We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$111
US$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The York Priory(York)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$108
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$186
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$175/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$137
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
B+B York(York)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park Inn by Radisson York(York)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$117
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$107
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (457)
Filter reviews
457 results
Traveller rating
334
65
30
19
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
65
30
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong galleryyork minstertreasurer's houseclarins toiletriesedwards roomsteeped in historyfurnished with antiqueswonderful buildingwalled gardenold city wallseggs benedictwedding venuepublic areasmodern bathroomamazing locationhistoric citydouble shower
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 457 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2018

Very friendly and welcoming reception. The breakfast was excellent and the best gluten free bread I've ever had. The location was great where the wall is in back yard but no access. It was close to everything inside the city walls. The bartender suggested places to eat and we had an excellent time. No elevator but it wasn't a problem for my husband and I climbing stairs. Next time we plan on staying longer. York is a quant town with very friendly people.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ButtercupKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 11, 2018

We stayed in this beautiful hotel for two weeks. We had everything for comfortable vacation there. My wife and me felt like a king and queen in this castle! We rode on horse,played golf,ate tasty food and we swam in the river in moonlight. In hotel i hoped to see the ghosts which were past inhabitants that castle but i found only one interesting room with very big red lily. Hotel staff said me that red lily belonged to old English family of knights . I went to the manager to found out about that flower and he told me that he was descendant noble family and this flower was his family herb. I was shocked!!! Come to this hotel ! I recommend to everyone!

Room Tip: best place in the word
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Евгений О
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, Owner at Grays Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2018

What a wonderful review, but I think you may have stayed somewhere else! We're a little more modest than a castle, having only eleven rooms and sadly no horses or golf course. Your stay sounds fabulous though, so we'd love to know where it was!

We hope to welcome you to Grays Court one day.

Best wishes,
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2018 via mobile

Fantastic location in the centre of York very close to the Cathedral and the City walls. Beautiful garden. Building of great historical interest. Onsite parking. Excellent dinner. Lovely bedroom. Friendly and helpful staff. Would not hesitate to return

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank davidSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2018

Our stay began with the warm and generous welcome by the owner, which we realize, is not always the case, of course, but any staff member we have met lives up to high bar she seems to set. The building is an absolute gem and a cornucopia of historic and architectural flourishes. The grand hall upstairs lets you feel for a moment as if you're in a scene from Wolf Hall. The rooms are all different. Ours had a view of the Minster, others we've seen face the lovely English garden. Breakfast is a delight, and should you come back late from a strenuous trip, there might just be a cup of tea waiting for you. In short: Perfect hospitality away from home!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Nemaless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2018

Grays Court is a very good city centre boutique hotel in a stunning location. It has a fascinating history, so is a must for history buffs. The rooms and public spaces are well appointed, spotless and very comfortable and all the staff outstanding, with seemingly nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent, and one evening we also had a very good dinner in the hotel restaurant. The gardens look stunning, though sadly they were closed when we were there because there had been so much rain. Although we did not use it the hotel does have car parking which can be pre-booked.

There are some minor niggles - the strength of tea seemed to be more or less random, and one morning was so strong that we had to send it back - surely it must be possible to establish a standard that a teapot needs x teaspoons to make a good pot? And milk is served in ridiculously small jugs, which is irritating and makes more work for the staff. And finally in our room - Edwards - the blinds did not effectively keep out the morning light from dawn. I guess the designer never checked.

We did have one complaint. Throughout the public spaces there is continual music playing, from breakfast onwards - and it is not even the same music in every space. There are two problems with this - firstly, whatever music is chosen is bound to be against someone's taste (one morning at breakfast every single person in the room disliked the music, so it was switched off). But more than that - this is a wonderful, atmospheric building of which the owners are obviously and justifiably proud. Why not leave it to speak the guests?

A final point - our room (Edwards) was spacious, airy and comfortable and we would happily stay in it again. However the bathroom is up a steep, narrow staircase which we were fine with, but which would be almost impossible for anyone with a mobility impairment. We do think that should be made clearer on the website.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chimp_Watcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews