We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!”
Review of The Hazelwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hazelwood
Ranked #41 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Only have good things to say about The Hazelwood - within walking distance to the city centre, perfect structure and amazing staff. The room was excellent and very comfortable, everything impeccable. The girls at the reception were brilliant attending to our needs, providing a space for our heavy luggage (our rooms were on the third floor), booking taxis and making sure we had time to have breakfast before we had to leave to catch our train. It was a shame we had to run to get it and not finish our breakfast, because the it was delicious as well! The Hazelwood is an example of why I love staying in b&b's - simple but genuine and perfect hospitality. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you have heavy lugagge, there are rooms on the first floor. Make sure to ask for them because the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Luisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

What a wonderful B & B! Great location and within walking distance to everything! Friendly staff and perfect poached eggs! Room was very spacious and quiet. Hats off to you for such a pleasurable stay!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Debra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

The Hazelwood was perfect for my family’s needs when we stayed there. The property is located within a 5 minute walk of the York Minster and you can get any where in the old part of York in 15 minutes or less. The overall experience was good and the rooms were great with nice bedding, furnishings, and bathrooms with good water pressure. The staff was extremely nice and helpful with getting us checked in and acquainted with the area. Upon our arrival they were extremely apologetic that the lady in charge of breakfast had to be out on compassion leave and due to this there would not be a breakfast served. We had booked with a breakfast included and they offered to refund the breakfast portion of our stay without being asked to all the while being very concerned to make sure that this was not upsetting for us.

The parking lot was a bit tight to get to, but that is in part due to the larger size of our vehicle (Hyundai i40 Estate). With anything smaller it would not have been a problem at all. The neighborhood is off one of the roads that goes towards the city center from the northeast, but it was not noisy even though it is rather easy to get to. The stay there was relaxing and we were very pleased.

I would definitely stay at the Hazelwood again if we were to visit York in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelin_thru12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

The room was huge with a four poster - very nice indeed. The only reason I've not given five stars is that unfortunately the chef had had to take compassionate leave so we had to go out each day for breakfast. The hotel compensated us for that and also provided a complimentary bottle of wine for our inconvenience, but not quite the same as ambling downstairs to a lovely full English. But we would go back as the location was good and the room itself was excellent.

Room Tip: We had chosen a Large Superior Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We stayed for 2 nights in September in a clean comfortable room. We were greeted by friendly staff and found a completely relaxed atmosphere. A fantastic location great for exploring the city only a 10 minute walk from the Minster. Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarawhitaker54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Excellent small hotel. Quiet street but very close to restaurants and city center. Walk everywhere. Good service. Breakfast option available. Room very nice and clean. Good bed.
Would recommend this hotel and we will return if we come back to York.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank fortunaphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We enjoyed two nights at The Hazelwood, with nothing but praise for both the hotel and the staff. Our room was delightful, overlooking the little back garden, and breakfasts were almost sumptuous. The location is an easy walk to town, but on a lovely, quiet street. Others have mentioned Alex, and we agree to all the kudos and then some. Just a little anecdote that illustrates how wonderful they are: Our trip to Britain was for our 25th anniversary, and it so happened the restaurant we wanted to go to in Bath for the actual day took only telephone reservations. Not only did Alex volunteer to call for us, but she continued to do so even after we had checked out of the hotel, letting us two of her successful booking for us via e-mail. That is both amazing and caring service! We highly recommend this comfortable and lovely hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MTMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.8 km away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#32 of 194 in York
527 reviews
1.6 km away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#6 of 194 in York
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#14 of 194 in York
370 reviews
0.3 km away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#22 of 194 in York
1,168 reviews
0.8 km away
Feversham Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hazelwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hazelwood

Address: 24-25 Portland Street, York YO31 7EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $141 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hazelwood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the very heart of York the Hazelwood is an elegant Victorian townhouse in a quiet residential area only 400 yards from York Minster.Private car park.Individually styled en-suite bedrooms. Completely non smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Hazelwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hazelwood Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing