We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
87
42
23
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
42
23
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub rabbit pie lovely friendly pub selection of beers coffee making facilities car park mins walk away beer garden leave the car cooked to perfection quiet location york races comfy bed wetherspoons accommodation ales barbican
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 180 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2017

The hotel is in a good location, opposite the city walls and a 5 minute walk from the town centre. Rooms are situated at the back of the pub, so they were very quiet and parking was directly outside the rooms, which was handy. On arrival the young man in the bar was very polite and helpful and check in was quick. The room itself was very small, dated and in need of refurbishment. The bed was a standard double, which was a little soft and saggy for my liking and because of the room size there was no way you could fit in a king size bed. There were plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits provided in the room, which was welcome, but very little worktop space in which to do anything. Overall an OK experience for the price paid.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D7JH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2017 via mobile

Went in here last Sunday and had a fantastic lunch. I had the steak pie, not only was it gorgeous but the portion was very generous. The two lads front of house were friendly and helpful answering my wifes many questions. The pub is a treat just far enough from the main area of York (about a ten minute walk). Will definitely be going here again the next time we're up here

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank tomc940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2017 via mobile

A great find in York, the people who work here are friendly & approachable.
The food, I had Rabbit Pie @ £9.30 served with a choice of mash or chips with veg was tasty, plenty of rabbit and thoroughly enjoyable.
The pub has two bars, wood panelled, along with an open fire in each.
Ales from local breweries, a lager, Guinness, cider & wine. Various spirits.
They have accommodation, which is popular, book early if required.
If unlucky, there's a Novotel or Travelodge a few minutes walk away.
All in all, a great pub.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Signalman-1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2017

We were visiting the Barbican for a concert and decided to stay over. The Masons is recently refurbished and the room was really nice. High spec furnishings and very comfy bed. It was warm and well stocked with towels and hot drinks etc. Staff very friendly and accomodating.
Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2016 via mobile

Popped in here as it was just across the road from the hotel we were staying in. An old traditional pub with wood panelling a lovely terrace around the back which I should imagine is Lovely to sit in in the summertime. The food is your traditional pub fayre all on the blackboard but there is a lot of choice from chicken dishes,roasts,steaks,fish, salads, to more unusual ones like burritos there is also a separate children's menu. I had steak pie husband had rabbit pie both with chips and vegetables which were red cabbage leeks and Carrots a pleasant change from peas being the only accompaniment. The food was home made and delicious just make sure your hungry as I nearly had to be rolled out I was so full I would go out of my way to visit here again it was so delicious

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 549elaineh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews