We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant apartment”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gillygate Central

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wall mounted fire in addition to full central heating. Real wooden floor.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
100 reviews
Wall mounted fire in addition to full central heating.
Real wooden floor.
Separate, private entrance.
Sleek, modern shower room.
Fully fitted kitchen diner.
No washing up with an integrated dishwasher.
Super-king bed.  TV with DVD.
Can be twin beds on request.
Easy to operate chair-beds allow the apartment to accommodate 4.
Dining table can be extended to accommodate 4.
Eat in or eat out - you will be in the centre of a vibrant city with every option.
A complimentary bottle of prosecco will be waiting in the fridge for you.
The time will fly in this beautiful city and luxurious apartment.
Keypad and handle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 100 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
ludanDuns...
Dunsfold
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant apartment”
Reviewed October 31, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
3
people found this review helpful

This is a real home from home, the hosts Lynne and Mike are lovely people and nothing is to much trouble for them. The apartment is very modern and clean and has everything you could need. I suffer with my back but I had no problems as the bed is so comfortable. The welcome pack was very much appreciated after our long journey, they also provide lots of little touches which you don't normally get. Having garage parking for a medium size car (ours is a Hyundai I10) is a big bonus.
It was great being only a few minutes walk from the centre, with all the great attractions and eateries. This will be our first choice of accommodation whenever we visit York. Thank you Lynne and Mike for making our stay so wonderful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2017
What a terrific review, thank you so much. Everyone likes to be appreciated and you certainly showed yours. We’d love to see you both again. And thanks for leaving the apartment in such immaculate condition.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bakerjk
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
“Loved Gillygate”
Reviewed September 11, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The location was perfect. The hosts, Lynne and Mike, were very warm and helpful. In fact, Lynne made me an appointment at her hairdresser and walked me over to the appointment at the designated time. Such a wonderful personal touch!
I loved the apartment. The bed was comfortable and the water pressure in the shower was wonderful. I really enjoyed my stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2017
Thanks for a great review. It was our pleasure! So pleased you enjoyed your stay in Gillygate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caca53
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location!”
Reviewed August 6, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Gillygate Central for 3 nights at the end of July. It is superbly situated for exploring York, just minutes from York Minster. Lynn, the owner came down to greet us when we arrived. She was lovely and full of info about York and recommendations for places to eat. The flat has everything you need for a holiday let and was really clean. The flat did get quite warm but we just had the front door open from time to time to cool it down. I would not hesitate recommending the flat to friends and family and would definitely return. By far best location we have stayed in York.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Thank you very much for your review. It is quite unusual for North Yorkshire to get too hot!! We would be delighted if you visited again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley O
1 review
“Excellent accommodation in a fantastic location.”
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Fantastic little place to stay in York, so glad we found it on trip advisor. Located within 3 minutes walk of all the top attractions, Minster being one of them.Beautifully decorated with all the mod cons , I travelled with my husband and two daughters of whom were very impressed with my choice. It's a home from home place where you can relax at the end of a busy day sightseeing,oh and the kingsize bed was very comfortable along with the soft flufffy warm towels in the bathroom. The owner was super friendly and it was such a nice touch with the essentials she kindly had waiting for us, loaf, milk, bottle of prosecco, thanks again will definitely be recommending to all our family and friends. Don't stay anywhere else in York this place has all you'll need.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2017
That was no nice to read! Thank you very much indeed. It was a pleasure to know you all had such a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Jul 2017
What an absolutely fabulous review. Thank you so much. We'd love to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jackiesoo...
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“beautiful accommodation clean well equipped and decorated.”
Reviewed May 17, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Very central location close to rail and buses. Very close to many of Yorks attractions and shops.
Lots of great restaurants

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2017
Thank you for your review. Very pleased everything was to your liking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TA8250
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little gem, superb location!”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Gillygate central was great accommodation for our Easter break. Ideally suited for the local attractions, within walking distance. The apartment was beautifully clean and equipped, the owner, Lynne, was really friendly and nearby for help or advice.
Parking was a bonus and thoughtful touches of milk , bread and bubbly too!
Thank you! Would recommend and use again, definitely.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
Thank you so much for the great review! You drove a long way so I am really glad it was worth it. We'd love to welcome you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing