We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly & Helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bootham City Centre Guest House
Ranked #60 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2011

The guest house is situated very close to York City's Football ground, I was warmly welcomed on my arrival and shown to my room on the 2nd floor.
The road itself is very quite and it is about a fifteen minute walk to York centre.
The room itself was very clean and well maintained and was equipped with tea/coffee making facilities & TV which received free-view channels.
Breakfast was included in the price and was well prepared.
Car parking was on-street and you are provided with a permit to allow you to park for free during your stay, Parking in York is can otherwise be very expensive.
Wi-fi internet access is also provide free of charge.
The bottom line if asked would I stay again would be yes

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ringy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Bootham City Centre Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 142 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

I spent four nights in York this past April. I really enjoyed getting to stay in the Bootham
Guest House, which was near enough to the city center that I could walk, and it was also close
enough to walk to the bus station. Breakfast every morning was very good, and
the staff always made sure that I had any special request fulfilled. My room was very
pretty, and spotlessly clean, with its own bath. I would highly recommend this B & B to anyone
planning to visit York. By the way, I loved the city; it is a great place to walk, has a very
good historical museum, and the Minster is quite impressive. I hope that I can return to
York sometime, and I will be sure to stay at the Bootham again.

Room Tip: My room was at the top of the stairs, so it was a bit difficult to manage my luggage. It would have...
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Diana09California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We spent three nights at this guesthouse and we enjoyed our stay,We were made to feel very welcome the staff were very friendly and could not do enough for us, The breakfast was excellent, Would highly recommend, Only a two minute walk to the City Center and close to the Minster.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Was sent confirmation details before i stayed which included late check in which was useful. Stayed for 2 nights, the bedroom had everything that i needed. It was clean and tidy with broadband access. Tv wasn't the best but ok
The staff where friendly and ensured that i had all i needed especially at breakfast.
It is walking distance to town, but would be a bit of a walk to the train station. The street parking was helpful.
Mixture of families, solo's and couples staying there.
The only thing was there was a bit of noise on the street over the course of the night, but nothing major.
I would stay again

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmelshrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We arrived by train and the directions from our booking took us walking through the town - when we arrived we were asked if we had taken the short cut - well, I would have taken it if that information had been on my booking sheet. Turn left along the front of the Royal York Hotel and there's a foot bridge across the river at the far side of the Royal Mail Office. This takes you through a car park and up into Bootham - if you book here ask the Guest House to confirm the directions. Allow 20 minutes for your walk between train and guest house. Generally the room was ok. There's not a lot of room and the shower is fairly small for moving around in. The TV reception wasn't always great but hey, I just wanted the headline news as York itself has so much to offer. The pillows were excellent! I'm kicking myself for not actually taking the pillow out of the case to see what make it was! One thing that we didn't like was the plastic mattress protector - not comfortable through the night - especially when it was hot in June! Breakfast was good. Personally I don't think I'd class this as 4 star but I'm no expert on the rating system criteria. It's clean enough, welcome was excellent, staff very friendly it's 10 minutes from the city centre, good value for money and if you travel by car you do get a pass to park on the street which is always good in York.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FiEverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

The room was not as exspected for 4 star accomidation, breakfast was of a very poor quality, staff were impolite.
The bathroom was small and mildew with a very noisy toilet and the sink separate was in the bedroom.
My friend and I would not go back for these reasons.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sushinesx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Nothing much wrong with The Bootham Guest House (Their sign didn't say City Centre) but as it has a 4 star rating I'm a bit surprised at that, as the bedroom was fairly basic with a small toilet and shower cubicle in a little bathroom with a separate wash basin in the bedroom itself. The flat screen TV didn't work. (It did if you like looking at digital static?) The breakfast was adequate but nothing special. Orange juice out of a cracked jug and cash 'n' carry bacon and tasteless sausages, okay, but 4 star, probably not? Our room was far too hot at night even with a window fully open, and whilst this could be expected on the first evening when the weather was scorching it shouldn't have been the second evening when it had cooled down a lot. They need to leave the front inside door open for a while to blow some of the trapped heat out of the building as the heat hits you the minute you walk into the place. A sink in a bedroom isn't a problem for me but in a 4 star guest house this did look a little bit out of place. I think they give stars for features such as a hairdryer which there was, but I do think they've given this establishment a star to many and 3 stars is nearer the mark.

It's a good 10 - 15 minute walk from the Minster which isn't that much really, but popping back to drop off shopping is half an hour's walk in total which puts a slightly different slant on things. Nothing wrong with this guest house as I've said, but 3 stars would be a more accurate reflection of the standard of the Bootham Guest House in my opinion, having had the opportunity of staying in other 4 star guest houses in York and other places and something to compare it against. You won't be disappointed if you stopped here as its clean, pretty comfortable for 2 or 3 night visit and the breakfast was okay, but you probably won't think it's the best 4 star guest house you've ever visited?

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamesTw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 km away
The Crescent Guest House
0.4 km away
Queen Annes Guest House
0.0 km away
Brentwood Guest House
Brentwood Guest House
#54 of 194 in York
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Holmlea Guest House
Holmlea Guest House
#63 of 194 in York
166 reviews
1.9 km away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#49 of 194 in York
203 reviews
0.4 km away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#38 of 194 in York
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bootham City Centre Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bootham City Centre Guest House

Address: 56 Bootham Crescent, York YO30 7AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $91 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bootham City Centre Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emma, Scott and staff would like to welcome you to our family run bed and breakfast in the heart of historic York. Our beautifully decorated guest rooms are en-suite and equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, there is also a color TV in every room. We offer an exceptionally high standard of comfort and cleanliness throughout hence the English Tourism Council has awarded us the 4 star rating. Non-smoking, 10 minute walk from York Minster, car parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Bootham City Centre Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bootham City Centre Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing