We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very cosy, just what we wanted”

Review of Waverley

A cottagey look to a townhouse close the the city centre
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A cottagey look to a townhouse close the the city centre
The living room The living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
A cottagey look to a townhouse close the the city centre
The living room
The living room
The dining area
The newly fitted bathroom
Front bedroom
Front bedroom
Back Bedroom
Attic Bedroom
Attic en suite
Patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Jennifer...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very cosy, just what we wanted”
Reviewed March 2, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed with a small family group over the weekend. The accommodation was exactly what we were after- central location, clean and cosy. The owner couldn't have been friendlier. I would definitely recommend this property.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2015
Sorry I missed you when you left but pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kath1323
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“What a convenient quirky place.”
Reviewed March 1, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Excellent accomodation. Very convenient, close to Minister & walls. Comfortable, homely, nice touches. We were able to take our dog, which was not an option with other homes/hotels.
Had a real good time. Thanks Mary

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Convenience, Clean & Character, Ability to take Dog
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2015
Good to hear you had an enjoyable time and glad you liked the house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander...
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant place to stay”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

A brilliant place with really good facilities in a superb location, it was perfect and exactly what we needed. Great place to stay for our group of friends

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2015
Glad you enjoyed your Viking weekend staying at our house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Characteristic, very home from home, absolute comfort and quirky”
Reviewed February 17, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Cannot believe comments dated 30/1/15. Everything very clean and tidy and very well equipped house. Great location - plenty to do, right on the doorstep. If clinical environment required then take into account the comments made. otherwise enjoy the tranquility of this very well kept property.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2015
Thank you this review. I am pleased you had a nice stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warkworth...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very tired and cluttered..more shabby than chic”
Reviewed January 30, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

First the positives..the owner was very friendly and accomodating.it was very easy to park up in the street and leave the car for the duration of the stay as parking permits were provided..the house is close to city centre too..it was very nice and warm and the log fire was a lovely bonus..the beds were clean and comfy and towels provided..the owner also left a welcome cake for all the guests,
the negatives...the interior was more shabby than chic..basically it needed a jolly good clean and declutter..when we arrived we had to clean all the mugs..which were badly stained with coffee and tea..this was easily achieved in the dishwasher..
the bathrooms were grimy..around the taps and tiles,, easily cleaned by bleach.
the attic bathroom was especially bad..the floor was disgusting, with black grime in the corners.
there was a motley collection of empty jars on shelving in the kitchen and dusty dried flower arrangements in the bedroom..the house would be nightmare for anyone suffering from allergies or asthma.
There were various mock furry rugs in the bedrooms,, which were dirty..and a large rug in the lounge which we rolled up and pushed under the couch, as it was so questionable.
when we pulled out a trio of clear plastic side tables in the lounge, they were so dirty we had to clean them before using them..
on a plus side the house could be amazing if it were updated and properly cleaned and decluttered.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2015
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We were pleased you found the house well located, warm and comfortable. However, we were disappointed to read your criticisms as it is the first time we have had such comments, or any complaints about the standard of cleanliness. We will certainly investigate what you say. Incidentally the "mock furry rugs" are actually 100% wool flokatis from John Lewis.
I'm sorry that you found the house not to your taste. The style is not intended to be minimalist or corporate (there are other places in York for that). It is meant to be cosy and homely, which most of our visitors want and appreciate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay!”
Reviewed January 16, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

5 of us booked this last minute. We loved the look of the house and we were not dissapointed when we arrived. Every room is immaculate and the decor made it feel cosy and homely. Loved every minute, we wish we had booked a longer stay. Will definitely be returning

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2015
You will be very welcome to come again. Hope the weather is better next time. Thanks for the nice review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibyl W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location”
Reviewed December 16, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Location is perfect, walking distance to everywhere interested in York.
Amenities are well arranged and included, nothing is shorted.
Only thing is the staircase is a bit steep, don't bring elderly travelers here.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2015
Pleased you were able to see quite a bit of York while in this country. We do warn about the stairs although we have had an 80+ year old who managed fine!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing