We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just what we'd been looking for.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gillygate Central

Key pad closed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Key pad closed
Wall mounted fire in addition to full central heating. Real wooden floor.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
97 reviews
Key pad closed
Wall mounted fire in addition to full central heating.
Real wooden floor.
Separate, private entrance.
Sleek, modern shower room.
Fully fitted kitchen diner.
No washing up with an integrated dishwasher.
Super-king bed.  TV with DVD.
Can be twin beds on request.
Easy to operate chair-beds allow the apartment to accommodate 4.
Dining table can be extended to accommodate 4.
Eat in or eat out - you will be in the centre of a vibrant city with every option.
A complimentary bottle of prosecco will be waiting in the fridge for you.
The time will fly in this beautiful city and luxurious apartment.
Keypad closed
Opening keypad
Keys revealed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 97 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
onceared
bradford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just what we'd been looking for.”
Reviewed March 18, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My partner,two sons and I,have just returned from a weekend away in York, and had a great time staying in this apartment.Unfortunately, Lynne couldn't be there to meet us, however, she left very clear,written instructions on how to enter the apartment and garage.
I mentioned to Lynne,we were coming to York to celebrate my partners 50th birthday and she very kindly left a small cake and a birthday card, as well as bread,butter,milk,tea,coffee,fruit and a bottle of Prosecco. A nice touch!
We had some concerns about the sofabeds not being suitable for our two sons,who are quite tall, but they were quite sturdy and not a problem.
The apartment is spotless and very modern and in a great location for the many shops,pubs and restaurants,and has a small garage at the rear of the property.Although the garage is quite small, we managed to get our Volvo S40 in.
We had a great time at Gillygate Central, and would definitely stay here again the next time we come to York.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large bed
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2015
Thank you very much for your kind comments. It's great to hear that guests want to come to our beautiful city for a special birthday or occasion. I am glad you enjoyed the apartment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue S
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean modern apartment in perfect location”
Reviewed March 13, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We have just returned home from a 3 night stay in this apartment. It is perfectly located close to the city wall and a few minutes walk from the Minster. It is tastefully decorated with high quality fixtures and fittings. There is plenty of wardrobe and drawer space in the bedroom and a very comfortable super king size bed. There is everything you need in the kitchen, should you wish to self cater, although there are lots of cafes restaurants and pubs nearby, and Lynne had stocked the fridge with milk, bread, butter fresh fruit and Prosecco which was a lovely touch and very much appreciated. One of the nicest places we have stayed in and we would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: There was not much natural light, although this would not stop us from staying there again.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for the great review. We tried very hard with things like 'space' for guests and your appreciation is very welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harriet79...
Beadnell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, modern, great location, perfect for a short stay.”
Reviewed March 4, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I needed to go to York for some CPD work and this flat was perfect for me. Lynne provided me a garage for my car so I could travel out of the city. She left butter, milk, bread, fruit and wine out which was lovely! Towels were provided, and the bed was extremely comfy. It caters for everything. Lynne herself was great, very helpful and friendly. The living room hosts two chairs/sofabeds if you wanted to bring your family. For people exploring the city, you are on a street with shops and to walk into the city takes 2-5 minutes.

Overall a great place and I'll be returning in a couple weekends time.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2015
Thank you very much for your positive comments. We will be delighted to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola W
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great apartment; great location; great customer service from the owner.”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

37 Gillygate is conveniently located for easy access on foot to the many attractions York has to offer. The owner responds promptly to emails, is organised, efficient and, thoughtfully, stocks the fridge with some staples for your arrival. The property is clean, warm, cozy and finished to a high standard. The bed is large and very comfortable - always an important consideration! The kitchen has good, basic equipment and includes a washing machine, dishwasher oven and microwave. There is a great space saving fold out table and four chairs for meals.
The property benefits from the use of a garage, which is important as you want to ditch the car in York - the traffic is congested and the parking not always convenient to where you want to go. However - the garage space is tight and would not be good for a large car/4x4. The owner is very up front about this and had we disregarded her advice and taken our Ford SMax we would have struggled. Alternative parking is available for an additional daily fee so I suggest you talk through your requirements with Lynne, the owner.
The apartment suits a couple though it also has two chairs that pull out into single beds in the living room - we did not use these, so cannot comment about them.
A person with mobility problems may find maneuvering in the bathroom to use the loo a little tricky as there is not a huge amount of space between the loo and the wall; but the walk in shower is practical and, like the rest of the apartment, is finished to a high standard.
There are three or four steps down to the front door of the apartment, which is in the basement of a house, and a couple of steps into the living room once you have entered. Again - worth bearing in mind if you have mobility issues

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was everything we needed and like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found us helpful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tillysnan...
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful basement gem”
Reviewed February 8, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We often travel to York as it's one of our favourite places . We've been many times but this time was special because of this gem of an apartment. Small but perfectly formed, it is a recently renovated (to an exceptionally high standard) basement apartment ideally located in central York. It had everything we needed...and more! The apartment is immaculate and so well-equipped: all kitchen appliances, T.v.s in the lounge and bedroom and we particularly loved the super-king bed with its crisp, white cotton bedding. The fluffy white towels in the shower-room provided a touch of luxury too. The owners also provided us with milk, bread, tea, coffee, biscuits, fruit...and a bottle of wine! The owners live above and couldn't be more helpful...advising us on everything from parking to places to eat. Thank you both! Could go on and on about this place but, in short, it is by far THE best place we've stayed in in York. Fantastic!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2015
What smashing things for an owner to read! We are so glad you enjoyed staying here and hope to welcome you again one day. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat B
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely central location with cosy well appointed flat.,excellent facilities.”
Reviewed December 30, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Really enjoyed our Christmas at this lovely flat so central to themMinster and all amenities. The flat is beautifully furnished and decorated with good heating,excellent modern bathroom and really comfortable beds.
We felt very spoilt having everything so close especially Bistro 8 just down the road. The food there was very very good. Having a garage to put the car away was great. We never needed it in York. Hope to go again and finish the museums.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2014
It was great that you enjoyed the flat and York so much, particularly as it was Christmas. We look forward to actually being able to say "hello" next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C H
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible!”
Reviewed December 23, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Incredible hosts, Lynne went over and above to make sure we had everything we could possibly need from maps and guides through to bread, butter etc. The apartment was spotless and the perfect location for exploring York! We cannot wait to go back and will jump to recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in York!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. Of course that's what I hope to hear! Hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing