We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight in York ”
Review of The Principal York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Principal York
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed overnight trip for a Christmas shopping trip in York. Checked in late and needed to go straight out for food. The staff were efficient and took out luggage straight to our room allowing us to head off. On getting back late we went to our room on the lower ground floor. The room was decent but very narrow - no issue and the free tuck box was a nice touch.

Now I come to why this hotel got 3 not 5 stars...... in short we were woken at 8am by what we presume were staff (there was a staff only sign on the door next to our room) getting a conference ready and making loads of noise going up and down the corridor. There was also banging every so often and a bit of noise throughout the night. It didn't ruin the stay and at least the main noise wasn't super early but expected more especially when a guest has do not disturb on their door. Would have mentioned this on check out but wasn't asked how the stay was and wasn't that big a deal to bring up specifically.

Everything else about the hotel was very nice including the little garden at the front and decor / ambience inside.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nee198374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyHarrisonGM, General Manager at The Principal York, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear nee198374
We value all feedback and thank you for your review.
I am very sorry that you were disturbed by noise from our team which is not acceptable and I will speak with the teams regarding our policy of keeping noise to a minimum for the comfort of our guests.
You should have been asked about your stay and I will speak with the Front of House Manager to ensure the team are finding out about guest stays as this is the only way we can improve as we continue to do so on a daily basis.
I sincerely hope that this will not deter you from returning and experiencing an alternative room.
Warm regards
THarrison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 1,524 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2017

We arrived early to the hotel but the reception staff were helpful and we were able to book in even though the room wasn't ready which made it easier later in the day to just get in, we were on the lower ground floor which unless you used the lift was difficult to find with the stairs, it seemed like the fire escape, our room (no. 1) was a lovely size with a huge bed, I even checked with reception that they had us in the right room for the price we paid but did, had breakfast both mornings we were there which was buffet style and nice but not very warm by the time we started eating it. Parking was ok, only just managed a space each time we returned, the Garden Room was a lovely space to have a cup of tea too.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TracyB328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyHarrisonGM, General Manager at The Principal York, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear TracyB328
Thank you for sharing your comments with the online community.
It is great that we could accommodate your last minute visit and you enjoyed our Garden Room area offering views towards York Minster.
We hope we can welcome you again in the near future.
Warm regards
THarrison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

Have stayed at the hotel a number of times and enjoyed it every time. Lovely friendly staff (especially the guys in the Chapterhouse Bar - what personalities they have), breakfast is nice and our room(s) have been perfect (even the one where we had to walk up a short light of steps to the top floor). Already booked to come back in February when we are eating at the new The Ivy in York.

Room Tip: first or second floor is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajeegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyHarrisonGM, General Manager at The Principal York, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear ajeegan
Thank you for choosing the Principal York.
Your review is fantastic to read and will be shared with the team.
We look forward to seeing you again in February.
Warm regards
THarrison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

Concierge at this hotel were excellent. Sadly we were very disappointed with the service in the restaurant and bar . The restaurant were under pressure so we were told of a long wait. We understood that but the restaurant was not full. The food was cold and the service was very slow. Breakfast was cold and the bacon looked as if it had been boiled. We were there for our daughters wedding which was not held there but the hotel was near the event . The bedroom was very small and cold. Sadly I would not give this hotel 5 stars

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank janewarmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyHarrisonGM, General Manager at The Principal York, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear janewarmstrong
Thank you for your comments regarding our concierge team which I will share with them and for providing your review of your stay.
Please accept my apologies that your stay did not meet your expectations due to the shorfalls in service you experienced in our food & beverage areas. Please let me assure you that these are not our expected standards and I will review your feedback with the team.
I am sorry that you did not speak with our Guest Services team at the time who would have made every effort to resolve any dissatisfaction.
I sincerely hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Warm regards
THarrison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed last week in a junior suite. The hotel was stunning room perfect and the staff very helpful. We were very pleased. However breakfast was really disappointing. Minimal selection and buffet style of over cooked food. Not what I would expect from a hotel of This caliber

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rdachtler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyHarrisonGM, General Manager at The Principal York, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear rdachtler
We value your feedback and are pleased that your suite was to your liking.
Please accept my apologies that your stay was disappointing in view of the breakfast service. We strive to improve in all areas with each and every stay and are continually trying new ways of improving our breakfast service for our guests.
I hope this will not deter you from visiting us again.
Warm regards
THarrison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

Very friendly staff, good food and very clean and comfortable bedrooms. Bars can get very busy and not a huge choice of beer but for such a large hotel it is very clean and extremely well run. Right next door to station and close to town centre. York is a wonderful city

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank 49andrewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyHarrisonGM, General Manager at The Principal York, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear 49andrewa
Thank you for your review.
Great to read you enjoyed York and the Principal and please visit again soon.
Warm regards
THarrison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Spent a long week-end here. The hotel is beautiful. The decor is quite austere, with lots of grey. The central staircase absolutely stunning, it was a pleasure to walk down to breakfast each morning. The bathroom huge and absolutely stunning in every way. Overall we had a lovely time. However, there are some issues. Parking is not free, and it can be hard to get a spot (but the wardens are very helpful and will go out of their way to find you one). The restaurant is smallish for such a large hotel, so can be booked out for dinner. Storage space was incredibly scarce, even though the room was a generous size: no drawers, other than in the night tables. Most serious issue, for us, was the bed: the mattress was quite tough, definitely uncomfortable. We just bought a new mattress for our home after quite a bit of research: the conclusion was that hard mattresses are not good for you. It is a mistake for a hotel to make such a choice, as it can really ruin one's time: a pity.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globe4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyHarrisonGM, General Manager at The Principal York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Globe4
Great to read you had an enjoyable experience with us at the Principal. I am sorry that the mattress was not to your liking and had we been aware we could have provided a mattress topper which we have for such requests.
I sincerely hope we can welcome you again.
Warm regards
THarrison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.2 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,508 reviews
3.1 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,563 reviews
0.6 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.1 km away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Principal York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Principal York

Address: Station Road | Station Road, York YO24 1AA, England (Formerly The Royal York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: $159 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Principal York 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the beautiful historic city of York The Principal York elegantly combines carefully preserved Victorian architecture alongside more modern touches. The ground floor public spaces offer sweeping views into gardens and beyond to York Minster. Breakfast lunch and dinner is served in the Refectory Kitchen and Terrace and drinks are available from 11am till late in the Chapter House Bar and Games Room. Visit the stunning Garden Room for afternoon tea. As a premier luxury wedding venue in York the hotel and gardens provide the perfect backdrop for your wedding pictures. The Victorian Oak Room holds up 110 guests for dinner while the Events Centre can seat up to 300. The Principal York also boats a variety of meeting spaces from small rooms to the Events Centre with capacity for 410 delegates theatre style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Principal York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal York Hotel Grand Victorian
Royal York Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing