, but as we hadn't stayed in York for a number of years we extended our stay. I have to say that from the moment we arrived we felt very much at home.

We had booked an executive room and it was a good size, well appointed and had a very comfortable bed. The room also had plenty of power points and a great WI-FI signal.

The hotel staff were excellent at giving information about York and how to get around.Nick and Christine were warm hosts in the bar and restaurants and breakfast was spot on with the right balance between cooked and self service food. I do like hot plates and the Middletons did not disappoint.

As a wedding venue this hotel delivers something special withs it historical chapel, and spacious reception rooms.

Date of stay: November 2015
Thank douglasm307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2015

Hello Douglas,

Thank you very much from everyone at Middletons for the superb review! Come back soon :)

Best wishes,
Middletons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 16, 2015

Well situated near centre of York with parking. Arrived about noon but were unable to check in until after 3:00. Friendly and helpful staff. Pleasant property made up of several old buildings which were well and sympathetically modernised. Large glassed area and gardens between the buildings. We were in room 52 which had views through to the river, was large and comfortable. Food was good with plenty choice.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ammr1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2015

Hello,

Thanks for the great review!

Best wishes,
Middletons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 15, 2015

My daughter and I have just returned from a great weekend at this hotel. The staff are great and in particular, I would like to commend the young lady on reception on Friday night who checked us in who remained pleasant and helpful throughout despite being extremely busy as she was also booking in various people who had come for a wedding on the following day and also a lady called Anna who has served us breakfast on both mornings. She was pleasant and very smiley on all occasions and genuinely seeme3d sorry that we were leaving today. Also a lady called Steph who I have been e mailing has also been very helpful. All in all , An excellent weekend despite the weather and well done to all concerned.

Room tip: We had room 36 at the top of the building and found it to be very quiet
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2015

Hi Linda,

Thank you so much for the fantastic review, I am thrilled our staff exceeded expectations!

We hope you'll be back soon!

Kind regards,
Middletons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2015

This is a lovely hotel, very comfortable, clean, friendly staff.Good resturant ,food is lovely, location is excellent near all the sites you want to see. In easy walking distance. We will definitely go back.

Room tip: We had the deluxe double, very nice.
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2015

Hi Angela,

Thanks for the superb review! We hope you'll be back in the not too distant future!

Best wishes,
Middletons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews