We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Churchill Hotel
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
sheffield
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We had a voucher through Living Social for one night's stay. Great location, lovely decor, staff very friendly - would stay again and recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    803
    537
    268
    111
    64
See reviews for
219
1,188
26
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Had a too short one night stay here, fantastic surroundings,newly refurbished in tasteful modern style. Staff very friendly. Had the luxury room- number 10 downing suite, very comfortable. Only small quibble- no sign of fluffy robes or chocolates! Breakfast was varied and tasty.

Room Tip: go luxury if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sazza60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

If you fancy a bit of luxury try the Prince of Wales suite. You can get a good deal if you book between a Sunday and Thursday. Beautiful room, big copper tin bath or walk in shower. Two tv's, original furnishings and nicely decorated. Refurbished since we stayed here 5 years ago. Try the champagne breakfast served in your room. Plenty of parking and only 5 minutes into town. We'll be back again the next time we have a special occasion.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homerNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Double room smart but tight. Reception very helpful. Dining room and food excellent. Bar staff often had to double for other duties, so bar not continuously manned, but that said, when they were free to attend to us they were perfect.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anstruther_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilandlucy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We had a small wedding at The Churchill Hotel last weekend and we had a brilliant time.
The Churchill Hotel caught our eye 3 years ago and we stayed for a weekend in January, so when it came to planning a wedding it was always on our wish list and we are really pleased we had our reception here. The hotel really went above and beyond for us.
The hotel is really elegant and beautiful, it was the perfect back drop for our intimate wedding.
I stayed in a twin room the night before the wedding with my Maid of Honour - the room was really comfortable and big. The bed was also really comfortable - important for beauty sleep the night before.
On the 2nd night I stayed with my husband in the Jenny Suite, which the hotel kindly upgraded us too, the hotel also let us transfer room the twin to the Jenny Suite in the morning (so me and my Maid of Honour) could get ready - again, very kind of them.
The Jenny room was another really comfortable room, the bed was a beautiful 4 poster bed (which provided a great nights sleep).
The breakfast is brilliant, I highly recommend the Eggs Benedict.
The hotel set up the function room for us which was really nice, meaning I was able to nervously get ready without stressing over setting things up.
The food was amazing (it had impressed us 3 years ago and it didn't disappoint this time), I believe they have won a few AA Rosetta awards and you can tell why. Everyone commented on how good the food was and we had several very picky people in the group.
We highly recommend the hotel - for both weddings and visits to York (it is perfectly located for the centre of York).
The Churchill Hotel really went that extra mile for us (dealing with the complicated dining arrangements with ease), making our day extra special and we are very grateful - we are looking forward to celebrating anniversaries at The Churchill Hotel.
I would like to extend particular thanks to Dave and Rachel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilandlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We booked a superior room for 1 night which was comfortable and clean. Good value for money and 5 minute walk to York minster.
The young girl on reception was very friendly and helpful she even reconised us in the town and said hello even though she had only seen us for booking in.
The bar was well stocked and not overpriced.
The bookcase was very impressive.
Breakfast was very good.
Would use this hotel again when we visit York.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterNightmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Just returned from a three night dinner, bed and breakfast stay at this lovely hotel. We always stay at the Churchill for any special occasion and once again we were not disappointed. The staff are lovely and the food superb. The evening meals are a joy to behold and the attention to detail second to none. The hotel is centrally situated only 5 to 10 minutes from the Minster - would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying in York.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 km away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#15 of 46 in York
1,540 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,200 reviews
0.5 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#26 of 46 in York
1,167 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
1.2 km away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#24 of 46 in York
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Property: The Churchill Hotel
Address: 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
#11 Family Hotel in York
#11 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Churchill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This late Georgian mansion stands on its own grounds and has the appearance of a country house hotel, yet is just a short walk from York Minster and all major city attractions. The Churchill has just been entirely refurbished in a style that blends the building's history with contemporary insertions. One of York's leading luxury hotels, the hotel is a unique establishment offering stylish bedrooms and suites plus the renowned, 2 AA Rosette awarded, fine dining restaurant and a relaxed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing