We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (831)
Filter reviews
831 results
Traveller rating
392
320
76
28
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
392
320
76
28
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews caledonian travel a family run hotel city centre on arrival a small car park bar prices no lift friendly hotel single room railway station would recommend this hotel to anyone top floor full english poached eggs tea and coffee short stay nice breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 831 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2016

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Wheatlands Lodge. The location is really good - 10 min walk from train station and close to the bottom of Micklegate. There are amenities close by, including supermarkets, restaurants and a lovely little cinema.
Check in was really quick. We arrived a little before 2pm but our room was ready. The room was very spacious, clean and warm. We stayed B&B and breakfast was lovely. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 12, 2016

Clean hotel, lovely staff, only issue I had was parking as the car park was full due to builders and workmen taking up room. Had to walk and find a street to park on,
Lovely location and inside was just as lovely,

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcellaeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 7, 2016

As a frequent visitor to York and the good reviews of this hotel I was looking forward to it. Staff are excellent, food can't be faulted and is exceptionally good.

Unfortunately rooms are dirty with crumbs on the floor and someones hair still in the bath

Room tip: room 45 for best wifi
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1471joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2016 via mobile

We have now stayed twice at the Wheatlands Lodge and will definitely return.
If you're looking for a clean, friendly, budget hotel in the centre of York then this is the place for you.
Yes, it could do with a touch of paint here and there and the 'laurel and hardy' figurines/ memorabilia may not be to everyone's taste, but the friendliness and efficiency of the staff make up for that.
On both occasions, the majority of the guests were 'mature', so if you want loud and lively, you'll be disappointed.
The cooked breakfast was good, with plenty of choice and overall the Wheatlands is definitely value for money.
The only gripe from one of our party was the small car park at the back of the hotel, which fills up very quickly and is first come first served basis.

Will we return? Of course.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2016 via mobile

Comfortable and clean. The staff where very friendly. The provided Breakfast was tasty to. The location is within 15Min walk from the old town. Very easy walk from the train station as well. The small pub was nice to drop down for a pint.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews