We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Midway House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Midway House
Ranked #73 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Midway House was agreat place to stay in York, the hosts Ian and Annette cannot do enough for you and they are both very friendly and helpfull. The breakfast is great and the place is spotless, parking is very good as well and a nice pub not to far away, see you agian next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dasb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    41
    18
    13
    2
See reviews for
59
138
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
batley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Just returned home from having a lovely stay at the Midway House, Ian and Annette from entering into their home made us feel welcome and relaxed. The Midway House is spotlessly clean, the breakfast was delicious, the room was lovely and warm with a hot shower to relax in.
Great parking, but on the opposite side of the road is a bus stop which takes you right into the middle of york, so the Midway house is ideally situated too. We would not think twice to returning. Anyone who appreciates lovely people, lovely surroundings i would suggest you visist the Midway House.

Thankyou Ian and Annette
lovely meeting you
Nick and Michelle xxxxxx

Room Tip: room 12 was lovely and cosy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

The rooms were spotlessly clean and warm. Lovely hot shower. Delicious breakfast with proper Lincolnshire sausage.
Annette and Ian were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We will definately visit again when up in York......hopefully with some Good news!!!!
Keep up the good work guys x

Room Tip: Our room was at the top of the house and had veiws to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guiness06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Just had the most wonderful stay at this beautiful guest house as part of a 'girly' weekend away for a friend's 40th. Annette and Ian make you feel so incredibly welcome from the word go, and bent over backwards to make our stay a pleasant one. I honestly couldn't fault them on anything! The room was perfect - lovely and cosy, with nice fresh bed linen. The beds were also extremely comfortable. Alway a bonus for a fussy sleeper like me! It was a lovely quiet room too, with no noise from outside or any other guests. The breakfast was wonderful. Beautiful full English, with numerous cereals, juices and fresh fruit to choose from as a starter. It was nice and close to York - only 5 mins by bus or taxi. Alternatively, you can take a nice stroll down by the river into York, which we did on the Sunday morning. This was a beautiful walk, with lots of great photo opportunities enroute! All in all, I can't speak highly enough of Midway House. A real home from home, and an absolute 'gem' - with all the attractions of York close by. We will definitely return again next time we visit York. Thank you so much again for your kind hospitality!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Visited with my elderly Mum for a Christmas shopping trip to York. Ian and Annette both give you an extremely warm and friendly welcome to their beautiful home and it truly does feel like a home from home. Midway House is beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and incrediby comfortable. The rooms are lovely and cosey and the bed linen had that gorgeous freshly laundered smell - perfect! Ian and Annette provide a freshly cooked, pipingly hot delicious breakfast and nothing is to much trouble, they certainly go the extra mile to make sure your stay is a happy one and that you have ebrything you could possibly need. There is a bus stop into York right outside the house and you are in York in 5 minutes. If you are planning a visit to York then Midway House is the perfect place to stayand I will certainly be visiting again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

My friend and I made a late booking over the phone with Ian, which was very quick and simple.
We were on a girlie night out to see Beverley Knight at the Barbican Theatre, it was so easy to park the car at Midway House, stroll into town, have luvely meal and a few glasses of wine.
Ian and Annette are very helpful, friendly people, our room was very clean, breakfast great, what more could we ask for, we hope to return very soon.
Thank You, Karen and Sarah

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

My wife and I spent 2 nights there- October 2011.
The place is very clean,the room was very nice and the hosts are very hospitable,the breakfast was great.
The place is close to 3 supermarkets: the Co-op,Iceland and Aldi -which helps to keep the budget.
It takes about 20 min to get to city centre but you can get a nice view walking along the Ouse river.
Definitely a very good B & B !

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank private11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 km away
The Limes
The Limes
#30 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.1 km away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#13 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.9 km away
Friars Rest Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#9 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
2.2 km away
Holmwood House
Holmwood House
#71 of 192 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
2.2 km away
Holgate Bridge Hotel
Holgate Bridge Hotel
#77 of 192 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midway House

Property: Midway House
Address: 145 Fulford Road, York YO10 4HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Midway House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Late Victorian Villa, standing in it's own grounds with a large car-park for up to 14 cars. Resident owners Annette & Ian have over thirteen year's experience and have won three York Tourism Awards during their period of ownership. We have a great selection of en-suite rooms including Ground Floor, Doubles, Twins, Family, Four Poster and Triples all maintained to the highest standards and cleanliness and care are of continuing importance.We provide a freshly cooked breakfast and have a Visit England breakfast award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Midway House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing