We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Foss Bank Guest House
Nearby Hotels
B+B York(York)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$89
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$270
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$122
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park Inn by Radisson York(York)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$79
Park Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel(Fulford)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveller rating
346
24
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
346
24
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmonk gatecity centrefresh fruitplace to stayoff road parkinglovely breakfaston arrivalwhen visiting yorka short minute walkbe booking againpark the carlovely guesthousecomfortable bedcooked to perfectiona great stayfree parkingleave the car
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 372 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2017

Just had a lovely 2 night stay in York.We have enjoyed our regular stay at the Foss Bank guesthouse.Kevin is very helpful and obliging a real home from home,nothing is to much trouble. The breakfast very good and sets you up for the day,looking forward to returning in 2018.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank anthony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2017

Kevin and Val were very friendly and helpful. On arrival after explaining where to park Kevin even helped carry a suitcase in much to my embarrassment.
The room contained everything we needed and Kevin brought fresh milk in a flask and then replaced it the next day. Nothing seemed too much trouble.
We both enjoyed excellent cooked breakfasts every day with fresh fruit to start.
The off street parking is a real advantage, especially when only a short walk to the centre.
You go downstairs to breakfast and I think all rooms are upstairs so it might not suit those with restricted mobility.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peteduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2017

Foss Bank Guest House is a really comfy and cosy place to stay in York.
Only 5-10 mins walk to the city centre.
The rooms where very clean, tastefully furbished and everything that was needed was available ... hairdryer, tea making set, wine glasses, opener, etc....
The bathroom was of a high standard.
Excellent breakfast .... every wish you have will be fulfilled.
The hosts were extremely helpful and very welcoming.
We will stay there again when in York.

Room Tip: room 5 was out at the back and very queit
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebeccagermany2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2017 via mobile

Myself and my partner booked this guest house on a recommendation from a friend.We arrived early at 12.00 and were created by the owner Kevin. We were able to have our room straight away and park the car to the rear of the property. Kevin was friendly and helpful and gave us lots of advise on where to eat and go.Our room was truly lovely,spacious, clean and everything that you could need it also had a lovely view of the river.the guest house was a short plesent walk into the city centre.We also enjoyed a beautiful breakfast in the morning with everything you could need.Thank you Kevin for helping to make our trip so enjoyable we will deffinatly return and reccomend you to friends.Joanne and Gary

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank noddlethetortoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2017 via mobile

Kevin was a very welcoming host, room was a good size and very nice overlooking river. Close to centre approx 10 minute walk.
Breakfast was lovely can't fault it will definitely be booking again, would recommend this guest house.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews