We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Park Inn by Radisson York(York)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$115
US$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$108
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$100
US$83
Hampton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$107
US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$137
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$252
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

B+B York(York)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$111
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The York Priory(York)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,757)
Filter reviews
1,758 results
Traveller rating
1,034
433
189
69
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,034
433
189
69
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstuck boxgarden roombeautiful hoteltrain stationchapter houseelemis toiletriesjunior suiteleisure facilitiesbirthday treatmain buildingpublic areaslounge areano air conlovely touchcar parkhotel restaurantmy mum
Filter
Updating list...
291 - 296 of 1,758 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2017

We arrived early to the hotel but the reception staff were helpful and we were able to book in even though the room wasn't ready which made it easier later in the day to just get in, we were on the lower ground floor which unless you used the lift was difficult to find with the stairs, it seemed like the fire escape, our room (no. 1) was a lovely size with a huge bed, I even checked with reception that they had us in the right room for the price we paid but did, had breakfast both mornings we were there which was buffet style and nice but not very warm by the time we started eating it. Parking was ok, only just managed a space each time we returned, the Garden Room was a lovely space to have a cup of tea too.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TracyB328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyHarrisonGM, General Manager at The Principal York, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2017

Dear TracyB328
Thank you for sharing your comments with the online community.
It is great that we could accommodate your last minute visit and you enjoyed our Garden Room area offering views towards York Minster.
We hope we can welcome you again in the near future.
Warm regards
THarrison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 11, 2017

Have stayed at the hotel a number of times and enjoyed it every time. Lovely friendly staff (especially the guys in the Chapterhouse Bar - what personalities they have), breakfast is nice and our room(s) have been perfect (even the one where we had to walk up a short light of steps to the top floor). Already booked to come back in February when we are eating at the new The Ivy in York.

Room Tip: first or second floor is the best
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajeegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyHarrisonGM, General Manager at The Principal York, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2017

Dear ajeegan
Thank you for choosing the Principal York.
Your review is fantastic to read and will be shared with the team.
We look forward to seeing you again in February.
Warm regards
THarrison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 10, 2017

Concierge at this hotel were excellent. Sadly we were very disappointed with the service in the restaurant and bar . The restaurant were under pressure so we were told of a long wait. We understood that but the restaurant was not full. The food was cold and the service was very slow. Breakfast was cold and the bacon looked as if it had been boiled. We were there for our daughters wedding which was not held there but the hotel was near the event . The bedroom was very small and cold. Sadly I would not give this hotel 5 stars

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank janewarmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyHarrisonGM, General Manager at The Principal York, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2017

Dear janewarmstrong
Thank you for your comments regarding our concierge team which I will share with them and for providing your review of your stay.
Please accept my apologies that your stay did not meet your expectations due to the shorfalls in service you experienced in our food & beverage areas. Please let me assure you that these are not our expected standards and I will review your feedback with the team.
I am sorry that you did not speak with our Guest Services team at the time who would have made every effort to resolve any dissatisfaction.
I sincerely hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Warm regards
THarrison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 10, 2017 via mobile

We stayed last week in a junior suite. The hotel was stunning room perfect and the staff very helpful. We were very pleased. However breakfast was really disappointing. Minimal selection and buffet style of over cooked food. Not what I would expect from a hotel of This caliber

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rdachtler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyHarrisonGM, General Manager at The Principal York, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2017

Dear rdachtler
We value your feedback and are pleased that your suite was to your liking.
Please accept my apologies that your stay was disappointing in view of the breakfast service. We strive to improve in all areas with each and every stay and are continually trying new ways of improving our breakfast service for our guests.
I hope this will not deter you from visiting us again.
Warm regards
THarrison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 8, 2017 via mobile

Very friendly staff, good food and very clean and comfortable bedrooms. Bars can get very busy and not a huge choice of beer but for such a large hotel it is very clean and extremely well run. Right next door to station and close to town centre. York is a wonderful city

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank 49andrewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyHarrisonGM, General Manager at The Principal York, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2017

Dear 49andrewa
Thank you for your review.
Great to read you enjoyed York and the Principal and please visit again soon.
Warm regards
THarrison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews