We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
A converted Victorian coach house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A converted Victorian coach house
The open plan living room on the first floor. The coach house apartment seen from its secluded courtyard.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
A converted Victorian coach house
The open plan living room on the first floor.
The coach house apartment seen from its secluded courtyard.
Comfortable furnishing and central heating under your control.
TV with Freeview and DVD player
BT Infinity wireless broadband
Dining in style.
The compact kitchen has a welcome pack of useful groceries.
Leafy views from the dining table across gardens.
There are a dishwasher, electric oven, gas hob, fridge and microwave.
The ground floor bedroom overlooks the courtyard and is next to the bathroom.
The double bed in the ground floor bedroom
Bathroom with roomy shower and two heated towel rails
One sofa in the living area converts into a small double bed for a fifth guest in the living area.
Space to relax in a leafy courtyard
The door to the apartment (with Maytime blossoms!)
A quiet and peaceful corner 10 minutes from the heart of the city
The riverside path (New Walk) provides a pleasant 10 minute stroll into the heart of the city.
The coach house adjoins a Victorian terrace house, recently a location for ITV's  'Dark Angel'.
Handy specialist shops nearby
The Phoenix, one of the fine local pubs and restaurants - full details provided in the flat
A perfect base for exploring York...
... or the rest of glorious Yorkshire..
A cosy, private space to come home to...
with games,,,
..and space to put your feet up.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wendyj207
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful home from home”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a wonderful 2 night stay here for my Daughters graduation. It is absolutely superb. Very comfortable, clean and modern. Dawn made us feel welcome and comfortable from the start. There were nice little touches, tea, coffee, milk, bread and butter to help us settle in. Just a short stroll along the riverside is all that is needed to get to the centre of town and all of the shops and restaurants etc. It is very good value compared to other rentals that I looked at too. Thankyou so much to Sue, Roger and Dawn for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness, comfort and location.
Liked least: I liked everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in New Walk Coach House, and will make sure Dawn hears your appreciation too! I'm sure the graduation lived up to expectations, too. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan H
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ideal location and a very airy accommodation”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We traveled as two couples, one from Newcastle and the other from near Grantham, each of us celebrating our 40th wedding Anniversaries very soon. I found New Walk Coach House through Trip Advisor and previous ratings were spot on, thanks to other contributors. The Coach House was very clean and as there was no one in the accommodation before us we were allowed early entry at no additional cost, also as there was no one in after us we were also allowed to leave a little later again without any additional cost. The downstairs bedroom is much smaller than the one upstairs and there is limited space for clothes but there is hanging space in the entrance hall which is not much of an inconvenience. The upstairs bedroom is bigger and very airy. The living space is excellent and plenty of comfortable space for the 4 of us with 2 good sized settees. We were only here for 2 nights so we did not cook in the kitchen on either evening which would not have been too easy as there were only 2 rings on the hob we managed with toast on the first morning and ate out on the second. The location is perfect we could walk into York City Centre in less than 10 mins. directly along the riverside which is only a 30 second walk from the door. Parking was easy with permits provided and plenty of parking spaces in the street, not like previous visits where even with permits we have found it difficult, this was much better. The accommodation was very clean and well decorated and a pleasure to spend time in, we drank Champagne in the small outside courtyard at the wooden table and chairs, very pleasant and the weather on this occasion was also perfect. I would have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation to anyone, first class.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2015
Thanks for posting this review. Pros and cons - it's all true and very helpful to future guests! For anyone interested in preparing their own meals, it might be helpful to know that there is a full size electric oven with grill, a microwave, and a dishwasher, although space limits us to two gas rings. Delighted you had a good time in York, A.H.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nazima a
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Made our overall visit to York most enjoyable”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

loved the place, we highly recommended it to friends and family and if we were to go back to York we will most certainly stay here again.

Sue was pleasant and most helpful, at the same time left us to get on with it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: essential groceries were provided on the first day, nice touch
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2015
Thank you! I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay in New Walk Coach House, and would love to see you again. Kind regards, Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DANIEL G
1 review
“Perfect Place To Stay In York”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Sue and Rodger the owners were perfect hosts. The private coach house was immaculate, safe, spacious, charming and well located to the center of York. The garden patio was perfect for a glass of wine. Rick Steve's recommended restaurants were a 15 minute walk away via the scenic river walk, or short bus trip and other restaurants were just 1 minute away. Food store was a 10 minute walk and a wine and cheese store at the end of the street.

The owners gave you privacy yet were always available if needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our Hosts, the location and the property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2015
I'm not sure we qualify as 'perfect hosts', but we are smiling at the thought! We are delighted that you enjoyed the Coach House, York's places to eat, and the patio - even on the chillier days. Thanks and best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmum_13
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Everything you could want in a holiday rental and a little more”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

New Walk Coach House is tucked away in a residential areas of York but is a short walk along the river to the centre of York. Sue, the owner, has equipped the apartment with many thoughtful touches to make for a lovely experience, whether staying in for the evening or going out. The provision of essential groceries was fantastic, especially as a member of our party was ill and did not arrive until the following day, with all the food etc! There's a small but interesting selection of books, games and DVD's; this coupled with such a cosy, clean, well decorated apartment enticed us to order a takeaway from the local curry restaurant and stay in for the evening. Sue was a welcoming host who provided excellent communication throughout and gave us extra parking permits when our transport changed from one car to two. Would stay again, and probably will!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quality of the apartment and added extras
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2014
I'm pleased the groceries were helpful, and that you didn't have to survive on them for too long! Thank you for going to the trouble of capturing what you enjoyed about New Walk Coach House. It was lovely to read.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila G
Godalming, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 14 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

First class accommodation, very quiet location and convenient to explore York. Parking provided and good bus service into the Town. If the weather is reasonable stroll into Town via the River path. Not a marathon and absolutely delightful. Look no further than The Coach House if you require a "home from home". You will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2014
I'm so pleased the flat felt like a home from home for you! Thank you for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“perfect in every way”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Fantastic place, we were visiting son who is at York uni and it was close enough for him to stay too.Great location 10 minute short walk along the river into york centre and also 10 minute bike ride to the university. We could park easily in the road but didn't use the car as everything was so close.
Apartment was great, everything that was needed was provided including proper coffee, butter bread and milk plus other staples to start you off. Couldn't fault it at all. Sue was very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everthing
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2014
I'm delighted it really was easy for you to get round the city and to York University without needing to use the car. Thanks for posting this review, as it may be helpful to other visiting parents!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$196
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing