We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous guest house”
Review of The Hazelwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hazelwood
Ranked #41 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Lovely friendly b and b, perfectly situated to stroll into York city centre. We were delighted with our room and bathroom, everything lovely and clean with the added bonus of car parking available. We would not hesitate to book and stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2016

What a lovely b and b, friendly staff, a beautiful room with a very comfortable bed and complimentary tea and coffee. The bathroom had complimentary shower gel, shampoo and for once a separate hair conditioner. Good choice at breakfast and cooked well. Situated within a 10 minute walk of the Minster which was ideal as we were attending a wedding there, it is also only a 15 minute walk to The Shambles and many other areas of central York.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank Jbrkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016

The Hazelwood is quite near many historic and interesting sites in York, and in easy walking distance of most, including the MInster and the railway station. Food was tasty, staff was friendly and helpful, and the room was comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Wonderful find! Very well kept with complementary toiletries, thick towels and lovely breakfasts. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Situated in a residential side street with limited parking at the back but literally only a few minutes walk from the town centre. Plenty of pubs and restaurants within walking distance and close to the boarding point for the tour bus and also to York Minster. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: There are three floors and no lift so ask for ground floor if you have limited mobility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

We are frequent visitors to the Hazelwood as we know our stay is always excellent. The breakfast is always superb, the rooms are always clean and the staff are so friendly. Basically it is home from home for us as we always have the same room. And there is room to park the car which is a bonus in york.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

The Hazelwood was a very well kept B+B. The greeting we had was lovely . Everything that we needed to know was given to us . We stayed in the twin room . Beautiful room .
We opted for the cooked breakfast and it was lovely .
We would highly recommend The Hazelwood . The Cathedral was only 5min walk away .

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kimwoodcock63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Very cute, cozy, comfortable, quaint old fashioned guest house style, accommodation.
Very clean and towels, complimentary toiletries etc displayed beautifully.
Spacious room and bathroom with a full sized bath.
Nice touches like Yorkshire, herbal teas, hot chocolate and tea cake in the room.
In a pretty, quiet street though not far from the main attractions.
Beautiful courtyard at the back and lovely main entrance.
Free wifi and parking available if needed.
Hot breakfast with a choice of toast, eggs, bacon, mushrooms, sausage and tomato, juices, tea and coffee. Cereals and stewed fruit all served in a cute breakfast room.
Very pleasant staff.
Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.8 km away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#32 of 194 in York
527 reviews
1.6 km away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#6 of 194 in York
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#14 of 194 in York
370 reviews
0.3 km away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#22 of 194 in York
1,168 reviews
0.8 km away
Feversham Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hazelwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hazelwood

Address: 24-25 Portland Street, York YO31 7EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $141 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hazelwood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the very heart of York the Hazelwood is an elegant Victorian townhouse in a quiet residential area only 400 yards from York Minster.Private car park.Individually styled en-suite bedrooms. Completely non smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Hazelwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hazelwood Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing