We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated exterior” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn York
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in York
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dated exterior”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

The size of the sleeping area of the room was more than adequate, 3 of us had plenty of room. however the bathroom was very small, even a child using it struggled! The rooms do need updating but it was clean and we had a comfortable nights sleep. In comparison the bar and dining area had been refurbished and had a much more modern feel. The restaurant staff were very attentive during our evening meal and breakfast and the quality of food was good at both meals. The breakfast was replenished frequently (often a problem at some of the other Holiday Inns). We too had a problem with our food bill which didn't add up at all even the staff` couldn't work it out but it was resolved in the end. Position wise great for the races, we used the local park and ride service to get into York which was only a short journey so was ideal. Despite rooms needing a refurb I think this hotel still offers good value compared to other York hotels I've stayed in especially if you get one of the HB packages.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    493
    304
    97
    37
See reviews for
221
535
22
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hyde cheshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

stayed here on the 4th may 2012 for one night,on arriving hotel outwardly looks very dated,lot's of parking,though.we found our room to be large and comfortable,with a nice flat screen tv, couch and armchair,bath needs a bit of attention plug surround tarnished,and bath chpped but good shower wth plenty of hot water room was nice and clean.we found the reception staff very helpful and smiling,breakfast,mm not that impressed with the english breakfast,although there was also plenty of fruit if you did'nt fancy it.drink was slightly dear at £4 a pint, so only had one.thank you for the scratch card you gave us to win various things including a holiday,but was out of date last day was 1st may.plenty of buses into the city and not very far.brian and vanda.hyde cheshire.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 213 at the back overlooking the carpark area,nice and quiet,on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bnt1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

The room was not ready when we checked in, in spite of the fact that it should have been ready at 14.00. Also there was an issue with a dinner bill. We wanted a break up and none of the staff could figure out the break up till the next day evening. One morning at breakfast, we waited for almost 20 mins for tea. I would definitely not go back there. The staff seem to be too busy to take care of guests at dinner or breakfast properly.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet enough. No problems there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank umapednekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
322 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Built in the 1960s and with all bedrooms the same size, thereby lies the problem. It was built at a time when the traveller was not quite as sophisticated and so a small bedroom was acceptable.
That is what you will get here. Small bedroom, tiny bathroom and univiting bar/restaurant area and in my view for the price, you could do much better. That said, the staff were friendly, the breakfast ok and the Wallace Arnold brigade seemed happy enough.
One final point it must have been a jolly good salesman who sold them the TVs in this place - they are enormous and given the small bedrooms, look ridiculous.

Room Tip: You cannot choose a good room as they are all the same size - the TV is so big it hardly fits in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XRXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I stayed at this hotel Friday 27th to 30th April 2012. This was part of a tour group which I had driven to as a coach driver. The hotel is on the approach road to York about 2 miles outside the city, it was in a quiet area but close to a really good pub church and newsagents.
The hotel room was good I was on the second floor it had a a closed wardrobe and drawers, was not disturbed at night. Because I was part of a prepaid group the menu was not the same as the other guests but could not complain as the food was excellent. The breakfast was great.
The only criticism is the cost of the WIFI , 5 pounds for an hour, or 16 pounds for 24 hours. You would think that a hotel chain this large would give its guests free internet.
The staff were excellent to our group throughout the stay, thanks to the front desk girls.
I would go back with my family and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank escort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Walked in and got a discounted double room. Very good sized room with all the necessary amenities. The breakfast was very good value with a wide selection of hot and cold dishes. The staff were extremely helpful both at check in and when we made enquiries of what to see and do.
It was very quite of a night and close to the city . Well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkandGaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed in the Holiday Inn for a girly break when visiting York (which is beautiful). The hotel is a good 40 minute walk out of the city but this didnt bother us at all. We did not breakfast in the hotel as it seemed expensive and we had to walk past a wetherspoons to get into York which serves a perfectly adequat breakfast for a third of the cost. The hotel itself was spotless and the staff were very friendly and helpful. There was a lovely pub across the road where the food was excellent and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandymoPortsmouthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
7.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express York
1.8 km away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#37 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
6.3 km away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.3 km away
York Marriott Hotel
2.2 km away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn York

Property: Holiday Inn York
Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn York 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn York Hotel enjoys a prime location overlooking York Race course and is just 1.5 miles from the Historic City Centre of York, which boasts the York Minster, Shopping at The Shambles, University of York and the National Railway Museum. The Hotel is 1.5 miles from York Station and is easily accessible by road from the A64 and M1.Whether you're visiting York for a meeting, leisure break, sight seeing or simply to sample the great shopping delights that the city has to offer, the Holiday Inn York Hotel offers comfortable, modern, accommodation, fully air-conditioned throughout, suitable for both the business and leisure traveller.The Holiday Inn York is well equipped for hosting business meetings, weddings and social gatherings with seven meeting rooms that can accommodate 2 to 100 guests.The facilities and services at the hotel include our Family Friendly Restaurant; with 24 hr room service wireless internet access, and ample free car parking.Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.Kids Stay and Eat Free.* Also a fabulous location for a day at York Races ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn York Hotel York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing