We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous relaxed hotel ”
Review of Hedley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hedley House
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for just one night to celebrate a birthday and visit York and was genuinely pleased. The hotel is firstly well placed to York with just a 7 to 10 minute walk. The decor throughout the hotel is classic and fits with the period of the house but has a slight modern twist. The room we had (21) was a good size and after initial concerns was lovely and warm through the night, just what you need during a winter day in York. The mod cons of the room with coffee machine, Apple Tv and the modern bathroom are great extras especially as we had been upgraded for free .

We decided to eat in their restaurant as we had voucher through Groupon and was very pleased. The menu had a small but good range ofchoice with some exciting specials . The food was well priced given how quality the look and taste was. The chips need a special mention as they were so thick and creamy and melted in the mouth. We had a breakfast in the morning and were again pleased with the quality we were given. There is a great choice if luxury cereals and fru8ts5 before the main event of the full English or specials. Again a shout out to the black pudding, simply beautiful! Also must mention considering how busy they got the staff we very welcoming , relaxed (Not flustered) and all food delivered in short time.

On departure we were advised we good book through them to price match any online offers which is good to know as stay again we happily would.

Well done on creating a stunning hotel from look to feel. We will be back soon

...

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mrdavies82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 1,605 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2017

Arrived at the hotel and greeted in a friendly manner. We were showed to our room, it was basic but it had enough storage space which was great. It felt quite cold and the lady that showed us to the room explained that they don't heat the room before you arrive as people prefer different temperatures, which was fair enough so we highered the radiators ourselves. They didn't heat up very well, the bathroom was freezing cold. We don't spend much time in the room so we just left it at that.
We went into the city which took around 5 mns to get there, quite a nice walk. After doing some sights, shopping a few drinks and evening meal we went back to the hotel. The room still felt really cold. The bed was so comfy.. Breakfast the next morning was very nice, there is a varied selection of cereals, fruit and cooked food, we had a full English which was great.
The staff were always pleasant when we saw them.
We enjoyed our stay in York, the shops, ice trail, pubs and restaurants however, we feel that the due to our room being cold/dated we wouldn't stay here again. The hotel is described as luxury, which it clearly isn't.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank janemelia69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

Clean and cosy all rooms different but that adds to its character. Staff welcoming and eager to please their customers. Particularly enjoyed breakfast such a great çhoice and you can have any combiñation of healthy well cooked food. Great location for sightseeing.

Room Tip: No lift so ask for ground floor if you have difficulty with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

Upon first arrival the reception attendant was extremely welcoming. Advising on parking and route into the city. The lounge/bar area is warm and cosy. With a fire in the seating area. We were given an upgraded room on the third floor. A little bit of climb but carrying two days luggage was easy. The paint work up the stairs looks a little tired and could do with a repaint. But when your hotel is busy when do you get to do it. Difficult to balance the smell of paint with a tired appearance. Arriving at our room we were incredibly pleased with the appearance and the facilities. The bed was extremely comfortable and we had two excellent nights sleep. Coffee machine, Kettle, refreshments, Iron, Ironing board. The view from our window showed the Minster and a pleasant view of local historic housing. However, the railway line was on the other side of the road opposite our room. The trains run down this line pretty infrequently so there was very little disturbance. The bathroom was a shock. Totally not what we expected. It had been beautifully modernised. With soft or bright lighting, an audio jack for music. The shower was invigorating. A stunning room. We have taken some of the ideas back for our own bathroom. Breakfast was excellent. There are numerous choices. I had scrambled egg and smoked salmon. The location is first class. Just a 7/8 minute walk into the old shambles area of York City. This is a hotel I would definitely recommend. Its not a modern corporate hotel but a really cosy friendly place and is easy to relax in.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are a small climb but there are good views to the Minster and the historic housing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Wow great review - thank you
We have big plans for some of our other rooms this quiet season to improve what we have to offer
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Stayed here with a friend over the weekend. The staff are amazing, nothing is too much trouble for them. The breakfasts are cooked to order and again perfect.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and it's position in York is perfect both for the town and railway station, situated in a quiet street with a Sainsbury's close by.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CarolNorthwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Hedley House for two nights. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. I had a massage which was wonderful then an hour in the hot tub. Only complaint was the heat, it was unbearable through the night. Other than that excellent

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MammaG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

Very glad we found this place. Our room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We even had a Nespresso machine. The staff were welcoming and very friendly. We couldn’t fault the breakfast offerings either. Sounds silly but even the toiletries in the room were lovely.
In terms of location I would say it is about a ten minute walk from the railway station and also a ten minute (leisurely) walk to York Minster. In a lovely quiet little street.
Hope we can come back and stay again soon.

Room Tip: The hotel does not have a lift so just keep this in mind when booking. I’m sure they have accessible...
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.4 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,509 reviews
0.3 km away
B+B York
B+B York
#4 of 47 in York
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
684 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#16 of 47 in York
1,563 reviews
0.5 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House

Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: $145 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking , restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £12 per day reservation is essential . Electric car charging station. Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV.Breakfast is £9.95 per person ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hedley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing