We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“We will be back!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hedley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hedley House Hotel
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“We will be back!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Three of us stayed for a girl friend reunion for two nights, sharing a triple room. Great for catching up and chatting 'til late. Excellent location - a beautiful 10 minute walk to the city centre via the museum gardens. Though beware, this is locked at night. A private car park is on site that was free and a very reasonable £5 charge after we checked out so we could shop a tad more and extend our time together.
All the staff, Sara, Sarah and Mandy were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was large and spotlessly clean with a good sized shower room - even three ladies managed to juggle adequate time in there!
The only minor gripe would be the lack of a plug by the mirror, which when various hair dryers and straightners were required, this was awkward. However, on request, an extension lead was provided so it was all sorted.
All said, location, staff, food - dinner on our first night as we chatted for so long we lost track of time, was excellent and provided on the spur of the moment as we hadn't booked - room, facilities were all spot on.
We will be back!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doobles61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you Ladies, great to hear you had a fantastic stay with us!! What would we do with out the occasional extension lead!! See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    782
    476
    136
    44
    17
See reviews for
230
804
34
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Etockton on tees
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Very clean and modern, bed really comfy would recommend

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ste W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Had a great time there, it was nice to have a B&B with loads of privacy as the place is very spacious. Great room with lots of space to relax.
The breakfast was fantastic and there was lots of it.
The centre was a short 7-8 walk so great for the sightseeing.
The best were the staff, everyone was very chirpy, friendly with lots of smiles.
would defintely stay there again....well done :)
L & T, Glasgow

Room Tip: If available, the family rooms give extra space for relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoonTheWurld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
We aim to please!! Come and stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed for 1 night in Feb and had a great stay. The main selling point for us was the hotel having its own car park which is very good as parking in York is very pricey.
The location is again excellent being no more than 10 min stroll to the Minster.

The room was very clean, spacious had a large bathroom and comfortable beds. We stayed in a family room which comprised of a double and single bed.

The breakfast was plentiful with ceral,cooked english breakfast and lots of toast. Great way to start your day. The breakfast was served till 10 on sunday. Check out was 11.

The staff were very nice and allowed us to leave our car in the car park for the day whilst we visted York even though we had checked out.

Would definately stay in this hotel again and would happily recomend to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crell1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. Come back and stay with us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Having a disability, the staff had the courtesy to put us in ground- floor room with en-suite facilities. The room itself was huge and refreshingly spacious. The bed was a super-king size and almost as comfortable as my own at home. Staff were always polite and eager to help with queries and issues. The saying goes,"Breakfast is the most important meal of the day" - Hedley House certainly recognises this and provide a full, healthy breakfast. Overall, it was a very comfortable two days and a great base to discover York for the first time. Would definitely recommend and come again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shabiraziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
We try very hard to cater for individual needs. Great to hear you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay. See you again soon we hope!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed for 2 nights this last weekend having booked through kgb deals - £99 for 2 nights with breakfast. Wasn't sure what to expect with this being out first kgb break, but it was very good value and we had a lovely weekend.

All staff were very polite, helpful and extremely efficient. Parking was free (bonus!) and we arrived before check in and were able to leave our car there. Free wifi also available.

Breakfast was very nice - a choice of juices, cereals, fruit, toast and cooked breakfast (which was grilled and very tasty). The staff at breakfast worked very hard and were very efficient. Evening meal is available, but we didn't eat in the hotel as we like to eat out.

Room (number 5) was small but clean and had everything we needed. Although, as somebody has previously commented, there was very little room at the foot of the bed, making it difficult to manoueuvre around - however, this was a minor issue. The room walls were quite thin and I could hear the trains (traintrack in front of the hotel) but they didn't run through the night, and it really wasn't too much of a problem to us.

Hotel a short walk to the centre, approx 5 minutes to the Minster. There is a Sainsbury's local nearby which is handy if you need any essentials. The indian restaurant which is on the street heading in to the centre was VERY good.

All in all, we had a very nice, enjoyable stay. I would stay at Hedley House again and would recommend, especially if you can get a deal.

Room Tip: Room 5 was on the first floor, at the front of the hotel. Although was quite small, shower cubicle o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprowenhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you for your review, the KGB deal was a fantastic offer!! Great to hear you enjoyed your time at Hedley House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The hotel and service was faultless. A delightful stay and look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieKendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Absolutely perfect guests too!!!! Thank you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.4 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.7 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.5 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1.3 km away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#12 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
3.8 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House Hotel

Property: Hedley House Hotel
Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. Gym, 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking. Electric car charging station free for residents Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Hedley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing