We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommend cant wait to go back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turnberry House

Turnberry House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Turnberry House
Ranked #111 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend cant wait to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Having returned from a weekend in York i felt i must write this review i have never done this before and will probably never do it again but Roger and Lesley the properitors of Turnberry House deserve a review. When we arrived we were welcomed like old friends and felt to be made very very welcome pot of tea and the most gorgeous biscuits were on the table waiting for us and Lesley was on hand to help us through the maps of the local area and also advised us of places to visit and and eat which even though in the Tourist Information brochures it was nice to hear a honest unbiased opinion which was very much appreciated i hate going and seeing the normal mundane that all tourists see. We were shown to our room which blew me away i have never seen such a amazing grand room in a B&B before Room 1 is the ultimate in escapism so romantic and the bedding and linens were of expensive taste and felt amazing there was also a lovely selection of beverages and biscuits in the room along with wooden hangers in the solid pine wardrobe. The breakfast is again amazing out of this world with a great selection of yoghurts, fresh fruit, cereal and fruit juices and thats before you even start to think about the Hot options Roger and Lesley are very accomodating and do everything from Beans on Toast to a full english and believe me we had the full english and didnt eat again till very late afternoon as we were stuffed, Roger and Lesley make you feel like family asking if everything was ok if we required anything else and we were made to feel really special not like we were just another couple boosting their savings account we felt extremly relaxed and at ease and cannot wait to go back for a longer visit next time i would also like to add that roger and lesley were very accomodating even though they were attending there grandsons birthday party on the same day. Roger and Lesley thank you very much for a lovely weekend i will highly recommend you to everyone i know looking for somewhere to stay in York and we shall see you again in the future i wouldnt go anywhere else now. xx

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angelee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
52
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

It's nice when you get lucky looking for accomodation - a warm and friendly welcome from hosts, a comfortable room and an excellent breakfast. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

First, just a word about Bed and Breakfasts in general in York- not all of them are gay/lesbian friendly and may deny your staying there. If you are a same sex couple you should check with any B&B to see what they allow before you book or you might find your plans comprimised. I don't know how the Turnberry House specifically fares on this as I was a married woman traveling with my husband, so I never looked into it. They may welcome same sex couples, they may not.

We had a great stay at the Turnberry House. Our room was a bit small by American standards (we had the blue room) but it is situated in the very back of the house. Our hosts put us there purposely because they knew they would have several young children staying in the house the following night and they didn't want us to be disturbed by the noise. I was very grateful for the forethought, as we slept well. The room was neat and clean with a small bathroom inside. It also had an electronic teapot and some cookies which I took advantage of every day we were there. We were given a key to the front door so that we could come and go as we pleased, and there was a very nice garden out back. Our breakfast in the morning was very good, and our hosts did everything they could to make us welcome and comfortable. On the day we left, we had a 6AM departure time. We didn't expect breakfast at this early hour, but informed our hosts as a courtesy. They left the kitchen open for us and set out yogert, cereal, and fruit, which was very nice and unexpected. It was also very reasonably priced. I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CASchmaltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Have just returned from a weekend away in York and stayed at Turnberry House. We loved York, a really beautiful city but what made our weekend was our stay at this wonderful B&B. Turnberry House is situated about 20 mins walk from the centre. You can take a lovely stroll along the river, or use the regular bus services that run more or less opposite from Turnberry house. We walked in the day and caught the bus to and from in the evening. Roger and Lesley could not have been more welcoming and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spotless, clean, bright and airy and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious which set us up for the day sightseeing. If we ever return to York, we would deffinatley stay at this beautiful B&B again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louloubell78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Being impulsive people, we booked this very last-minute, but Lesley, our hostess, did not seem in the least phased, and could not have been more helpful on the phone; a great first impression.

We were given the last room left in the house; Room 4 on the ground floor. It was tastefully decorated, and very clean with a comfy bed. Lesley said that the room was the noisiest in the house, but we didn't hear a thing. We were able to adjust the heating and open and close the windows, which was a big advantage, as on our first night the weather was quite warm, and on the second it was bitterly cold.

Breakfast in the conservatory was a treat; a good size without being too much, eggs done however you wanted, a really good vegetarian option, and a pleasing absence of grease. We particularly enjoyed the wholemeal toast.

The B&B is conveniently located on the Fulford Road, easily accessible by bus from outside the station when you have luggage, and a pleasant walk along the Ouse when you don't. The walk took us over 20 minutes, but we do tend to amble.

Lesley and Roger were exceptionally friendly throughout our two-night stay and nothing was too much trouble. They must be some of the friendliest people in Yorkshire, and we cannot recommend them too highly.

I would have liked a bath rather than a shower, but maybe if we had booked earlier we might have been able to have one. That is really my only niggle; I would come again for the comfy beds, the delicious breakfast, and above all the warm welcome.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mochashosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Had a 2 night stay at this lovely little B&B and had a wonderful, relaxing break. The room was clean, spacious and well equipped. Excellent breakfast, friendly hosts-what more could you want?!
The walk into York along the river only takes 15/20mins and is lovely! (or there,s a bus that takes you there in a few mins that stops opposite the B&B).
Had a lovely meal in The Plough pub on our first night (turn left & just up the road).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcthull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

This is a great little place: clean, comfortable, with delicious breakfasts! I was visiting the university for a week and this was ideal. It's within walking distance of the Heslington campus of the University of York, and close to several good pubs and restaurants. They have a single room that is very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 km away
The Holly Lodge
The Holly Lodge
#162 of 205 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.1 km away
Moorland House
Moorland House
#172 of 205 in York
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 km away
Midway House
Midway House
#79 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hollies Guest House
Hollies Guest House
#101 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.0 km away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#12 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.8 km away
No 71 Bed & Breakfast
No 71 Bed & Breakfast
#156 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turnberry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turnberry House

Property: Turnberry House
Address: 143 Fulford Road, York YO10 4HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely old Edwardian guesthouse situated a short riverside walk from the beautiful Medieval centre of York. Close to York University. Free parking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing