We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,677)
Filter reviews
1,677 results
Traveller rating
917
532
158
50
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
917
532
158
50
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub city centre car park railway line museum gardens few minutes walk lovely hotel no lift top floor quiet street excellent location small hotel york minster deluxe room full english free parking breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 1,677 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2017

Arrived at the hotel and greeted in a friendly manner. We were showed to our room, it was basic but it had enough storage space which was great. It felt quite cold and the lady that showed us to the room explained that they don't heat the room before you arrive as people prefer different temperatures, which was fair enough so we highered the radiators ourselves. They didn't heat up very well, the bathroom was freezing cold. We don't spend much time in the room so we just left it at that.
We went into the city which took around 5 mns to get there, quite a nice walk. After doing some sights, shopping a few drinks and evening meal we went back to the hotel. The room still felt really cold. The bed was so comfy.. Breakfast the next morning was very nice, there is a varied selection of cereals, fruit and cooked food, we had a full English which was great.
The staff were always pleasant when we saw them.
We enjoyed our stay in York, the shops, ice trail, pubs and restaurants however, we feel that the due to our room being cold/dated we wouldn't stay here again. The hotel is described as luxury, which it clearly isn't.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank janemelia69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 1, 2017

Clean and cosy all rooms different but that adds to its character. Staff welcoming and eager to please their customers. Particularly enjoyed breakfast such a great çhoice and you can have any combiñation of healthy well cooked food. Great location for sightseeing.

Room Tip: No lift so ask for ground floor if you have difficulty with stairs
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 1, 2017

Upon first arrival the reception attendant was extremely welcoming. Advising on parking and route into the city. The lounge/bar area is warm and cosy. With a fire in the seating area. We were given an upgraded room on the third floor. A little bit of climb but carrying two days luggage was easy. The paint work up the stairs looks a little tired and could do with a repaint. But when your hotel is busy when do you get to do it. Difficult to balance the smell of paint with a tired appearance. Arriving at our room we were incredibly pleased with the appearance and the facilities. The bed was extremely comfortable and we had two excellent nights sleep. Coffee machine, Kettle, refreshments, Iron, Ironing board. The view from our window showed the Minster and a pleasant view of local historic housing. However, the railway line was on the other side of the road opposite our room. The trains run down this line pretty infrequently so there was very little disturbance. The bathroom was a shock. Totally not what we expected. It had been beautifully modernised. With soft or bright lighting, an audio jack for music. The shower was invigorating. A stunning room. We have taken some of the ideas back for our own bathroom. Breakfast was excellent. There are numerous choices. I had scrambled egg and smoked salmon. The location is first class. Just a 7/8 minute walk into the old shambles area of York City. This is a hotel I would definitely recommend. Its not a modern corporate hotel but a really cosy friendly place and is easy to relax in.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are a small climb but there are good views to the Minster and the historic housing around.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2017

Wow great review - thank you
We have big plans for some of our other rooms this quiet season to improve what we have to offer
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 27, 2017

Stayed here with a friend over the weekend. The staff are amazing, nothing is too much trouble for them. The breakfasts are cooked to order and again perfect.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and it's position in York is perfect both for the town and railway station, situated in a quiet street with a Sainsbury's close by.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CarolNorthwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 21, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Hedley House for two nights. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. I had a massage which was wonderful then an hour in the hot tub. Only complaint was the heat, it was unbearable through the night. Other than that excellent

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MammaG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews