We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,526)
Filter reviews
2,526 results
Traveller rating
1,181
773
351
139
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,181
773
351
139
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prince of wales suite red letter cigar bunker bridal suite car park lovely hotel luxury room short walk city centre eggs benedict four poster bed york minster free parking on site parking leave the car family room walk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
1,158 - 1,163 of 2,526 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2016

Stayed a few years ago for my wife's birthday on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal. Ideal location for visiting York just outside the city walls, free parking a bonus.

The food in the restaurant and ambiance was first class. Only markdown was that the rooms had been updated and there was a distinct smell of paint in the room

Room tip: Free parking
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MichaelF9004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

Love the atmosphere here! Just checked in last night. It's friendly, convenient to town centre and the decor is fab. Had bar food tonight which was great (£10 for a steak sandwich with home cut chips!, yum). Here all week. I'll keep you posted.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank LizR1336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

We have had such an amazing time at this lovely hotel. We arrived for our honeymoon on Saturday and were greeted by the wonderful helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Our room was in the basement and was decorated lovely throughout. We stayed in the hotel for both evening meals and Chef and the whole team are amazing!! It is situated so close to the town centre that you can walk into there with no issues. Again we do want to thank everyone that made our stay 1 in a million and we hope to see you all soon!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pippa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one evening after attending York Races. The hotel is in an excellent location, 10 minute walk into Yorks town center. York Racecourse is also within walking distance of roughly 30 minutes, however there is also plenty of shuttlebus' available from York train station if attending the races during your stay.

The hotel is beautifully decorated, the rooms lovely and modern and staff super friendly. We did not eat here however the restaurant and bar areas looked very impressive.

I would highly recommend for those looking for a great central location and a beautiful hotel X

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RBowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

We were lucky enough to stay in one of the suites when visited York recently. The
Admiralty suite at The Churchill is on the first floor up an amazing staircase with all the wow factors of a beautiful vintage property.

The suite was a good size, well decorated (although some of the 'shabby chic' furniture just looked tatty to us). There was a gorgeous roll top bath in the room, and a fabulous separate shower room with a relaxing shower you won't want to get out of.

The room had everything you could ask for, but also some things you wouldn't.

The downsides are that you can hear your neighbours through the wall. We woke to the lovely tones of our gentleman neighbours best shower singing voice and then continued to hear the bathroom expel air and other water heater noises one would expect from an ensuite... Just normally your own!
The doors are heavy, so you can hear people coming and going very easily (even if they are trying to be quiet). We only had one neighbouring room on our side of the first floor but we could hear doors banging through the night throughout the bedrooms upstairs.

Some of the furniture is going for the shabby chic look, but we felt it was a little tatty to be honest, and scuffs and marks on the walls and bath are a little disappointing.

It may seem that we are being harsh or picky, but at around £180 per night this room didn't quite live up to its price tag or live up to the expectations one has when opting for a suite....you just expect the little things to be right. Or we do, maybe we're just picky.

Not a bad hotel at all, but just not quite what we'd expected for the pennies.
We'd return again, just with more realistic expectations, and hopefully with a neighbour with a better singing voice!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ECHP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews