We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveller rating
314
86
25
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
86
25
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet streetyork minsterelectric showerfour poster bedleave the carcooked breakfaston arrivalfull english breakfastperfect locationtwo nightseasy walking distancevisiting yorklovely breakfastbiscuitsblack puddingfew minutes walklovely room
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 441 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2017 via mobile

What a wonderful B & B! Great location and within walking distance to everything! Friendly staff and perfect poached eggs! Room was very spacious and quiet. Hats off to you for such a pleasurable stay!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Debra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2017

The Hazelwood was perfect for my family’s needs when we stayed there. The property is located within a 5 minute walk of the York Minster and you can get any where in the old part of York in 15 minutes or less. The overall experience was good and the rooms were great with nice bedding, furnishings, and bathrooms with good water pressure. The staff was extremely nice and helpful with getting us checked in and acquainted with the area. Upon our arrival they were extremely apologetic that the lady in charge of breakfast had to be out on compassion leave and due to this there would not be a breakfast served. We had booked with a breakfast included and they offered to refund the breakfast portion of our stay without being asked to all the while being very concerned to make sure that this was not upsetting for us.

The parking lot was a bit tight to get to, but that is in part due to the larger size of our vehicle (Hyundai i40 Estate). With anything smaller it would not have been a problem at all. The neighborhood is off one of the roads that goes towards the city center from the northeast, but it was not noisy even though it is rather easy to get to. The stay there was relaxing and we were very pleased.

I would definitely stay at the Hazelwood again if we were to visit York in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelin_thru12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2017

The room was huge with a four poster - very nice indeed. The only reason I've not given five stars is that unfortunately the chef had had to take compassionate leave so we had to go out each day for breakfast. The hotel compensated us for that and also provided a complimentary bottle of wine for our inconvenience, but not quite the same as ambling downstairs to a lovely full English. But we would go back as the location was good and the room itself was excellent.

Room Tip: We had chosen a Large Superior Room.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2017

We stayed for 2 nights in September in a clean comfortable room. We were greeted by friendly staff and found a completely relaxed atmosphere. A fantastic location great for exploring the city only a 10 minute walk from the Minster. Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarawhitaker54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2017 via mobile

Excellent small hotel. Quiet street but very close to restaurants and city center. Walk everywhere. Good service. Breakfast option available. Room very nice and clean. Good bed.
Would recommend this hotel and we will return if we come back to York.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank fortunaphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews