We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (799)
Filter reviews
799 results
Traveller rating
722
68
6
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
722
68
6
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews st denys communal fridge fresh milk reading glasses organic toiletries filtered water grand room small hotel library room boutique hotel little touches nespresso machine lovely toiletries biscuits quality toiletries breakfast room is car park
Filter
Updating list...
453 - 458 of 799 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2016

We love this hotel. The staff are superb, charming and helpful. We were escorted to the hotel by our family who had shown us the way. The family includes small children and despite this hotel being very clear that it is not a suitable hotel for overnight stays for young children, they were made them very welcome on their visit and refreshments offered to all. There are so many little touches that make this decently priced hotel outstanding. Fresh milk and chilled water available when required from the fridge on the landing. No false notes about not washing the towels to save the environment! Delicious breakfast. We shall return!

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Glebebears81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2016 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel and were quickly greeted by Ellie who was ever so nice! So polite and couldn't help us enough! She checked us in, gave us a mapp of local places and any advice we needed and showed us to our room offering to help with any bags! We were impressed with the fridge at the top of the stairs with water, Milk and WINE! In for our use what a great idea! We were happy with our room as it was very unique and everything was different which we liked, plus the bathroom was huge! The best part of the room was probably the bed which was amazingly comfortable oh and the yummy buscuits we loved those! This hotel is in prime location for everything we literally parked up for two nights and could walk everywhere town, restaurants shops etc everything is so close it was great, there's nothing better than going for a Mea and drinks and been able to walk back 5 minutes round the corner!! Every night we were greeted by Ellie who's showed a real interest in our day/night which was so welcoming! Couldn't complain about anything and we will definitely be returning and wouldn't need to search for a new hotel as this is perfect. Thank you for such a homely stay!

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jordanclarke95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at St Deny's Hotel for a weekend break in York and were really impressed. The staff were very friendly and attentive without being at all overbearing. Parking is included and conveniently placed. The room itself was just gorgeous (large but really cosy, beautifully decorated and had a quirky vintage feel) and very well equipped with a much larger bathroom than you would usually expect to see in a city centre hotel. Breakfast was lovely and it was nice to be able to choose from several 'lighter' cooked options as well as a Full English. The location is ideal for exploring all the sightseeing attractions that York has to offer and there are plenty of great pubs and places to eat nearby. The only negative point (and it really is a minor issue) was that we were woken up at 7.30am each morning by a Delivery man who was very chatty and had a loud voice (we couldn't hear the hotel staff at all, just this one voice but it was like he was in the room with us!) which we didn't mind too much as we're not generally late risers but I can imagine that some people might find it a bit of an irritation so might want to avoid booking a Ground floor room.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2016 via mobile

we stayed here for two nights. this hotel is incredible. The attention to detail is off the charts. For example, the bubble bath, the soaps, the mini espresso machine in the room, the teapot, tea mugs, and everything for tea and the basket of goodies, to include cookies, the refrigerator upstairs with Brita water to fill your personal water bottles as well as mini jugs of milk to go with the cookies in your room, the heated towel racks (which might be a British thing but rarely found in US hotels), the selection of breakfast items, the lounge downstairs with fire logs, if needed, the staff, which answered each and every question we had (and we had many), the bed, which was comfy and warm on cold, rainy, York nights. We had excellent service would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone. Thank you St Denys hotel staff. you guys are awesome!

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank sandiegoheidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2016 via mobile

We decided to have our honeymoon in York as it is a city full of historical sites. We booked into St Denys as it was a bit 'posh' for us, at £149 a night this was a lot of money for us. My goodness it was worth it. Everyone was so friendly, the selection of tea/coffee was fab, there was filtered water in a communal fridge and wine coolers. Attention to detail was very good. The shower was amazing and breakfast was good quality. The only problem was that the room was so hot! We had the window wide open and it was boiling. On the plus side, very close to the city centre and quiet room. I rate this as excellent as I feel this hotel was worth the money and perfect for a romantic break :)

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mannequin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews