We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great base for a weekend in York” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hedley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hedley House Hotel
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great base for a weekend in York”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Friendly and helpful staff, nice clean rooms, good choice for breakfast. Good location - close enough to the centre but still pretty quiet. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolaGroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    803
    485
    141
    45
    19
See reviews for
231
834
35
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

My group spent one night in the "family room", which has one large bed and two singles. Except for the lack of wireless coverage (I was told the lounge was the best place to connect to the Internet), our room, breakfast, and overall experience were solidly good. The beds were a tad soft, however. The bathroom - especially the shower quality - were first rate. The hotel is a short 5-7 min walk to the town center (York Minster, etc), and car parking was free on-site.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Launcher2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Well situated hotel about 5 minutes away from the centre. Room was spacious and comfortable. Enjoyed evening meal at hotel, I can recommend the lamb shank. Dinner is good value for hotel guests compared to prices in the centre. Overall a pleasant stay for 3 days.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MWalker90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed for two nights in January, visit York every year and normally stay in the chain hotels, however after experienicng Hedley House, this will be my first choice in the future.
Wonderful helpful staff, cannot do enough for you; 5 minute stroll to city, excellent location; great food and good value, staff very attentative to your needs. Hotel well run, clean and in good condition....one very minor opportunity for improvement is the creaky floorboards.....private parking, did I mention how good the food was, my mouth is watering again.......the lamb was falling off the bone Mmmm.....tasty.
On my second day I did notice that there was a train line across from us; never heard a thing just spotted a train one day.

Overall a big thankyou to all the staff who made it a comfratble and enjoyable stay, we will be with you again soon.

Thanks Lee and Mandy

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Solomon26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Thank you for the super review. It was a pleasure looking after you. Come and stay with again soon.!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Stayed here for two nights on our first trip to york - everything was great, staff were friendly and helpful and the bed was comfortable. Room decor was fine, comfortable, functional - we had a little issue with one of the lights flickering above the bed which was promptly fixed on request. Walk in wardrobe and inexplicably massive bathroom - sweet.

Breakfast was pretty standard, there are a couple of little cafes down the road 2 min walk which could serve you something similar for a very cheap price in case you're looking at b&bs vs just a hotel room.

Also we didn't try the restaurant but it seemed expensive - during our stay we ate at rustique (currently top listed york restaurant on tripadvisor) and had a sterling 2 course meal for 11.95 (3 courses was 13.95), the restaurant at Hedley House had a deal for 17.95 which seemed a bit steep. Food in general was very cheap everywhere, given that we live in London.

All in all we had a great time in york, and enjoyed our stay at Hedley House. Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Thank you for your review. Our prices are very competitive within the area, we use fresh locally sourced produce.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

The Hedley House hotel is perfectly situated just a short 10 minute walk into the centre of York and all the attractions. It's down a very pieceful road with own private car park. Nobody overlooking your room & great view, room was very clean & spacious with all facilities, bed was most comfortable I've stayed in and rooms were lovely and warm - very welcoming after a long day sightseeing. Breakfast in the hotel was brilliant and plentyful, didn't have a evening meal there but it did smell gorgeous. Staff at the hotel were amazing, nothing was to much trouble and always greeted with a smile. Plenty of attraction leaflets and information available. I would definate recommend this hotel and will most certainly be staying there again in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Thank you for the fantastic review. We love looking after our guest's here at Hedley!!
Come and stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

It was fantastic, ideal for the city, the room and service was great. Will be booking again and recommending to others.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Thank you. See you again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.4 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
0.5 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.7 km away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
1.2 km away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#23 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House Hotel

Property: Hedley House Hotel
Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. Gym, 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking. Electric car charging station free for residents Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hedley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing