We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southlands Guest House
Nearby Hotels
B+B York(York)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$139
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$264
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel(Fulford)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Inn by Radisson York(York)(Great Value!)
US$169
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$83/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$125
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (528)
Filter reviews
528 results
Traveller rating
502
25
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
502
25
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrowntree parkperfect hostsfresh fruitbiscuitscity centreminster roomhome baked breadbishopthorpe roadsmall fridgequiet areawonderful guesthouseon arrivalfull englishpreservescooked breakfastlittle toucheswonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 528 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2015 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed a couple of nights at Southlands. Nicole and Ron are perfect hosts, so nice, friendly and helpful with excellent recommendations about where to eat out. We were made to feel so welcome on our arrival and were offered a lovely cafetiere of coffee once we'd settled in. Our room was spotless, as was our en suite bathroom. There was a small fridge in our room which was very handy. Fresh milk provided as well, a lovely touch which is so often overlooked in top hotels! Breakfast was super, with excellent quality cooked food, home made jams and marmalade, and fresh fruit and juices all available. Gluten free food was also provided as requested. Free parking, and only 10-15 minutes walk away from the city centre. A perfect place to stay in York.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Madkopite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2015 via mobile

This B&B makes you feel like you are at home. With only four rooms, it is easy for the owners, Nicole and Ron, to talk with the guests. Our room was clean and spacious and came with some water and milk in the fridge as well as cookies and chocolates. The owners were so accommodating and gave us wonderful recommendations on where to eat and what to do. Definitely would stay here again if I ever had the chance.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Morgan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2015

From the initial phone call to make our booking we were impressed. Ron and Nicole were friendly, helpful and welcoming and we loved all the small touches from fresh milk in the room to delicious home made jams at breakfast. The room was spotless and provided everything we needed for our stay, we would highly recommend.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CATBSG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2015

Very friendly and accommodating couple who run this bed and breakfast only a short walk from the centre. Nice little touches in the room made our stay very pleasant would recommend staying here, and would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank pauline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 17, 2015

This is a lovely guesthouse with high standards of accommodation and breakfast. The room, Gates, was nicely furnished with a very comfy bed and lovely bed linen and curtains. The room also had a small fridge with bottled water and fresh milk. Not only that, but there were some welcoming chocolates and attractive-looking biscuits in a jar. Breakfast was excellent with a terrific fresh fruit salad with all sorts of fruits in it. We were offered toast from three different types of bread and settled for the Rustic which was very good.

Ron and Nicole are friendly welcoming hosts who clearly want you to have a good visit to York and their B&B reflects their attitude.

The room rate also includes a parking space outside the house which in York is important as parking can be difficult. The centre of town is about 10 - 15 minutes walk away and there are some lovely shops and restaurants close by in Bishopsthorpe Road.

All in all it was a lovely stay and Southlands really added to our trip to York.

BTW, York is popular with cyclists who appear from any angle: as the roads are narrow and crowded with cars, drivers need to keep a good look out.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Botilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews