We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind Hosts and Great Location”
Review of Ashbourne House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ashbourne House
Ranked #16 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Ashbourne House is a wonderful B&B guesthouse located a perfect distance from the York city centre. The hosts are considerate and helpful, and provide a wonderful experience during my stay.

They kindly accommodated my requests for a vegan breakfast, and provided help whenever I had any questions. When it was raining, they provided umbrellas, so the need to buy one yourself while staying in York is unnecessary.

I can gladly reccomend staying at this guesthouse if you are visiting York, as they do their utmost to ensure that their guests are provided with a relaxing and pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeanDew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2017

A B & B which is run with love and attention to detail;a real feeling of home.
Faultless service and excellent food every day.
Tips for other travellers;
Great Italian chef at The Lighthorseman, on the way (Fulford Rd) to town.
Also quiet,easy walks to Rowntree Park and along the river to York city. Bring your bike or hire nearby-York is a cycle-friendly city!
We walked in and booked tickets at the Theatre Royal - they have a superb schedule all year round.
I came to York specifically to visit the outstanding collection of Ceramics in York City Art Gallery. Not disappointed!

Room Tip: our top floor room was well equipped, quiet, and had a view out to the rear garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Stayed 4 nights in York at Ashbourne House in June 2016 in 2nd floor room. The room was comfortable, but the pillows were flat (we mentioned that to Julie who gave us different pillows for the 2nd night on). Paul was very accommodating, and very helpful with advice about transit and restaurants. The breakfasts were generally very good; we had a couple of minor issues on the first and last days (we mentioned the first time, but decided not to belabour the point on the day we checked out). My sense was that this was starting to become a busy time, and the issues we had were more 'glitches' than anything usual. We would certainly consider staying again if we returned to York.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017

This was my first time travelling England from Australia and visiting York. Ashbourne was a great choice, a beautifully presented, clean guest house perfectly located - we took many enjoyable walks into York for our sightseeing, shopping and dining. Julie and Paul were lovely hosts (and serve up a delicious breakfast!) Very informative about York and gave good advice on where to visit. Our room was lovely, large with an ensuite, very comfortable bed, plenty of wardrobe space ( we stayed 5 days so needed it!), a flat screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Free wifi proved very useful for the kids! Great value and already recommended to friends and family.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017

I stayed at Ashbourne House for five nights in December. Paul and Julie were fantastic hosts. Ashbourne House was so warm and welcoming, we felt totally at home there they made us all feel like family. Every thing was perfect and cannot think of anything I would do differently Breakfast was always perfectly cooked and very tasty setting us up for the day. Our rooms were great as was the WiFi which was a real bonus with a 15 year old son.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank csadams2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

We had a fabulous stay in this friendly B&B.
Paul and his family were very helpful, friendly and sociable.
We stayed in room 4 which was huge, with a queen size bed, large flat screen TV and sitting area.
The breakfast was very classy as they use locally sourced ingredients making it perhaps one of the best breakfasts we've had at a B&B in the UK :-)
Great value for money.
We'd definitely stay again!!!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fidbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

A friend and I stayed in a twin room here on a visit to York to meet up with old friends. Ashbourne House met our needs perfectly. We were given a warm welcome on our arrival and shown to our clean and comfortable twin room. The beds were lovely and I am a big fan of the lovely sheets; so much so I think I'm going to invest in some Egyptian cotton bedding myself! We pre ordered our breakfast and it was served to us in the sunny dining room the next morning. It was a well cooked breakfast using quality ingredients. It set us up for an enjoyable 20 minute stroll along the river back to the city centre. I would definitely stay here again, next time with my family.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lauribeth1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.8 km away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#13 of 194 in York
371 reviews
3.4 km away
Feversham Lodge Guest House
2.7 km away
Ascot House
Ascot House
#14 of 194 in York
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Bishops Guest Accomodation
1.9 km away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#6 of 194 in York
1,492 reviews
2 km away
Apple House Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbourne House

Address: 139 Fulford Road, York YO10 4HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $122 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashbourne House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With excellent breakfasts and friendly hosts, the charming, Victorian Ashbourne House is in a pleasant area of York, and a 20- minute riverside stroll from the city centre.The 'Deliciously Yorkshire' breakfasts feature local ingredients, including outdoor-reared pork sausages, local bacon and free-range Yorkshire eggs, and fresh croissants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ashbourne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashbourne House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing