We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (754)
Filter reviews
754 results
Traveller rating
678
62
11
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
678
62
11
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paul julie city centre walk along the river friendly hosts fulford road visiting york bus stop b and b preserves very comfortable stay minute walk bed and breakfast lovely walk on arrival room was spotless guest house three nights
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 754 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2017

A B & B which is run with love and attention to detail;a real feeling of home.
Faultless service and excellent food every day.
Tips for other travellers;
Great Italian chef at The Lighthorseman, on the way (Fulford Rd) to town.
Also quiet,easy walks to Rowntree Park and along the river to York city. Bring your bike or hire nearby-York is a cycle-friendly city!
We walked in and booked tickets at the Theatre Royal - they have a superb schedule all year round.
I came to York specifically to visit the outstanding collection of Ceramics in York City Art Gallery. Not disappointed!

Room Tip: our top floor room was well equipped, quiet, and had a view out to the rear garden
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 7, 2017

Stayed 4 nights in York at Ashbourne House in June 2016 in 2nd floor room. The room was comfortable, but the pillows were flat (we mentioned that to Julie who gave us different pillows for the 2nd night on). Paul was very accommodating, and very helpful with advice about transit and restaurants. The breakfasts were generally very good; we had a couple of minor issues on the first and last days (we mentioned the first time, but decided not to belabour the point on the day we checked out). My sense was that this was starting to become a busy time, and the issues we had were more 'glitches' than anything usual. We would certainly consider staying again if we returned to York.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 26, 2017

This was my first time travelling England from Australia and visiting York. Ashbourne was a great choice, a beautifully presented, clean guest house perfectly located - we took many enjoyable walks into York for our sightseeing, shopping and dining. Julie and Paul were lovely hosts (and serve up a delicious breakfast!) Very informative about York and gave good advice on where to visit. Our room was lovely, large with an ensuite, very comfortable bed, plenty of wardrobe space ( we stayed 5 days so needed it!), a flat screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Free wifi proved very useful for the kids! Great value and already recommended to friends and family.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 26, 2017

I stayed at Ashbourne House for five nights in December. Paul and Julie were fantastic hosts. Ashbourne House was so warm and welcoming, we felt totally at home there they made us all feel like family. Every thing was perfect and cannot think of anything I would do differently Breakfast was always perfectly cooked and very tasty setting us up for the day. Our rooms were great as was the WiFi which was a real bonus with a 15 year old son.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank csadams2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2017

We had a fabulous stay in this friendly B&B.
Paul and his family were very helpful, friendly and sociable.
We stayed in room 4 which was huge, with a queen size bed, large flat screen TV and sitting area.
The breakfast was very classy as they use locally sourced ingredients making it perhaps one of the best breakfasts we've had at a B&B in the UK :-)
Great value for money.
We'd definitely stay again!!!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fidbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews