We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
B+B York(York)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$139
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Inn by Radisson York(York)(Great Value!)
US$167
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel(Fulford)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$267
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$114
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$103
US$100
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,712)
Filter reviews
1,712 results
Traveller rating
888
505
196
87
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
888
505
196
87
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft suiteroll top bathyork suitefour posterpark restaurantantique furniturefree standing bathlovely hoteldouble showercity centreminute walkbreakfast was excellentmain buildingone night stayposter bedfull englishbeautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 1,712 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2017

no actual conplaints clean room, bed was a little broke and slanted one way but slept well, however for average hotel it was overpriced for an average hotel - honestly stay in a premier Inn better value for your money

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dreid659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

We are pleased you didn't have any issues with your stay and we are saddened to read you didn't believe it to be good value for money.

Hopefully you will keep an eye out as we have some amazing deals and at least you will receive great customer service, freshly cooked breakfast and a smile everyday.

Kindest Regards
Lucy Neville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 2, 2017

Stayed for a couple of nights while attending Christmas market. Well situated for a comfortable walk into town. Room was warm whilst it snowed and was cold outside. Bathroom was a bath with no shower but we were informed of this when booking. The bathroom was huge.
Staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

Room Tip: Towel rail could have been warmer
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

What a charming review, we hope you enjoyed York's Christmas Market, I always seem to get distracted with the Mulled Wine stall before venturing any further.

Thank you for mentioning our great location, being only a 10 minute walk away from the city walls. We are pleased you appreciated our cosy, warm bedrooms and soaking in our roll top baths.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team here, we all will look forward to you returning back to us.

Kindest Regards
Lucy Neville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 1, 2017

I have no problem with a small room, but a bed which is far too short to possibly sleep in is just unacceptable. Awful night and the staff really couldn’t care less. By the way, I am 6ft 2in. By no means a freak. A simple addition to the website stating that the single beds are not suitable for persons over 6ft would suffice. Typical English rubbish service

Room Tip: If you are 6ft or above, never book the single rooms.
Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 576darrelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Thank you for your review, we do advertise this room to be small single bedroom, and it is advertised as having a small single bed, due to this you can stay with us for as little as £39, inclusive of breakfast, we feel that maybe on your next stay an Executive double bed maybe more suitable for you sir. Always book direct to receive the best rates from us,

Kindest Regards
Lucy Neville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 1, 2017 via mobile

Arrived to the hotel in the afternoon to a very warm welcome by the staff. Our room was very nice and the perfect place for a 10 minute walk in York city centre. Only downside was a kettle that would not stop boiling, a towel rail that did not heat up and key card that needed to be deactivated daily.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nathan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Thank you for mentioning our teams warm welcome and really pleased that you appreciated your bedroom.

Our location is perfect, we are only a 10 minute walk away, however based on a sleepy grove, you are removed from the city centre noises.

We will replace the kettle which you have mentioned, thank you for making us aware. Yes sadly due to the electric detectors in shops they can easily deactivate, we are sorry for this inconvenience.

We will hopefully see you return back to us very soon.

Kindest Regards
Lucy Neville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 29, 2017 via mobile

About 10 minute walk from the city centre is this hidden 4 star gem down a side street.
As soon as you walk in the door there was a warm welcome and friendly smiling faces.
The room was spacious and although the furniture was from another era it was clean and in keeping either the fresh looking decor. The bed was the softest I had ever slept in and the shower and toilet was stylish and clean. Plenty of plug sockets with iron and board supplied along with kettle and tea/coffee. Very impressed.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2017


Thank you for your recent review of Marmadukes Hotel. We are a super friendly team and if you need anything during your stay we will happily help as much as possible.

We are so pleased that you found our rooms spacious and appreciated our antique furniture. Oh we are all so thrilled with your lovely kind comments and we can't wait for you to return back to us.

Festive Wishes
Lucy & Team M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews