We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location with parking and walking distance...”

Review of Riverside House

Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Dining Room Double Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Lounge
Dining Room
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Single Bedroom
Riverside Garden
Garden View over the River Foss Lock and Castle Walls
Cliffords Tower
Lendal Bridge
York Railway Museum
York Minster
York Racecourse
The Shambles
St Helens Square
Stonegate
St Williams College
Merchant Adventurers Hall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Catherine...
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location with parking and walking distance to York's attractions.”
Reviewed April 11, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We were a family of six (including two children) and we found we had enough room in the house. The beds were very comfy and the standard of accommodation was very good. A few small niggles were the washing machine was VERY loud, so we turned it on when we were heading out for the day. The downstairs bedroom was freezing even if the rest of the house was toasty hot. There were no oven gloves which surely is a basic necessity! A big funfair was blasting music on our first night and was very worried that this may be the worst choice of accommodation ever! Luckily it stopped at 9pm and the funfair packed away and left on the Sunday. Communication with the booking and paying for the rental was pretty poor and actually the worst I have encountered (we book rentals quite regularly). That all aside I would recommend it for the sheer easiness of having parking and being close to the city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Parking outside, comfy beds.
Liked least: Lack of communication when booking/paying.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IzzyV24
Roslin, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed October 20, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is a lovely property in a quiet location, great views and easy walking distance to the city or riverside walks. We all felt at home here as soon as we arrived. The bedrooms are a good size & the beds were comfortable & clean. The kitchen is very well equipped and the sitting & dining rooms have plenty of seats for everyone. The outside space overlooking the river would be really lovely in the summer but it was a bit too cold in October to sit out. The compromise with this property is there's only one bathroom but with a rota in place for showering we managed just fine. The family range from 80 years old down to 14 and everyone was happy with the property. Our teenagers had their own space with good wifi which always keeps them smiling. We've been to York lots of times before and would definitely stay at this property again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A really comfortable home in a great location.
Liked least: No downsides
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth_andr...
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

I found this property by chance when I was looking to book somewhere for a group of us who were having a weekend away for a birthday and I'm glad I did. When we were going the cost of here worked out cheaper than one of the travelodges and was far more convenient than those.

The property is really close to town (closer than it looked on the map) and was less than a 10 minute walk into the city centre. The property owner had also left sugar, tea and coffee for us which was a pleasant surprise. The free wifi is also a nice plus with the property. This property was easily big enough for the 6 of us and we all enjoyed staying in the property. The property manager was also very quick in all of his replies whenever I emailed him.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and condition of the property
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulesRugb...
Rugby
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location and comfortable”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We booked this house for a week in York. We have three teenagers and a younger child with us, and find the location perfect for a city break. The house is in a quiet residential area with parking for one car, and considering its Race week, the rate was excellent. We had plenty of clean fluffy towels, bed linen and a well equipped kitchen. The bedrooms have plenty of storage space and the house is very clean and well furnished. The garden area overlooks the river and is great to sit out in at night. The only small quibbles would be the boiling hot tap water which can catch you unawares, the incredibly 'firm' double bed, and the fact that there is only one loo, in the bathroom, so bath time needs a little negotiation. These are quibbles though as i say and this is an excellent place to stay in York, at a very reasonable price. The booking itself was trouble free and the owner agreeable and helpful by email throughout. Recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 30, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout and general homeliness of the property
Liked least: Only one bathroom for 5 women!
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing